We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in quiet location”
Review of Kingsmills Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kingsmills Hotel
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good hotel in quiet location”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Stayed here in April 2012 and had a great stay.

The hotel is about 15-20 min walk from Inverness city centre and as a result is very quiet but still witihin a good distance of the main centre. The breakfast was really giid, huge selection of things that were all really tasty. We did not eat in the hotel restaurant but the food all looked nice.

I would have given 5 stars but I think the drinks at the hotel are incredibly over-priced. I was charged more than £8 for a glass of wine, far too much as far as I'm concerned.

Overall though, I would recommend this hotel but explore the bars in the surrounding area rather than pay the inflated prices at the hotel bar.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear Guest KevinM242,

Thank you for taking time to write a review of the hotel. The hotel is very accessable and only a 10 to 15 minute walk to the city center. I am delighted you enjoyed the breakfast and the experience and would have graded it 5 star.

We do offer 5 different types of white wine, 5 of red and 2 types of rose wine all available by the glass. We do also offer three different sizes of each from 125ml, 175ml and 250ml. It is worth remembering that our large size is the same quantity as a third of a bottle. Our wines, beers and spirits is about giving the guest different options. We do offer a small glass of wine from £2.95. I am sorry these choices were not made clear to you.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    827
    547
    206
    58
    37
See reviews for
352
726
54
244
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Just stayed one night with gf. Treated ourselves to a double deluxe room. Some main points;

Value - we paid £120 for the night. Considering the big spread at breakfast, the size of the room, the use of the spa/gym facilities (and it was Saturday night stay) I would say this was about the right price.

Location - Inverness is pretty small and easy to get about. Far away enough that it's quiet but no more than 10 minutes walk away from the main town.

Spa - I don't use spas often but we did this time out. Bit strange that you have to walk across the pool area to get to the changing rooms. Thankfully it wasn't busy but if any more than 7 or 8 people were there it could feel quite crowded. Used sauna/steam room/jacuzzi/swimming pool.

Sleep Quality - No disturbance despite a wedding being on that night.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheNewOriginals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear Guest The New Originals,

Thank you for taking time to write a guest review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the stay, the quality and the food and selection. Our rooms are very comfortable and you enjoyed a very peaceful night. We do have a 6 seater kingsclub buggie to drive guests from one hotel to another or to the leisure club.

I look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
157 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

This hotel is located on the outskirts of Inverness but well located for access to city centre. Only stayed for one night but was impressed by the hotel.
The room was located on ground floor with large beds an access to small patio area with a table and chairs. The room was comfortable but had an old style TV with limited channels. Tea and coffee supplied along with other facilities . Bathroom had a tub as well as a seperate shower cubicle, well done on that as usually there is an overbath shower in UK hotels.
Ate a la carte in the conservatory restuarant, food was excellent and the wine prices were reasonable. Staff were attentive and pleasant. There is a seperate restuarant with a fixed price menu which also looks good but was not as popular as the a la carte restuarant on the night we stayed there.
Breakfast was buffet style with a better hot selection than continental. Fresh fruit was available. Often hot buffet food can have a tired appearance but this looked and tasted fresh, with a good choice reflecting scottish breakfast tastes. Staff in breakfast room also pleasant and helpful.
The rack rate advertised in the hotel lobby is expensive and would not reflect the facilities/rooms but if you can get a discount then this is well worth a visit if you are going to Inverness.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlasgowHappyscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Stayed here a few years ago with my family in a family room. The room was well appointed with no disturbance even though a wedding was on. Got a great discounted price which made it great value. We were room only so cant comment on food but the hotel is classy looking and reception is friendly. Large carpark and a premier league football team were also staying there,

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thetartanrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear Guest Eckyboy,

Thank you for the guest review. I am glad you really enjoyed your stay. Our family rooms are fantastic and we do have a lot of repeat business, families and football teams.

I look forward in welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I went with my husband and 5 year old son in 2011 (sorry I'm a bit lazy with reviews). It was the best hotel stay we've had in Scotland. We stayed at the kings club as that's what we booked and our room overlooked the golf course. The staff were very nice, breakfast was rich and tasty and best part is there's a really nice park opposite where my son enjoyed a good hr of active play. I would definitely go back!
Oh forgot to mention the comfy bed, it felt like a big hug

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FootaAbout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear Guest FootaAbout,

Thanks for your guest review. I am delighted that you and your family had a great and very comfortable stay. We do get a lot of good comments about our bedding package however I like your comparison to a "big hug".

The park is still also great for kids with more items added this year.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Nice location, beautiful surroundings, quiet area of the city, pleasant front staff.

And then:
No minibar.
No air-condition. Yes - this is Scotland, but summerlike temperatures in May transferred the room into a sauna.
No smile to be given from the bar staff, almost a rude behavior from one of the barkeepers.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Explorist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear Guest Explorist,

Thank you for your guest review, I am really glad you enjoyed your stay. Our May temperatures were fantastic however realistically warmer than most months. Our Kingsmills rooms do not currently have air conditioning however all 37 rooms in our Kingsclub and Spa are fully airconditioned.

I will certainly fully investigate your comments about the bar server, this is most unlike any one of our associates,we do get so many positive responses about our associates.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

I have stayed at the Kingsmill hotel a few times and have found it a bit hit and miss. On occassions I have a fantastic room with great service and lovely food but on other occassions the food is very average (burnt items and under cooked items on the same plate) and the room poor. Strangely I pay the same room price each time and I suspect the allocated room probably reflects how busy the hotel is. Some of the rooms could definitely do with a lick of paint and feel a little bit tired others are wonderful. One constant is the service which is always exceptional and in line with what you would expect from a 5 star hotel. Despite the "tiredness" of some of the rooms they are always very clean and comfortable. The Kingsmills feels like a hotel half way through a modernisation program. Unfortunately in my experience you are just as likely to be disappointed as you are delighted and at these prices that is probably not acceptable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BusinessTraveller039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
1.3 km away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
4.8 km away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
542 reviews
1.1 km away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
1.2 km away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
1,783 reviews
1.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsmills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsmills Hotel

Property: Kingsmills Hotel
Address: Culcabock Road, Inverness IV2 3LP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Inverness
#6 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#8 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#15 Business Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsmills Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kingsmills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsmills Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing