We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very nice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Keith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Stayed here in between christmas and new year through a group-on deal, the hotel is very nice and the food is first class we stayed in the extra decadent room with hot tub but I would say I don't think the room is worth the full asking price per night but apart from that very nice a short walk to the city center with ample parking and polite staff.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simanw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you taking the time to write with regards to your stay with us over the Christmas period.

It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the amenities and the food which we provide. We are indeed ideally situated in terms of location to the city, and I am glad that you appreciated this during your stay.

Kind Regards
Niki Gillies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    96
    38
    13
    8
See reviews for
54
384
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

This restaurant has everything for a great lunch. The RouxEpress menu is a brilliant taste of everything, the fixed price great quality/value and the a la carte is great for the price - the wine list is also very sound. Add to that a very pleasant dining room and excellent service. If Inverness offers a class above this I would be amazed (and keen to experience it!). A must for all foodies either local or in Inverness on a break.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisterF_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Dear Alister

It is greatly appreciated that you took the time to reflect with other Trip advisor reviewers regarding your recent dining experience with us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the service and quality of food which we offer. I will make sure and pass your kind comments onto all staff as we thrive to ensure we reach our guests expectations, and feedback such as yours is always greatly appreciated amongst the team at Rocpool.

Kind Regards

Niki Gillies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

Fantastic vist from start to finish. Room was beautiful and food was amazing. Staff all really friendly. Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allybally100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write regarding your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and we will certainly be look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Niki Gillies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

This is a wonderful little hotel for a long or short visit to wonder that is 'Scotland'. We were en-route to Inverness from Devon; e-mail efficiency came in very useful as we were at the mercy of public transport and a very helpful lady called 'Victoria' was responding to all communications en-route. We had a very friendly scottish welcome. Cases were taken off us immediately and we were offered hot food instead of sandwiches which they had already kindly prepared for our late arrival. Nothing was too much trouble for our 3-night stay. Staff were attentive and interested without being over-powering. We stayed in a 'hip room' which was adequate for all our needs. One needs not to be shy though as the bathroom only has frosted glass between the rooms. Great double shower though and real bath you can sink into. Lovely after a good walk. The rooms also appeared to be very well sound-proofed. The food in the restaurant is very good. I can definately recommend the chicken caeser salad. The hotel is also positioned nicely away from the town centre, albeit a short walk away. I would definately visit again. Just one very minor criticism to Mr Roux - I think for what the room costs per night, it is a wee bit mean not to provide an I-pod docking station. Apparently these are only available in the more expensive 'decadent' rooms. Never-the-less we loved this place.

Room Tip: It appears their best rooms have jacuzzi's. Might be worth the expense if you fancy a real treat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rach075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review from having recently stayed with us.
It was a pleasure to read that you had enjoyed your time with us and it was most certainly a pleasure to host you.
I will make sure and pass on your kind words to Victoria and all staff, as they take great pride in making sure our guests every need is met.
We will certainly take on board your comments with regards to the I-pod docking station.
I certainly hope that we have the pleasure of meeting again.

Kind Regards

Niki Gillies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

Went to Chez Roux for a family celebration, and whilst there wasn't anything wrong (their cheese souffle stood out as being the star of the show), some members of our party felt that they had better mains before. A waitress sneezed worrying close to my steak as she was carrying it too, but I was too hungry to send it back! The original Rocpool restaurant in town edges Chez Roux out on the food.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peigi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your review from your recent visit with us.

It is with regret to learn that your previous visits have been more enjoyable. With regards to service a complimentary replacement dish most definitely should have been offered immediately.

We take feed back such as this very seriously and your comments have certainly been taken on board and will be used to ensure all future guests receive a flawless service of which we aim for on a daily basis.

I do hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back and if you would like to contact myself for any future reservations I will do my upmost to improve your experience at Rocpool Reserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDINBURGH, SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Stayed at Rocpool midweek in April to celebrate my Mum's 60th birthday, and also my birthday - we had been upgraded to a Chic room, due to problems with the voucher we were using for our stay, and it was more than lovely! Large and spacious, although quite dark, due to it's location on the lower ground floor. Comfortable beds, complimentary mineral water and the fancy coffee maker were all appreciated! The bathroom was fantastic as well, with a huge bath / monsoon shower, and Molten Brown goodies. The hotel decor is very modern and indeed did remind me of Cameron House, where we have stayed before, albeit on a much smaller scale. One issue I did encounter was that the WiFi was really hit or miss, not sure if that was just due to our lower ground floor location, but after speaking to reception a couple of times to solve the problem, only for it to happen again, I gave up!!

We dined in the bar that evening on the 'Roux Express' menu - lovely to have a little taste of lots of different things, although I did find my dessert was a bit cold by the time I had got to it (all 4 courses are served at the same time on a 'tasting platter' style dish) The food was delicious though. And the same can be said for breakfast the next morning, to say we were spolied for choice was an understatement!! Fantastic and attentive service at both dinner & breakfast all added to the experience. All the staff we dealt with were very efficient and friendly in fact, although it was sometimes hard to get hold of someone in the Reception area, as there's not really an official 'desk' as such.

Overall, we felt that we experienced a really indulgent break, and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. It is expensive though (having seen the normal rack rates) so perhaps more somewhere you'd go for a special treat?! We felt that we got amazing value for money however, using our voucher, and would definitely reccomend the hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing and decadent weekend away.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NORTHERN5TAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review from your recent visit with us.

I am glad you were able to enjoy the amenities within our guest rooms and happy to read that you had enjoyed your visit with us.

I have noted your comments with regards to the Wifi and will have this looked into, as we have Wifi installed throughout the hotel this should not have been an issue for you.

Kind Regards

Niki Gillies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Don't be fooled by the marketing spin around this 'hotel'. It's an upmarket B&B trying to play in the same league as Gleneagles and Cameron House - it competes comfortably on price, but sadly nothing else. If, for whatever reason, you end up paying more than £150-£200 per night (even for the 'extra decadent rooms' - we had one) then I suspect you will feel less than value for money. Front of house service was average both on arrival and departure, no air con in rooms (even in April this was an issue - can't imagine what they must be like on a warm night) and a docking station that wouldn't work with an iPhone 4S. Breakfast was good, but again service not up to the standards that their pricing warrants. Didn't try the restaurant so can't comment - went to the Mustard Seed in town - very good indeed. Overall, it's a 6 out of 10. If you want to pitch yourself against the best, then make sure you have the proposition to match.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loisbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocpool-Inverness, General Manager at Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us.

I would like to confirm that we do not compete with larger resort hotels such as Gleneagles and Cameron house, as we are a smaller establishment we pride ourselves on the service which we offer, as we have the ability of providing a more intimidate and attentive environment for our guests and our staff thrive to reach their goals at achieving this.

Myself and the team at Rocpool Reserve would have been delighted to have had the opportunity to further assist you during your stay with us, and I do hope that should we have the honour of welcoming you back you will be able to take advantage of this.

Kind Regards
Niki Gillies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
5.6 km away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 33 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
1.0 km away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#6 of 33 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
3.8 km away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
4.6 km away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#9 of 33 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux

Property: Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux
Address: 14 Culduthel Road, Inverness IV2 4AG, Scotland (Formerly Culduthel Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#3 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Star boutique hotel opened in February 2006. A totally renovated Georgian Townhouse featuring stunning modern original design. The hotel also has a Chez Roux restaurant with a French flair and R-bar for cocktails. All produce used is local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocpool Reserve Hotel & Chez Roux Hotel Inverness
Rocpool Reserve Hotel And Chez Roux
Rocpool Reserve Inverness
Rocpool Reserve Hotel Inverness
Rocpool Reserve Hotel & Chez Roux Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing