We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,214)
Filter reviews
1,215 results
Traveller rating
276
481
285
111
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
276
481
285
111
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbuffet stylerailway stationcentral locationbit datedhaggishigh streetsuperior roomlovely hotelreception staffreception areacoach tourblack puddingthe jacobite steam traintown centreenjoyable staybreakfast was excellentstayed for one night
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 1,215 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2018

Charming common areas, an excellent restaurant (the Bistro) but somewhat mediocre state of repair in the bathrooms, corridors and stairs. Very friendly and accommodating service. Nevertheless good value and surprisingly quiet at night, given its location.

Room Tip: Lower is better as the Lift (Elevator) was not working
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPEEDBIRD286Heavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandramanager2017, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your recent stay with us.

I was happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and we thank you for your kind words and feedback.

We do hope that you will be able to stay with us again in the not so distant future.



With kind regards

Ilona Malkova
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2018 via mobile

Stayed overnight on our way home, the staff were so welcoming and helpful especially Janine on reception who checked us in
The room was very good with en-suite everything you needed and free wifi
This hotel is very dog friendly and they can go anywhere in the hotel except the restaurant, we ate in the bar and could take the dog in, breakfast was laid in the lounge to enable us to take the dog with us
Food very good and all the staff from front desk to restaurant and bar we're exceptionally professional and friendly
Will definitely use this hotel again

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandramanager2017, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2018

Good Evening

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I was happy to hear that you stay was so good and i will make sure that your kind works will be passed on to our staff.

Look forward to welcoming you back with us again soon.

Kind Regards

Angela Nolan
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2018

The elevator would only work with an attendant and only goes to the 3rd floor, there are rooms on the 4th floor that are walkup. The one elevator meant that we usually walked to and from our second-floor room.
The hotel was clean but very dated, that's ok for a step back in time but still, the room decor could be/should be updated. The tired bedspread and flat hard bed were a disappointment.
The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The dinner banquet served our group in their dining room was one of the best we enjoyed during our two-week trip. Breakfast was a little smaller than some hotels but very adequate.
We were late arriving and early departing so the location was lost on us. For a short stay, I would probably select the Ben Nevis or something a little nicer. If they renovate the rooms and elevator, this would be ideal!

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SalemTravelBureau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandramanager2017, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2018

Good Evening

Thank you for your review, all feedback is welcome be it positive or negative as it gives us room for improvement.

With regards to the decor of the hotel we do have a refurbishment program that is ongoing in our bedrooms, with further works to be carried out in our public areas. The elevator is also in the process of being fixed but will take some time as it has to be made to measure.

Your kind words regarding your dinner have certainly been passed on to our staff for feedback.

Thank you again and look forward to your return visit.

Kind Regards

Angela Nolan
Assistant Manager



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2018 via mobile

After reading some of the reviews of this hotel I was a bit apprehensive about staying here but was pleasantly surprised. I know some of the rooms needed to be updated but the location of this hotel is perfect. There is everything you need in the rooms including a hairdryer which is essential for me. The staff are ALL fantastic and that's a big plus! The train station is across the road via an underpass with both stairs and a ramp and you are right at the town centre where taxis are available. The breakfast is self service with fruit, cereal, continental and hot breakfast. The lift is still working but has to be manned by a member of staff which I thought would be annoying to both my parents and the staff but I can honestly say that my parents never had to wait for the lift and the staff never once complained about having to be in the lift. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank ShirleyValentine29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandramanager2017, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2018

Good Evening

Thank you for your review, all feedback is welcome be it positive or negative as it gives us room for improvement.

Your kind words regarding your stay regarding the staff and the food are appreciated, and will be passed on to my team.

Thank you once again for taking the time review your stay, and can't wait till your return visit.


Kind Regards

Angela Nolan
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 9, 2018 via mobile

After 12 hours on a train, our party of 2 adults and 4 children were delighted that this traditional building is a 2 minute walk away from the station! Lovely staff, comfortable stay. Breakfast was fine again, very friendly staff. Some rooms are better than others I get the impression the rooms are slowly being refurbished.
I'd definitely recommend to anyone wanting to explore the area.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandramanager2017, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2018

Good Evening

Thank you for your review, all feedback is welcome be it positive or negative as it gives us room for improvement.

Thank you for your kind words regarding the staff, please be assured that these will be passed on to my team.

With regards to the decor of the hotel we do have a refurbishment program that is ongoing in our bedrooms, with further works to be carried out in our public areas and stairs.

Thank you again and look forward to your return visit.

Kind Regards

Angela Nolan
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews