We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable and clean, with every essential...”
other travellers have booked this property
Byre front view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Byre front view
Byre living/dining/kitchen area View of Balblair Farm and Cottages
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
78 reviews
Byre front view
Byre living/dining/kitchen area
View of Balblair Farm and Cottages
Byre spiral staircase leading up to twin gallery bedroom
View of Balblair Farm and Self Catering Cottages
Balblair Self Catering sign
Rear patio area
Nairn Beach
Dolphin jumping in the Moray Firth
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Inverness, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 78 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Julia K W
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Comfortable and clean, with every essential provided”
Reviewed March 31, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned home after our third visit to The Bothy at Balblair. Each time we have found the same high standards and attention to detail, for example, some cake as a welcome gift and fresh flowers on the table. We particularly like having a dishwasher. The accommodation is well placed for visiting many places of interest, such as Forres, Nairn, Findhorn, the Black Isle, Inverness and further afield to Dornoch, Ullapool etc. Plenty of entertainment for a week or more. It is so nice to come back to the cottage at the end of the day and sit next to the woodburning stove with a glass of wine. Our dog, Brock, enjoyed all of the superb walks in the area and meeting Bob and Trig.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet, comfortable getaway in a great location
Liked least: I would like a larger cafetiere - we drink a lot of coffee ;o)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 8, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location was brilliant.
Liked least: Nothing, it was all brilliant.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Jan 2013
Thank you for your review. The ponies love getting all the attention! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and found the location ideal for your holiday. We look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes, Barbara.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 11, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely cosy property
Liked least: We should have thought about staying somewhere our children could play with other children but that was our problem and wasnt a deal breaker.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Minnie S
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantasic Place”
Reviewed September 8, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Arrived home after fantastic week staying in the Bothy lovely friendly accommodion and relaxing very homely. Ideally set for days out.
We look forward to going back next year

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Dolphins
Liked least: No comment enjoyed everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoetermeer
Reviewed August 9, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gloucester
Reviewed July 2, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Balloch Loch Lomond
Reviewed May 10, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing