We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beyond Perfect Home Away from Home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ivybank

Ivybank
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ivybank
Wood panelled hallway, complete with gargoyles Grand staircase
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Ivybank
Wood panelled hallway, complete with gargoyles
Grand staircase
Fresh flowers
Spacious bedrooms, all en-suite, with hair dryer & towels
Fully equipped kitchen
Drams by the fire
Spacious bedrooms
Fully equipped kitchen
Four poster bedroom, which overlooks the garden
Relaxing lounges
Walled garden, with pond, outside dining
Lounge with baby grand piano
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Inverness, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Alexandra...
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beyond Perfect Home Away from Home”
Reviewed August 8, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I had high expectations from Ivybank after reading the reviews and seeing pictures-- the reality far exceeded them. It is ideally situated a short walk from Inverness and yet you feel like you are in your own private haven, thanks to the beautiful garden and trees surrounding the property. Fiona could not be more lovely and is around if any issues should arise-- we had none. The house is clean, comfortable, full of modern conveniences, and was more than enough space for me, my husband, and our two children. And yet we still felt so cozy here. The beds are very comfortable, the kitchen has everything you could possibly need and the house has so many interesting details that are fun to slowly take in during your stay. We felt like we had a true home while we spent 10 days in Inverness and could not possibly imagine staying anywhere else. Highly recommend staying here if you have the opportunity!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily I
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed July 12, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Our group of 7 loved Ivybank. There's more than enough space for a big group and the property was clean and comfortable. Lots of character in this historic building and its within easy walking distance of downtown Inverness. The owner was great to work with as well.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMCM550
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“Absolutely Perfect!”
Reviewed June 22, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We were 6 friends (3 couples) ticking an item of the bucket list by golfing in Scotland. We stayed at Ivybank for 4 nights and it was perfect! The house had everything we needed right from enough parking spaces to bedrooms with ensuites, living space and kitchen facilities. It's proximity to the city center ensured we walked to all pub outings and yet found it accessible to highways as we ventured off to Royal Dornach and Nairn to golf and Loch Ness and Culloden for sightseeing. On top of all of that the house itself makes you feel like a laird or in our case 6 lairds! The Ivybank is a real treat!

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
numbergir...
Woodbridge, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place and location”
Reviewed April 27, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Recently stayed at Ivy Bank with my husband and niece. Beautiful cottage, spacious and clean. Bed was a bit lumpy but was fine to sleep. Perfect for a family or a few couples looking for a get-a-way. This was my first time renting a house and could not have had a better experience. Location is great and within walking distance to some good restaurants. I highly recommend Ivy Bank!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The house was very comfortable.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2015
Hello Katherine,
Thank you for coming to stay and for taking the time to write a review.
Please could you kindly tell me which room you were sleeping in and we will review the mattress?
Kind regards
Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billfromw...
1 review
“Ivybank Inverness”
Reviewed November 10, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Very specious property with lovely feature bedrooms close to centre of town with lots of nice places to eat and drink the owners were very nice and helpfull

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara D
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Old World Charm”
Reviewed September 3, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Can't begin to describe this lovely home. Extremely comfortable, travelled with spouse and friends. Bedrooms are beautiful with period furniture. Plenty of room to spread out, read, watch TV by the fire, sit in the gardens. Convenient location, can walk to pubs, restaurants, shopping. And the best, Fiona, the daughter of the owner, just lives right behind the house, in case you have any questions. Can't say enough about this home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaibin
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed September 7, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We were glad that we found this place while looking for something that could accomdate the 6 adults and 4 kids that we were traveeling as. Right in the centre of Inverness, driving distance from most place around the area and plenty of parking space. Excellent kitchen, loads of space for the kids to run around, lots of rooms, all ensuite with even shampoo and soap thrown in. All in all excellent facilities.
The only downside that i would probably say is that internet connectivity although there is a bit slow and selective depending on where you are in the property. however minor inconvenience as plenty of televisions (in every room actually). Clean Bedding, kitchen, rooms and a very polite hostess. definitely a good stay and would go back there at the blink of an eye.
All facilities presnt including washer dryer, fridge freezer, cooker, etc.
Brilliant is all i can say. Excellet value for money.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing