We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The lap of Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2017

Words cannot describe our stay at Inverlochy Castle Hotel. From the moment we arrived until we departed, we were treated like royalty by a staff that knows the art of caring for patrons. We arrived a bit early and were treated to coffee and tea in the Great Room then began our experience by exploring the meticulously maintained grounds with many paths winding through the woods while our room war prepared.

The room was magnificent and spacious with a sitting room, two walk in dressing rooms and huge master suite bedroom. Breakfast served in your room? No problem as it is part of the grand service at the Castle as is any need you may have 24/7.

We dined at Albert and Michel Roux Jr. Restaurant downstairs which was an experience we won't forget. A sampling of varied dishes from their master chefs that was a culinary treat and left us quite satisfied.

As a special treat for our 38th Anniversary we definitely made the right decision staying at Inverlochy Castle Hotel. A once in a life time experience of splendor and service. Special thanks to our staff friends we made, Stacey and Kevin, who made it even more memorable with their great conversation and warm, caring personalities. We felt like we were in a an episode of Downton Abbey. Expensive, yes but worth every penny for a great, lifelong memory.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taken the time to write a review following your stay with us.

We take great pride and strive for excellence at the hotel to ensure our high standards are maintained, I am happy to read that your enjoyed the hotels service and dinning experience. I will ensure to pass your lovely words to the team.

I do hope to welcome you and your family return.

Kind regards,

Jane Watson,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (634)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 634 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2017

What a special place this is; the castle is beautiful and the grounds are just lovely with paths to meander, gardens and fields with cows. It was nice and crisp while we were there and the sunsets were memorable - we even saw rainbows! Our rooms were well equipped and the maids were invisible but we knew they came. The staff is the highlight of this castle; engaging and helpful and when we left, we felt we were leaving friends behind. During dinner, there is live entertainment of either a pianist or harpist who were both so talented and added to our dining experience. There are many places to eat; on the sofas or sitting room with casual food or formal dining - we did both and were equally wonderful. We hope to return!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karolyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taken the time to write such a Wonderful review of your recent stay.

I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you for your kind words about the hotel.

At Inverlochy, we take pride in delivering a memorable stay for our guest and glad this is the case for you.

I do hope to welcome your return to Inverlochy.

Kind regards,

Jane Watson,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Cannot fail to impress from the moment you pass the entrance and drive to the hotel. The stunning interior leaves you looking around in awe! We enjoyed a late light lunch in the drawing room ( probably the best BLT ever!). Beautiful room with the wonderful views of the surrounding countryside. The accommodation is every bit as impressive. Very comfortable bed, chairs that you could actually sit in and watch television and a beautifully appointed bathroom. The breakfast was one of the most delicious with great attention to detail amid luxurious surroundings. The staff are most attentive and service focused. There are not enough superlatives for this wonderful hotel. The only negative was that we only had one night there.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank keyword2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a very generous review regarding your visit at Inverlochy.

It is always appreciated when our guests enjoy Inverlochy as much as you did.

Thank you for visiting Inverlochy and we hope to see you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Jane Watson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Castle to celebrate my birthday and it was an excellent choice

The inside of the castle is elegant and extremely comfortable . A huge entrance hall and lovely sitting room where we had tea and scones - very nice !

We had the tasting dinner and wines and it was wonderful - just right for a birthday dinner - great service and wonderful food

Breakfast was the best we had had in our week in Scotland - so the food is definitely good

Our bedroom and bathroom were light and very private and comfortable

So all in all a wonderful stay

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank GuyWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Thank you so much for your kind review regarding your time spent at Inverlochy Castle.

We take great pleasure in making our guests stay at Inverlochy, special and memorable. We are happy to hear the service and hotel did not disappoint. I will be sure to pass your lovely comment to my team.

Thank you again for your review and for choosing to stay at Inverlochy Castle; we look forward to you returning over and over again.

Kind regards

Jane Watson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

We dined at this restaurant and were pleased with the quality of the dishes and the excellent service from the staff ! The staff were well trained and helpful, the atmosphere was quiet with background piano music while we were served course by course, would definitely return there again!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolynhP7453DD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

We are glad you enjoyed your Visit with us, it is excellent to read your comments about the hotel and I am pleased that all the team looked after you during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back on a return visit.

kind regards,

Jane Watson,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We spent two nights at Inverlochy Castle in a junior suite. Our room and bathroom were huge and overlooked the lovely grounds. The castle feels like a large private home, and the staff were friendly and accommodating. We even left our muddy hiking boots out overnight to be cleaned, and they came back nice and clean the next morning. The public rooms at Inverlochy are beautiful and we enjoyed our pre dinner drinks in the lovely yellow sitting room. The dinner and breakfast were excellent and the food was some of the best we had in Scotland. Inverlochy is a quiet, stunning retreat amid the bustle and traffic of Ft. William. We loved it!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank virginiasal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Thank you so much for staying at Inverlochy Castle and also for taking the time to review your stay with us. Your very kind words regarding the hotel & your experience are very much appreciated and will be passed on to our staff.

I hope to welcome you on your return to Inverlochy.

Kind regards

Jane Watson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

We love this place, it’s grand, it’s beautiful it’s a nice treat.
The King’s suite is superb and the views from all the windows is wonderful
Dinner was great and the staff are very attentive.
I wish we lived closer so we could stay here more often.

Stayed: November 2016
Thank Lionel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit.

I am glad to read that you have enjoyed your visit with us once more, it was lovely to see you both return which I hope welcome you again, in the not so far away.

Kind regards

Jane Watson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort William
17.7 km away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
384 reviews
3.6 km away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
624 reviews
4.2 km away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#11 of 21 in Fort William
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 km away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
182 reviews
2.5 km away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
750 reviews
3.9 km away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inverlochy Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverlochy Castle Hotel

Address: Torlundy, Fort William PH33 6SN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range: $568 - $1,133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Inverlochy Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Inverlochy Castle Hotel and Restaurant, Fort William, Scotland.Inverlochy is Scotland's finest luxury hotel and restaurant uniquely located amongst the glens, lochs and mountains of the West Highlands of Scotland.At Inverlochy you will experience one of the most relaxing and exciting vacations of a lifetime, where every detail for your comfort and enjoyment has been carefully considered.Rooms & ReservationsEach of the 17 bedrooms, all with private bathroom, have their own individual design and character, along with splendid views of the grounds and surrounding mountains. Room facilities include 30 inch Phillips mirror televisions, personal laptop computer with internet access, personal safe, cd player, radio, iron/ironing board. DVD player and video player as well as Playstation II available upon request.Below are small images of our rooms at Inverlochy. By clicking on the images you will be taken to a page with a 360°, interactive image of the entire room. This allows you to capture the unique atmosphere of our very individual rooms and make the choice of which of our luxury rooms you would like to reserve.Dining at InverlochyDinner at Inverlochy is an experience to savour in any of our three dining rooms, each decorated with period and elaborate furniture presented as gifts to Inverlochy Castle from the King of Norway.Dining at InverlochyDinner at Inverlochy is an experience to savour in any of our three dining rooms, each decorated with period and elaborate furniture presented as gifts to Inverlochy Castle from the King of Norway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Inverlochy Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inverlochy Castle Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing