We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“near to the railway station”
Review of King's Highway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
King's Highway
Ranked #47 of 232 Inverness B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We have stayed in a lot of hotels in the Inverness area as we visit family a lot but this hotel was the worst. The receptionist was not very welcoming when we arrived, customer service was zero. Room was quite dirty looking with stains up the walls. Would not recommend this hotel. The only good part of the stay was going into the bar area as the staff were really helpfull and friendly and breakfast was lovely, it is such a shame the hotel reception staff cant take a few tips from the bar staff on good customer service.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colin0545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (510)
There are newer reviews for King's Highway
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

443 - 449 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2011

Arrived at the King's Highway at 1100 hrs Sat 17/09/11 knowing check-in was at 1400 hrs but wanted to leave luggage. The receptionist obviously wasn't having a good day as we were greeted with a scowl and told check-in wasn't until 2pm. After she secured our luggage we went on our merry way. Arrived back to check-in at 1420 hours and was greeted with another scowl and a lecture how check-in isn't usually until 3pm on a Saturday, and the previous guests who stayed in our room did not check-out until 1100 hrs that morning. After looking at her in amazement that she was still having a bad day she eventually allowed us to check-in. Might add we're not some drunken bums (well not at that stage), professional couple in mid forties.
The room was clean and tidy but had a 'funny' smell. Opened a window and left the room for shopping and cocktails. The location of the hotel is perfect for bars, restaurants and shopping, sitting bang in the middle of the city centre. Managed to get another scowl from mrs receptionist on the way out.
Had a really good day/night in around the city.
Returned back to our room and was greeted by that 'funny' smell again but merrily went off to sleep and slept soundly.
Enjoyed breakfast in the Wetherspoons bar next door. Think it was around £5 for traditional cooked breakfast and coffee and toast. Perfect!
Checked out painlessly without scowl.
This is probably one of the worst hotels/B&B I've stayed in but, we were down for shopping, meal and cocktails and was hardly at the hotel, and as other hotels were charging 3 times the amount we paid, it was actually good value for money and the receptionist did remind us of Fawlty Towers. Would probably book again but only for a night out on the tiles. Not for a romantic get away.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ladybirdsusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

What can I say not the most luxurious of hotel I've stayed in room 306, is in need alot of attention if really does let the whole weather spoons hotels down. It in need of a refurbishment from White marks? All over the sticky bathroom floors, curtains hanging off, frayed tie backs, bits of wood hanging off cupboards in bedroom and toilet, mould round window and bath,damp mouldy looking wood by your bath and marks on  carpet,just an all out grubby room never got to see other room but I do hope they were better!!!! Stopped in better hotels with cheaper rooms avoid!!!!

Room Tip: Unless it's been refurbished don't choose a room
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nattynunu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

This hotel is lovely and central to the town and the railway station, literally a two minute walk to both. The reception is separate to the pub and restarant, and the staff are very good, rooms are basic but lovely and clean, standard size bed, nice quality quilt and pillows. We had a top floor room no 306, at the front, lovely views from the window. The food was great and very quickly brought to the table, albeit we only had the breakfasts.
If you are traveling to Inverness on a short break, say the train from London, I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I would suggest a top floor room at the front
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandyMartin35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We chose this hotel because it is a JD Wetherspoon establishment and we were very pleased with our first Wetherspoon experience. The hotel is well located, our room was large and well-appointed. What made our stay above average was the exceptional staff. From housekeeping to reception, the staff was very pleasant and helpful. I would highly recommend the King's Highway to anyone planning a visit to Inverness.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leisuretraveller34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

This Weatherspoon pub sits near to the centre of town and is only a 5 minute walk from the railway station. Accomodation is what you would expect, not in any way grand but totally functional with a queen size bed (a bonus , but a bit hard) and usual drinks tray. Disappointingly, our room overlooked the bins and yard at the rear. The staff were friendly, helpful and always seemed to be tidying to keep it all looking clean and tidy. Good price meals (including great breakfast), Real ale and large seating area make this an attractive place to stay for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STUGDERBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Initially chosen for town centre location and reasonable advance prices.
Welcomed at reception (peak hours only - otherwise staff in adjacent bar). Staff in Wetherspoons bar were both friendly and informative - e.g. busy team leader took time to tell me about 'Club Nite' value meal offers.
Found to be very clean with good sized room, very large double bed. Bathroom clean. Could do with some handy-man attention with window opening on only one hinge (other hinge broken-off - unsafe for anybody underneath), and bathroom very steamy after shower as ventilator blocked off. Hopefully these will now have been fixed after leaving end-of-stay questionaire.
Free Wi-Fi available, but in bar area only.
Breakfast and evening meals well cooked and nicely presented Wetherspoons product, with some locally based meals too - nice touch! Good value.
Lots of other - but more costly - restaurants and eateries around. Lovely riverside walks along the Ness, and the Loch is very close too.
Bus and Rly Stns 5/10 minutes away depending on whether travelling light, or with suitcases.
Have booked again - without hesitation, for this coming September.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WesternViceroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.1 km away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#21 of 35 in Inverness
1,259 reviews
0.2 km away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#19 of 35 in Inverness
1,854 reviews
0.4 km away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
2.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
0.2 km away
Mercure Inverness Hotel
Mercure Inverness Hotel
#28 of 35 in Inverness
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Highway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Highway

Address: 72-74 Church Street, Inverness IV1 1EN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range: $112 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — King's Highway 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 27 room JD Wetherspoon Hotel based right in the middle of Inverness city centre. Attached is our JD Wetherspoon pub which has been in the last five Good Beer Guides. Cask Marque accredited with excellent value award-winning range of food and drinks served in the bar from 7am daily (alcohol from 11am) with food served until 11pm 7 nights. The hotel had a major refurbishment as at April 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your King's Highway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Highway Hotel Inverness
King's Highway Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing