We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CENTRAL WITH FOOD AND DRINK ON TAP”
Review of King's Highway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
King's Highway
Ranked #49 of 232 Inverness B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed at this Wetherspoons Lodge for 2 nights while visiting a relative in hospital in Inverness. This hotel is in the centre of Inverness close to shops, river, bus & train station. This was a good choice for us as we had free time in the morning to sightsee around Inverness, then hospital in the afternoon and eat and drink in the evening. Our room at first glance looked good with a kingsize bed with nice crisp white bed linen but on closer inspection the furnishings were a little tatty and the bed was rather hard. We had the normal tea & coffee making facilities, tv and hairdryer in the room and the bathroom although large could have done with refurbishing. I would also lke to mention that I had trouble with the shower and nearly scalded myself but that could have been down to my stupidity. I would recommend only for shorter stays as there are many better hotels in the area for longer stays.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the service entrance and the coolers as this area can be noisy especi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PortsmouthPensioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

443 - 449 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2012

After staying here several times over the last few years, its now in need of decoration. Its a very central location with Wetherspoons pub attached but this might not be ideal if you want a quiet nights sleep.
The interior decoration is very dark colours, practical but needs freshening up. For what we paid (£59 room only) it could not be called value for money with nicer places nearby with breakfast included.
Very disappointing all in all.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soulsister331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, Manager at King's Highway, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2013

Thanks for your comments regarding the decor of the King's Highway. I'm please to say major refurbishment works are about to commence on the 22nd of April. I hope we will see you again once the works are complete.

The King's Highway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed at the King's Highway last October and used it as a base while we did the Loch Ness marathon. The reception stank a bit of damp but we weren't sleeping down there so no problem. Our hotel room was very clean and MASSIVE with tea/coffee making facilities in each - no fridge though. The bathroom was also enormous and had a good sized bath with a shower over the top. For us it was a bargain base for our long weekend - we didn't pay Ritz prices so didn't expect the Ritz. The food and drink in the pub downstairs was excellent, absolutely massive portions - just what was needed before and after the race. If you're after a no-frills, clean, safe and affordable place to stay in Inverness then look no further.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Part of the Wetherspoons pub chain the hotel adjoins the pub of the same name and is ideally located in central Inverness a short walk from the Railway Station and near to the River Ness. The hotel is good value for money, my single room was small but had a decent sized bathroom, good tea and coffee facilities a flat screen TV and the breakfast (additional cost) is from the pub breakfast menu and is excellent.

The hotel is part of a pub chain and the pub is open until midnight at weekends so it can be noisy, also Inverness is popular with Stag and Hen parties and due to its cheap rooms The King's Highway is fairly popular with a youthful clientele. I went to bed late after a night out but was awakened at 3am and 4am by guests returning to the hotel and drunks in the street outside. i was also awakened at first light by screaming sea gulls!

The pub itself is one of the better Wetherspoons with a good selection of Real Ale and the usual Wetherspoons menu.

Pro's: Good Value, location, real ale, clean
Con's: Noisy guests / passers by, pub noise

Overall good value for money but if you stay at the weekend expect some noise / disturbance

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the street at weekends!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clembo1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

stayed at this hotel in august was not impressed to find the housekeeper sitting in one of the bedrooms eating a breakfast and the smell was all along the corridor,also we never got our room serviced we came back to find our towels hadn't been replaced,on the day we were leaving we saw the housekeeper and she gave the impression she wasn't coping and had too much to do wouldn't stay here again

Room Tip: don't go to third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Clean...Central...Convenient !
Often used by "stag" & "hen" parties but they didn't bother our party.

Room Tip: higher floored rooms = less noise (busy bar downstairs so can be noisy at closing time)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigmac2904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Stayed for one night in Oct. Room filthy, no towels in bathroom, asked to speak to Manager, this scruffy dark haired woman who earlier we had seen puffing on a cigarette outside the front door approached me at Reception, no name badge on to identify who she was, very obnoxious , you got the impression she did not like english people, the bar was a joke, everyone queuing at one end when the rest of the bar was empty. Will not be coming back here or Inverness for that matter as it is an overpriced grubby little town , god knows who decided to give it city status.

Room Tip: I doubt very much that there is a good room anywhere in this establishment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mick m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.1 km away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#21 of 36 in Inverness
1,288 reviews
0.2 km away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#19 of 36 in Inverness
1,883 reviews
0.4 km away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
2.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
0.3 km away
Inverness City Suites
Inverness City Suites
#6 of 52 in Inverness
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Highway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Highway

Address: 72-74 Church Street, Inverness IV1 1EN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range: $80 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — King's Highway 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 27 room JD Wetherspoon Hotel based right in the middle of Inverness city centre. Attached is our JD Wetherspoon pub which has been in the last five Good Beer Guides. Cask Marque accredited with excellent value award-winning range of food and drinks served in the bar from 7am daily (alcohol from 11am) with food served until 11pm 7 nights. The hotel had a major refurbishment as at April 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your King's Highway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Highway Hotel Inverness
King's Highway Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing