We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Scottish welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rhu Mhor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rhu Mhor
Ranked #44 of 120 Fort William B&B and Inns
Falkirk
Level Contributor
125 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great Scottish welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

We were given a very warm welcome by Margaret who showed us our room and told us where everything was.
Room was great as was the bathroom. Loved the humour of the sign at the edge of the shower above a very neatly folded towel. 'Please do not remove the towel as it catches the drips from the shower' Thank you Basil Fawlty! Shower was fine by the way, I think they were just being cautious.
Breakfast is served in a brilliant room with a huge grand piano with a copy of the weather report sitting on it.
Tables all beautifully set and then Ian serves us in his kilt! He gives some good Scottish banter as he is serving which we all enjoyed even if some of the Canadians there looked a bit confused! Breakfast was fantastic.
Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aebruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    23
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
38
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Having just completed the west highland way this was the perfect end.ian and his mother made us very welcome the room was clean and had a lovely view.excellent breakfast .very quiet location but only minuets to town centre

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

stayed 2 nights.
Staying with Rhu Mhor was one of the highlights of our West Highland Way trip. Ian and his mam are welcoming and informative. The B&B is spotless. The breakfast was excellent. The location is ideal, especially if you're on foot. The hosts are extremely walker friendly.
a bonus for me was the fact there was no TV in the rooms - bliss. there is a large tv lounge for those who cant do without the box.
a large en-suite shower room and a bathroom was available just along the corridor.
when i return to fort william i will stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geordieman2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Ian and his mother are excellent hosts, both friendly, helpful and very attentive. I first stayed in 1996 and this was my fourth stay at Rhu Mor. The rooms are clean, well presented, quiet and very good value for money. The breakfast was also of a high standard and made to order.

The B&B is an easy 5-10 minute walk from the main street of Fort William. The most direct route is a little steep, but you can take a longer route if your knees demand it. :)

Ian is a charming and funny Scotsman who goes out of his way to make you feel welcome.

When we stayed, the price was 20 pounds per person per night for shared bathroom or 26 pounds for ensuite room. Compared to other places we have stayed, they really could charge more.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RMMarriner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

A fantastic way to end our walk of the West Highland Way. We arrived soaking wet and Ian, our host along with his mum, insisted that we left all our wet clothes and boots where we stood, which was in one of the lounges, so he could take them to dry. This was immediately followed by tea and biscuits and a friendly, funny and informative welcome chat from Ian. Everything that followed was perfect. Rhu Mhor in every sense has real character. We were even welcome to use the comfortable, warm TV lounge in late afternoon and early evening while waiting for the overnight sleeper to Euston, well after we had checked out - a service way beyond the call of duty. A huge thank-you to Ian and his mum.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RichardMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

Staying with Rhu Mhor was a highlight of our trip to Scotland. Ian and his mom are welcoming, informative , and a lot of fun. The B&B is spotless. The food is excellent. The location is ideal, especially if you're on foot. The hosts are extremely walker friendly, and they even tolerated us tandem cyclists ;-) We stayed at the beginning and end of our trip, heck, I'm ready to go back !
Now if Ian would set up a wireless Internet system his place would be absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pikiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ceske Budejovice, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

This was our best accommodation in Scotland. Best people we ever met there. Everything is perfect - rooms, breakfast, manners...

Room Tip: Everything is so perfect !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomáš P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.3 km away
Bank Street Lodge
Bank Street Lodge
#16 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.5 km away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.2 km away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#15 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
0.2 km away
6 Caberfeidh
6 Caberfeidh
#50 of 120 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
1.3 km away
Buccleuch Guest House
Buccleuch Guest House
#10 of 120 in Fort William
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhu Mhor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhu Mhor

Property: Rhu Mhor
Address: Alma Road, Fort William PH33 6BP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Rhu Mhor Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing