We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A long overdue return visit.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bothy in July
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bothy in July
gallery bedroom Kitchen (fully fitted with dishwasher)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Bothy in July
gallery bedroom
Kitchen (fully fitted with dishwasher)
Living area
spiral staircase leading up to gallery bedroom
Cosy wood burning stove
side of Bothy in u-shape
Logs
view of Balblair Farm
Kitchen (fully fitted)
Bothy front door
View of Cottages
Balblair sign at the end of drive
view of Balblair Farm looking towards Moray Firth
Loch Ness and Urquart Castle
Pipers at Fort George
Cawdor Castle and Gardens
Nairn Beach
Dolphins at Chanonry Point, Black Isle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Inverness, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Liddy L
Newport-On-Tay, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A long overdue return visit.”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Ours was a return visit, this time without our family and after a gap of 14 years.
The standard and quality was just as good and Barbara and family were just as welcoming. The weather was at it's best and showed off the area at its finest. Lots to do and see in the area and loads of information provided at the cottage. We had a very relaxing week and will certainly try not to wait another 14 years to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: No change in super quality from previous visit 14 years ago
Liked least: We couldn't stay for longer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frm1
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful”
Reviewed June 11, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

The Bothy was an absolute gem of a fine in beautiful rural scottish countryside. The cottage is absolutely adorable with everything you could need, beautiful walks on your door step and a whole host of activities a short drive away.

Barbara and her parents were extremely welcoming and approachable and we could have asked for a better weekend away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosy atmosphere
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile804...
1 review
“The perfect place”
Reviewed June 1, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

What a wonderful find! The bothy and its surroundings are beautiful. The cottage has everything you need and is wonderfully clean. Barbara the owner is very helpful and friendly, and is at hand if you require anything further. It is ideally situated for many site seeing adventures. Cawder Castle is a must see! We had a most relaxing holiday, and can't wait to be back later in the year. I definitely highly recommend a stay here you won't be in any way disappointed. Thank you so much Barbara!

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJH21
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cottage in a Fantastic Location!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We stayed on the Bothy in February for a long weekend and had a fantastic holiday. Barbara and her family were very welcoming. The bothy is in a perfect location to explore and close to shops if you want to cook for yourself. (Which we did in the well equipped kitchen).
The log burner made it very homely and cosy, we hope to return soon.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin_and...
Newtonmore, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The definition of best!”
Reviewed May 15, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

You sit down and write all the features and equipment you would want to find in your ideal cottage for 2 plus 1 dog: location, peacefulness, accessibility, general location, standard of decor, furnishings and equipment (including log-burning stove with plenty of fuel!), helpfulness of owner, warmth of welcome, value for money etc. etc. etc. Now you rent the Bothy unseen. You go there and laugh so happily because you've just described it!

Thank you Barbara.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Too big a choice to select one.
Liked least: Too short a stay
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melania21...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect Highland Getaway”
Reviewed May 6, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

The Bothy was perfect as a holiday cottage for my boyfriend and I. Barbara and her family were so accommodating and welcoming, we felt very much at home. The Bothy is cosy and warm, a lovely place to return to after a day's adventure. We had everything that we could have possibly needed and with such beautiful weather, we felt very lucky. The kitchen had everything that we needed, even a roasting tin for a Sunday roast and an electric whisk to make biscuits. The stove and spiral staircase are beautiful features and we loved having our own little patio to have breakfast "al fresco". The closeness to Inverness itself is wonderful and the little towns and villages were a delight. We were also thankful that a Tesco was only a short drive away.
All in all, we had an absolutely idyllic holiday and would love to return to the Bothy sometime in the near future. Thanks again for the delicious shortbread! Absolutely recommend the Bothy to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homeliness
Liked least: That we had to leave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V838
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Ideal: very relaxing, cosy, comfortable...”
Reviewed April 10, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We arrived and met very warm, friendly and welcoming people; Barbara showed us where everything was and the bothy was fantastic; everything was there, including all the information that you could possibly need about the area - all neatly compiled in one folder. The stove was great - easy to light - and even though it was a cold week, we were always warm indoors.
The whole area was beautiful. We particularly enjoyed visiting Plodda Falls, Glen Affric and similar remote areas which were within striking distance of the bothy.
Food shopping etc was easy with a good choice of shops and supermarkets nearby. Eating out was really good both in terms of price and quality at the Cawdor Tavern. However, the Bandstand in Nairn did not live up to expectations - overcooked monkfish and veg is always a disappointment...
Overall, we had a fantastic week in a lovely property - so much so that we'd love to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy property, friendly owners and location.
Liked least: No issues with this rental
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing