We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
83
10
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
10
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsporridgescottish terrierben nevisowners stevelovely conservatorystayed herebreakfast was deliciousminute walk into townwonderful guesthousegreat hostsstarting pointlocation was perfectone nightroom was spotlesstriple roompacked lunchperfect stay
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 93 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2017

This is an excellent B&B. The owners are amazing! They are so friendly and incredibly helpful in figuring out what you want to do in the area. We definitely recommend the Jacobite train and walking to the falls!

The breakfast is amazing with more options than most hotels have! They put a lot of effort into making breakfast exactly what you want to start the day.

The B&B is in an amazing location just off the main roads but far enough away to not hear the traffic all night. You can easily walk into town for dinner or just a browse, the train station is an easy walk and driving straight down the road gets you to heaps of forest walks.

The room was incredibly clean and comfortable. Though a little small, we were able to fit all of our luggage in. The beds were amazing and we had possibly the best nights sleep of our entire 3 month trip! The bathroom is also really clean and they provide essentials like shampoo and conditioner. The only thing I could say needs improvement is that there is a lack of space to put things like shampoo or hairbrushes in the shower. The shower also has a very low water pressure unless you like scolding hot showers. They also do not allow laundry to be done here so our pile of dirty washing built up a lot while here. Other than this we had no issues and absolutely loved our stay!

We will definitely return when we come back to the UK!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orrc1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben Nevis Guest H, Owner at Ben Nevis Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2017

Thank you for such a glowing review. We are really pleased that you have had such a comfortable and fulfilling stay. Our beds in all our rooms have recently been up-graded, and we agree that this has contributed to the rooms being much more comfortable. We aim to offer a wide range of breakfasts, and are happy this also ticked a box. We try and source local produce where possible. All the rooms, do vary in size, and with our new furniture, we have been able to utilise the space as best as possible. Every room has at least 6 drawers and a cupboard in. We are also very lucky where we are situated, both in easy access of the town centre, and walking around the Glen and Ben Nevis. We really appreciate the feedback about the storage in the shower. In our close season, we will be looking to upgrade this shower room, and will definitely add an extra holder in. We're really sorry also to hear that you didn't think we did laundry. We only state that washing/drying is not to be done in the rooms. We are more than happy to do washing for our guests on request. We also have a self drying room for any wet walking gear. We hope that you do come back, as would love to see you again. Kind regards. Steve and Cathy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 17, 2017

I was happy with the young couple running this guest house.
They were very helpful with plans, had excellent breakfasts,
and had clean, comfortable rooms.
Best of all, they were at the eastern end of a row of guest houses, making the trip
easier to visit Loch Ness, Beauly, Inverness and the northeast of the Highlands.
They were also close to the loch, where fresh fish come in each night, salt and fresh water, by boat. All in all, a great experience there, for several days.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregory D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben Nevis Guest H, Owner at Ben Nevis Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2017

Thank you for such a lovely review. And especially noticing how "young" we were!! We like to help where possible, to help make your trip that much more enjoyable. We are also really pleased that our newly decorated rooms were comfortable for your stay, and that you also enjoyed our locally sourced where possible breakfast. We are very lucky where we are, just away from town, but in a good location to access most amenities. We hope that we get to see you again soon. Kind regards. Steve and Cathy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 17, 2017

The room was comfortable, love the decor around the guest house of Scottie dogs. The breakfast was delicious and Steve & Cathy were really welcoming.

A great guest house, lovely people in a lovely location, only a short walk into city centre Would most definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Shelleyburt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben Nevis Guest H, Owner at Ben Nevis Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2017

Thank you for such a lovely review. We do have a few Scottie dogs dotted around, but I'm sure you will agree Domino is the star of the show. We are really pleased you found our rooms comfortable, and that our locally sourced where possible breakfast hit the right notes. We hope we can welcome you back soon. Kind regards. Steve and Cathy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 12, 2017 via mobile

We were very warmly welcomed by Steve on our arrival in Fort William. The guesthouse is immaculately clean with a very comfortable bed and good shower. There was room for us to spread out our luggage in our room which was handy as we were re packing after walking the WHW. Steve was very helpful with drying our washing and also with preparing a packed breakfast as we were leaving very early. The guesthouse is right on the WHW, about 15 minutes walk from the station.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank TwoAussieWalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben Nevis Guest H, Owner at Ben Nevis Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2017

Thank you for your lovely review. We are really pleased that you had such a pleasant and comfortable stay. We are very lucky with our location. Nicely situated at the end of the west Highland way, but also in touching distance of Ben Nevis, and the town centre, only 10-15minute walk away. Congratulations on completing your walk, we hope we may get to see you again soon. Kind regards. Steve and Cathy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 6, 2017 via mobile

We have stayed in this wonderful guest house for two nights during our trip to Fort William. Our room was very nice, comfortable and clean. Steve and Cathy were fantastic hosts. A highlight was the breakfast. The day before you can choose from a large selection of different things which will be freshly prepared for breakfast. Delicious, especially the porridge cooked with honey and whisky. For longer trips you can order a packed lunch.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Kleopatra81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy D, Owner at Ben Nevis Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2017

Thank you for your lovely review. We are really pleased you have had a nice stay, and that everything was clean and comfortable for you. The porridge continues to be a favourite, so glad you enjoyed this, as well as our other fresh produce, some of which is sourced from our local butcher. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards. Steve and Cathy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews