We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“So Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Stanford House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
kichen Front lounge overlooking the River Ness with open place fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
kichen
Front lounge overlooking the River Ness with open place fire
Front lounge
Front of Stanford House
back sitting room with mulitfuel stove
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Inverness, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
247uktrav...
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So Perfect”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Booked at Stanford House while my family were visiting from the States on Holiday. Was hoping to use it as a base as we showed them the Highlands. It was SO much more than a base! The house was absolutely PERFECT. The location was amazingly close to the river and great local dining options and the house itself was spotless, cozy and roomy enough for all of us. My only regret was that we couldn't stay longer. Sharon was so nice and even let us leave our bags in the front room so we could make easier use of our last day in town. We are definitely hoping to be back when my parents come again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bouquin75
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“An excellent reason to visit Inverness”
Reviewed August 6, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We enjoyed everything about our stay at Stanford House. The house is nicely decorated, well-kept, fully-equipped and strategically located. The owner was very accessible and helpful. We hope very much that we can return to Stanford House in the future.

Travelling group: Avec mes amis
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Vacation in Inverness area”
Reviewed May 11, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We booked Stanford House as a base for travels to Culloden, Forres, Loch Ness, and Isle of Skye. Right from the start our dealings with Sharon were perfect. The house was warm and inviting on our arrival. The amenities suited our every need. It's location suited us perfectly as it was within walking distance to shopping, eating and entertaining establishments. It is also near main roads to all the day trips we had planned. My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to someday return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nmwo
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very nice house and in excellent location”
Reviewed August 28, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

There's not many reviews for this house yet, but don't let that put you off because it is a very nice place to stay and is in a good location in Inverness. The kitchen has pretty much everything you need for self-catering, everything is clean and tidy, there's WiFi to keep the youngsters happy, and the owner (Sharon) is helpful. There is a bit of traffic noise from the road nearby, but it's only a problem if you have the windows open and expect to have peace and quiet (don't know why you'd be thinking about staying in town then though).

For self-catering, Aldi is very close, Tesco Metro (which is quite big) is walkable if you don't have too much to carry.

If you're planning on eating out, Inverness has a very wide choice. The Waterfront pub (see reviews) is only a minute walk away.

The bed arrangement may not suit everyone as it's one single room, one double room and one room with both a double and a single bed.

We really enjoyed our stay here, and give it a big thumbs up.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meg G
1 review
“Perfect stay at Stanford House”
Reviewed July 9, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Booked for four nights and only wish we had been able to stay longer! Beautiful location on the river, and the house was spacious, comfortable and lovely! Sharon was helpful and friendly and gave us some good tips (the Mustard Seed for dinner!). Worked great with travel with our toddler as well. Would definitely stay again and highly recommend!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveling...
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A lovely expereince all the way around.”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Sharon, the owner, was exceptionally kind and generous. We were well taken care of; she even picked us up at the airport, told us about all kinds of nearby attractions, and got us settled in very comfortably. The house is a delight with high ceilings, crown molding, and two fireplaces. The communication was great and very prompt, which is so helpful for booking from the US. The house was clean and beautiful. We slept very happily there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing