We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“poor hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of King's Highway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
King's Highway
Ranked #29 of 245 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“poor hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

stayed at this hotel in august was not impressed to find the housekeeper sitting in one of the bedrooms eating a breakfast and the smell was all along the corridor,also we never got our room serviced we came back to find our towels hadn't been replaced,on the day we were leaving we saw the housekeeper and she gave the impression she wasn't coping and had too much to do wouldn't stay here again

Room Tip: don't go to third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mary g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    202
    74
    31
    22
See reviews for
59
215
49
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Clean...Central...Convenient !
Often used by "stag" & "hen" parties but they didn't bother our party.

Room Tip: higher floored rooms = less noise (busy bar downstairs so can be noisy at closing time)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigmac2904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

Stayed for one night in Oct. Room filthy, no towels in bathroom, asked to speak to Manager, this scruffy dark haired woman who earlier we had seen puffing on a cigarette outside the front door approached me at Reception, no name badge on to identify who she was, very obnoxious , you got the impression she did not like english people, the bar was a joke, everyone queuing at one end when the rest of the bar was empty. Will not be coming back here or Inverness for that matter as it is an overpriced grubby little town , god knows who decided to give it city status.

Room Tip: I doubt very much that there is a good room anywhere in this establishment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mick m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hartlepool
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

We have stayed in a lot of hotels in the Inverness area as we visit family a lot but this hotel was the worst. The receptionist was not very welcoming when we arrived, customer service was zero. Room was quite dirty looking with stains up the walls. Would not recommend this hotel. The only good part of the stay was going into the bar area as the staff were really helpfull and friendly and breakfast was lovely, it is such a shame the hotel reception staff cant take a few tips from the bar staff on good customer service.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colin0545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

Arrived at the King's Highway at 1100 hrs Sat 17/09/11 knowing check-in was at 1400 hrs but wanted to leave luggage. The receptionist obviously wasn't having a good day as we were greeted with a scowl and told check-in wasn't until 2pm. After she secured our luggage we went on our merry way. Arrived back to check-in at 1420 hours and was greeted with another scowl and a lecture how check-in isn't usually until 3pm on a Saturday, and the previous guests who stayed in our room did not check-out until 1100 hrs that morning. After looking at her in amazement that she was still having a bad day she eventually allowed us to check-in. Might add we're not some drunken bums (well not at that stage), professional couple in mid forties.
The room was clean and tidy but had a 'funny' smell. Opened a window and left the room for shopping and cocktails. The location of the hotel is perfect for bars, restaurants and shopping, sitting bang in the middle of the city centre. Managed to get another scowl from mrs receptionist on the way out.
Had a really good day/night in around the city.
Returned back to our room and was greeted by that 'funny' smell again but merrily went off to sleep and slept soundly.
Enjoyed breakfast in the Wetherspoons bar next door. Think it was around £5 for traditional cooked breakfast and coffee and toast. Perfect!
Checked out painlessly without scowl.
This is probably one of the worst hotels/B&B I've stayed in but, we were down for shopping, meal and cocktails and was hardly at the hotel, and as other hotels were charging 3 times the amount we paid, it was actually good value for money and the receptionist did remind us of Fawlty Towers. Would probably book again but only for a night out on the tiles. Not for a romantic get away.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladybirdsusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

What can I say not the most luxurious of hotel I've stayed in room 306, is in need alot of attention if really does let the whole weather spoons hotels down. It in need of a refurbishment from White marks? All over the sticky bathroom floors, curtains hanging off, frayed tie backs, bits of wood hanging off cupboards in bedroom and toilet, mould round window and bath,damp mouldy looking wood by your bath and marks on  carpet,just an all out grubby room never got to see other room but I do hope they were better!!!! Stopped in better hotels with cheaper rooms avoid!!!!

Room Tip: Unless it's been refurbished don't choose a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nattynunu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

This hotel is lovely and central to the town and the railway station, literally a two minute walk to both. The reception is separate to the pub and restarant, and the staff are very good, rooms are basic but lovely and clean, standard size bed, nice quality quilt and pillows. We had a top floor room no 306, at the front, lovely views from the window. The food was great and very quickly brought to the table, albeit we only had the breakfasts.
If you are traveling to Inverness on a short break, say the train from London, I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I would suggest a top floor room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MandyMartin35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.1 km away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#24 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.2 km away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#19 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.3 km away
Highland Apartments by Mansley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Highway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Highway

Property: King's Highway
Address: 72-74 Church Street, Inverness IV1 1EN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 245 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — King's Highway 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 27 room JD Wetherspoon Hotel based right in the middle of Inverness city centre. Attached is our JD Wetherspoon pub which has been in the last five Good Beer Guides. Cask Marque accredited with excellent value award-winning range of food and drinks served in the bar from 7am daily (alcohol from 11am) with food served until 11pm 7 nights. The hotel had a major refurbishment as at April 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your King's Highway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Highway Hotel Inverness
King's Highway Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing