We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very hospitable guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dionard Guest House
Ranked #7 of 231 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A very hospitable guest house”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Dionard for two nights on a recent trip to the Scottish highlands and islands. Once on our way out and once on our way back home. We found the welcome to be delightful and friendly and the gusthouse to be very well-run: despite its having very recently acquired by new proprietors and our visit therefore being at a time when some 'glitches' might have been expected.. The rooms are of an excellent standard and very clean as are the en suite bathrooms. The full Scottish takes some beating too! We'll be back when next in Invernes.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    36
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
54
256
24
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

New couple had just taken over - they honoured the arrangements that had previously been made (much appreciated!) Nice updated rooms, beautiful gardens, great location. Would stay again.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank kels09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Borders
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

I have stayed at Dionard for 10 years when travelling Scotland. I am a tourist guide. I was apprehensive about this visit as the previous owners had moved and sold up to new owners. I need not have worried. A lovely warm welcome from Doris and the rooms are as they were, beautifully furnished, comfortable beds, great showers and a fridge with fresh milk and chilled bottled water, as before.Breakfast was delicious and Doris is a cheery 'morning person'which gets your day off to go a great start.
I am glad I can still expect a warm highland welcome and excellent accommodation and food at Dionard. Stay and enjoy, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackfaceewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We spent two nights in Inverness, and we could have not chosen a better place than this. Our room was spacious, traditionally furnished, very comfortable and clean. And breakfast was simply great: plenty to choose, we could even have smoothie and home made yoghurt, among other delicious things. Last but not least, the couple who are running the house are so kind and helpful. In short, we would recommed this b&b for sure.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amorinidorati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We stayed in the quest house for 5 nights. Val Forbes shined with kindness and generosity, anything we needed was not a problem, even going to the local shops for us when we fell ill for medication. We have travelled with my husbands company and stayed in luxurious surrondings, this is one where I have truely felt we have had value for money. When we booked we were given a special rate as we were booking for five nights, so always worth asking for a reduced price, we were even given an extension on the day we left to use the bathroom facilities, once again always worth asking for. We are sad to see the current owners selling the property as a huge amount of care and quality has gone into building up this business, the new owners will be riding the reputation for quite some years. Book to stay at Dionard!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 110Hello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We had a steady drive from Sheffield on the 22 Aug to stay at the Dionard for three enjoyable and comfortable nights. The Guest House was ideally situated only a 6 or so minute walk to the centre of Inverness, which has a good choice of eateries, we liked ''Little Italy'' a family run Italian restaurant.
Our room (6) was very clean and furnished to a high standard with all the facilities that you could need. Doris who had only recently taken over the business with her husband Brian served us a hearty Scottish breakfast each morning, which we thoroughly enjoyed (healthy alternatives if desired) and was very friendly and attentive to our needs.
Would go back again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorksman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

From the website I asked for the availability of the Guest House and had to provide my credit card details in the process. Then I received an email telling me to wait an email confirmation that never came... But I was later charge the 65 pounds by the owner saying that I've never showed up !
Apparently the owners have now changed but it is simply unacceptable.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happyfeetInverness, Owner at Dionard Guest House, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
We took over this guest house on 12th of August so this review is unfair as this grievance is with the previous owner.We emailed the person and told her that we were the new owners and that it had nothing to to with us. As this is the first review we feel this is extremely unfair and we are not in business to rip people off.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.7 km away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
2.2 km away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
2.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Lynver Guest House
Lynver Guest House
#3 of 231 in Inverness
424 reviews
0.7 km away
Inverglen Guest House
Inverglen Guest House
#1 of 231 in Inverness
494 reviews
0.4 km away
The Ness Guest House
The Ness Guest House
#6 of 231 in Inverness
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dionard Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dionard Guest House

Property: Dionard Guest House
Address: 39 Old Edinburgh Road, Inverness IV2 3HJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dionard Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dionard Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing