We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (277)
Filter reviews
277 results
Traveller rating
43
110
87
27
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
110
87
27
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high street hostel accommodation dorm room single occupancy kitchen facilities central location train station peaks challenge excellent location plenty of hot water town centre would stay here again short stay climbing ben stayed here for nights tv ensuite
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 277 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2017 via mobile

Small practical rooms, good drying room, centrally located, friendly staff. Clean rooms. Washing facility. We only spent one night here but it ok. We were in a room and not the dorm. Good stop for end of WHW.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank MossmanJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2017

Stayed here in early September with 8 others who were climbing the Ben. Very central location.
While aware we had booked hostel accomadation and were expecting cheap, basic and cheerful ink some ways this hostelry was making a mockery of paying customers.
We 4 girls shared a 2 bunk bed room, there was no space at all for anything and barely enough room to manoeuvre around the beds. we all only had basic luggage.
There was no mirror or sink in the room
The curtains were hanging off the runners an were held on by 2 hooks.......not really acceptable.
The door to the room would not lock for anybody other than staff (who apparently had the "knack" the lock was clearly faulted and had been reported to management on several occasions the staff reported.
The female washroom consisted of 1 toilet, 2 washbasins and 2 showers.
The showers were divided front and centrally by 2 shower curtains, when we arrived one of the front curtains were missing which would have meant that if you were taking a shower in that cubicle you would have been on show to all who were using the toilet facilities or washbasins, again not acceptable.
When we returned from the Ben this had been replaced.
The light wet out in our room, no replacement light bulbs so we were given a gloomy table lamp that had to be place at floor level......again not accepatable. We paid £42.00 for the 2 nights which while not expensive should have provided decent quality basics.
The kitchen had one kettle which was totally inadequate for people preparing breakfast drinks and putting up flasks.
The staff were friendly but I would not consider returning here!!

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 72Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 12, 2017 via mobile

Finished west highland highway with a group? The prices for a family room are rather high for a very basic room. Beds are okayish. It looked clean. Interior is more of a below average youth hostel. See picts. I hope the owners use our money wisely to do some improvements left and right.

Date of stay: September 2017
Thank MyNameIsMyFame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2017 via mobile

Initially wary of hostel accommodation, this place went a long way to changing my mind. Extremely helpful and friendly staff, clean rooms and bedding, and spacious dining area, all add up to a really nice place to stay and provide a base for the many superb walks around Ben Nevis and its foothills.
The kitchen is a little on the small side but it's well equipped with everything you'll need.
Rooms are the regular hostel set up with bunks but these are very comfortable and bedding was clean.
Sundry items such as razors and tooth brushes can be purchased for a reasonable price and Towels can be "rented" at a pound a time which is a great facility if, like me, you left yours at home!
All in all this was a great place to stay and I heartily recommend it.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank GarryJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 15, 2017

It's a hostel...we spent the last night of a WHW walk here

We slept ok here. Accommodation was basic but clean and well located.

If you need a bed / don't care about luxury but do care about price then this is a good location

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bluemoon61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews