We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wow ! What an amazing place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bona Lighthouse

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Lighthouse -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Inverness, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
lisahart7...
Cowdenbeath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow ! What an amazing place to stay”
Reviewed 21 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

What a fantastic place to stay. The Lighthouse was excellent... the views were excellent and the location was excellent. The log burner made it an even more cosy experience and my 6 year old loved the board games. My hubby thought it might be a bit haunted but he is a big girls blouse! Cant wait t come back and stay longer next time, would recommend it to all my friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The master bedroom
Liked least: having to leave!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The uniqueness of a wonderfully renovated property
Liked least: No Wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
droobie
Hawkes Bay, NZ
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic House- Could you heat loch ness then it would be perfect!”
Reviewed 22 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Bona Lighthouse has to be one of the finest holiday homes in scotland. The location at the head of loch ness with views down the loch is amazing and although out of the hustle of inverness not so far that it was difficult to enjoy the city. The kids loved being on the loch side with the pebble beach to explore and lots of outdoor space to play.The house itself has been equipped and furnished to an excellent standard and if we would have be quite happy to stay longterm!
We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
technobab...
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Perfect Wedding Venue”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My new husband and I tied the knot at Bona Lighthouse 25.07.2015. We visited with our son and parents and had a wonderful intimate wedding on the shores of the Loch. This is the most wonderful wedding venue I could ever have chosen!

The accommodation was brilliant, so well decorated and really suited us for the occasion. We stayed in the lighthouse and my husband's parents stayed in the stables. Everyone had a really relaxed time and the layout worked really well for the whole party. Our young son loved exploring the cottages and especially enjoyed spotting wild animals with the binoculars. My husbands parents were able to do their own thing and also get involved with the festivities. My husband and I had the room at the top of the house which had spectacular views of the Loch and was quite self contained with its own shower room. So for a small wedding party, you couldn't really ask for more.

As the stables is so spacious, on the day it was easy to accommodate all the comings and goings. We had a hairdresser; a fabulous local photographer (Justin Scobie), whom I would highly recommend; a registrar and all of our getting ready movements. There was ample space for all of this and everyone was so relaxed on the day.

The Scottish weather was a bit changeable to say the least but a small gazeebo kept us dry during our ceremony and then glorious sunshine came out just in time for us to have a traditional handfasting on the stone plinth at the loch shore. Honestly, I could not imagine a more memorable or magical setting for our special day.

The photos are spectacular (again props to Mr Scobie) we had lovely shots of the ceremony, taking in all the wonderful scenery as well as shots on the pebble beach and in the surrounding foliage.

After we married, the close proximity of Inverness City allowed us to go for a meal in The Mustard Seed, which is a fabulous restaurant, specialising in local produce. The relaxed atmosphere was in keeping with the style of our wedding and the staff and setting was exactly what we wanted.

We ended the day with a few nightcaps and then my new husband and I headed out to our gazeebo and had a few dances on the loch side.

For anyone looking to have a wedding in spectacular scenery but without the pomp and ceremony of a hotel setting, Bona Lighthouse ticks all the boxes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The scenery
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian C
Knebworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Short stay 5 nights.”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

A beautiful location and place to stay. Shame it rained so much!! Really enjoyed the lighthouse and the surroundings. Would definitely stay again here.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimMcBob
Edinburgh
2 reviews
“Unique location, a very special place, very well presented”
Reviewed 25 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Bona Lighthouse is quite unique. A unique location with what must be the best view in Scotland, directly down the length of Loch Ness. Boats pass the house from time to time from the Caledonian Canal into Loch Ness and Urquhart Castle can be seen in the distance. The house sleeps up to six in comfort, all rooms are fitted to a very high standard and with quality products and materials designed to fit sympathetically into such an unusual house. It is warm with central heating and a wood burner and is most comfortable. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Just a superb location, quality fittings and unique holiday property
Liked least: The access gate padlock and security gate were a little difficult to use at times.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting
Liked least: Mauling with the gate
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$168
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing