We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and friendly”
Review of Cuilcheanna House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cuilcheanna House
Ranked #26 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Charming and friendly”
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We stayed at Cuilcheanna House in September 2011.
Charming place on the shores of the Loch. Very clean, tastefully decorated. The table cloths spotless all the time. Great breakfast served in a lovely breakfast room. There is a small cozy living room on the ground floor, if you feel like joining the other guests, or watching TV. The place has a nice homely feeling, and it is run by 2 lovely ladies: Mary and her daughter Kristie. They are helpful and friendly, and Kristie gave us many useful tips on visiting different places in Scotland. There is a nice pub walking distance from the house, and the whole atmosphere of this place is truly Scottish. We had home made shortbread for morning tea and unforgettable bath each evening with the help of the excellent quality bubble bath lotion.
Thank you, Mary and Kristie!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GosiaMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    42
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
32
99
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Not knowing quite where to stop for one night on our way from Glasgow to Skye, my sister and I chose Cuilcheanna House for convenience and availability more than anything. So what a lovely surprise to discover a really lovely B&B that set us up perfectly for our Highland adventure.
The sun was still shining as we drove from the main road (so easy to find) down to the B&B, nesteld on the loch shore. We were shown to our delightful twin room, very tastefully decorated in white and blue with a fabulous view of the loch. A quick cup of coffee (fresh milk provided) and a home-made cookie and we headed straight down to the loch where we were lucky enough to see two otters playing on the shore.
We headed to a pub a short drive away for a very pleasant (nothing flashy) evening meal. This would be the only drawback, nowhere within walking distance to dine, but that's what having a hire car is for I guess.
The bed was a definite highlight (after the scenery of course) - padded matress protector, feather pillow and duvet... a fabulous squishy nest for the night.
Sadly the shower was only a trickle, but I guess slow plumbing in a big old house like this is par for the course.
Last but not least, breakfast. Delicious scrambled eggs and smoked salmon set me up perfectly for the day ahead.
All in all, having had relatively modest expectations of our staging post, we were really delighted by our stay. It would be so easy to shoot through Onich by car and not realise quite what a lovely place is nestled just below the main road.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twoleftfeetontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We stayed at the Cuilcheanna House near the end of our driving tour of Scotland. Unlike many of the B&Bs in the area, it is off the main road, yet well marked, and has ample parking. The setting on Loch Linnhe is spectacular and the rooms are quite comfortable.

Like many of the other highly rated B&Bs on TripAdvisor, the hosts really make the place, In the case of Cuilcheanna House, it's a mother/daughter combo, Mary and Kirstie. Kirstie provided a great restaurant recommendation (Lochleven Seafood Cafe) and some helpful tips about a drive in the area that resulted in us finding a terrific picnic spot.

As for the breakfasts, Kirstie handles the front and Mary, the kitchen. I even got talked into trying haggis and black pudding and found out I may be part Scot. Recommend the Full Scottish Breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smartbrowndog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreveport, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Such a wonderful stay here! Kirstie and Mary are excellent hostesses and made me feel very welcome. The room was perfect and spotless! Absolutely great views in every direction you turn, and several walking trails for other picture spots as well (they let you know about these!) Location is perfect. Since I was traveling without a car, Kirstie went out of her way to take me and my luggage to the bus stop up a mile (something she did not have to do but it was greatly appreciated!!!) Breakfast was amazing with great local flavor and fantastic service!! Anyone who is traveling through here must stop at this B&B!!! I can't wait to go back! Brodie and Charlie were fabulous as well, such friendly pups! Love, Love, Love this place!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ginca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This is a fine house in a beautiful location. Our room had a lovely view over the loch. It is a few miles outside Fort William but our hostess recommended a very good restaurant in town. Excellent.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank POSH94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bath
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2011

we loved this B & B, the owner and her daughter were so welcoming and the room was perfect, absolutely spanking clean, they even gave us their shortbread recipe!! In addition there was an amazing view of Ben Nevis from the lake at the bottam of the garden. Plus the breakfast was to die for..

Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank creambuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

This guest house is in an excellent position over looking the loch. Lovely sitting in the garden with a glass of wine in the evening. We were made very welcome with our pup, nothing was a problem.

Rooms very clean and comfortable, the bedding is gorgeous.

Breakfast set you up for the day.

Room Tip: They do not charge any more for having a loch view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellersHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort William
19.1 km away
The Factor's House
The Factor's House
#18 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
2.7 km away
Creag Mhor Lodge
Creag Mhor Lodge
#5 of 10 in Ballachulish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
12.5 km away
Torlinnhe Guest House
Torlinnhe Guest House
#4 of 111 in Fort William
5.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Corran Bunkhouse
Corran Bunkhouse
#2 of 29 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
11.4 km away
Huntingtower Lodge
Huntingtower Lodge
#3 of 111 in Fort William
5.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
17.6 km away
Treetops
Treetops
#5 of 111 in Fort William
5.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cuilcheanna House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuilcheanna House

Property: Cuilcheanna House
Address: Onich, Fort William PH33 6SD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cuilcheanna House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country guest house conveniently situated off the A82 between Ben Nevis and Glencoe. Overlooking Loch Linnhe towards Kentallen Bay and the Isle of Mull and nestling in the shadows of Bidean nam Biam and Beinn e Bheithir. There is an abundance of local wildlife and you may be lucky enough to spot roe deer, red squirrels, seals and otters, and of course experience the rich variety of bird life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cuilcheanna House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuilcheanna House Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing