We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend”

West Highland Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a museum set in Cameron Square which is just off of the centre of Fort William High Street. We have eight rooms packed with fascinating objects, from treasure from a shipwrecked Spanish Armada galleon to the bagpipes played at Bannockburn in 1314. Whether its archaeology, natural history, Commando training and weaponry, Highland crofting life, costumes and charms, Victorian times, silver, coins and medals, or even the history of mountain rescue, it can all be found at the West Highland Museum.
Reviewed May 17, 2018


It is great to know the history and the life of the people. Very good staff. For me, coming from another country, I had a great acquaintance with Scotland

Thank Ligita N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHMuseum, Manager at West Highland Museum, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2018

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (846)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"bonnie prince charlie"
in 43 reviews
"local history"
in 43 reviews
"free admission"
in 17 reviews
"interesting artifacts"
in 11 reviews
"queen victoria"
in 17 reviews
"run by volunteers"
in 11 reviews
"small donation"
in 8 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 41 reviews
"jacobite history"
in 9 reviews
"on display"
in 22 reviews
"glencoe massacre"
in 8 reviews
"two floors"
in 11 reviews
"packed full"
in 8 reviews
"high street"
in 19 reviews
"rainy day"
in 24 reviews
"local area"
in 12 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 16 reviews
Filter

25 - 29 of 846 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2018 via mobile

A lovely little museum with a wealth of interesting artefacts and displays about the local area and its history. Well worth an hour of your time learning all about the local history. Also has a small gift shop. Very friendly staff who give you a personal welcome.

Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHMuseum, Manager at West Highland Museum, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad you appreciated our great team of volunteers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 3, 2018

A wet afternoon in Fort William, we wandered into the museum and were greeted by a very friendly gentleman who gave us an overview of the museum, it was a quaint place loaded with information, very glad we wandered in, they should be proud of their little museum.

Thank Michelle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHMuseum, Manager at West Highland Museum, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2018

Thank you and yes we are proud of our museum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 2, 2018

This tiny museum punches above its weight. A really good range of material on display including social history material. Staff were also super friendly. This is a great little museum that was definitely worth a small donation to help keep it's doors open.

Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHMuseum, Manager at West Highland Museum, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2018

Thank you for your great review and especially for mentioning donations.I am glad you appreciated our fantastic team of volunteers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2018

The museum is locatad in a shopping area near the old fort William. The admission is free, but most of the operation costs come from donations, so donate some pounds. The story tells you all about the Highlands from pre-historic orgin, wildlife, clans and so on. As the origin of the Commando's. All in eight rooms and with tour guides in several languages. When reading all text, you could be here for 1 a 2 hours.

Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHMuseum, Manager at West Highland Museum, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2018

Thank you for your lovely review and for encouraging people to donate!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed West Highland Museum also viewed

 
Banavie, Fort William
Fort William, Lochaber
 

Been to West Highland Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing