We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a stunning Christmas”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Chalet Rus Blaich

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Fully equipped kitchen
Luxury Bathroom
Spacious living and dining area
For those cozy romantic winter champagne evenings. Logs come free, but not the champagne!!
Spacious master bedroom with super king double bed
Enter a caption for your photo
Hideaway bunk bed
Cosy second double bedroom
View of Loch Eil from Chalet Rus
Peaceful location Chalet Rus 10 Blaich Fort William
Frosty pays a visit! 08/02/15
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Fort William, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
helen b
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a stunning Christmas”
Reviewed January 1, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

The lodge is just lovely and so solid - we had storm Eve and storm Frank whilst staying and the lodge stayed warm. It felt like an adventure rather than just a holiday let - the scenery can change by the hour and never gets tiring to look at. Amenities at Chalet Rus are of a high quality and the fact that bed linen and towels are all provided makes for extra space in the car - in our case for Xmas lights and presents! Lovely Christmas dinner after working up appetite by climbing a small mountain - just a very chilled out and great way to spend Christmas. Throughout our stay Colin and Geraldine were only ever a call away and the chalet had been decorated with a tree and wreath. Logs for the fire were abundant and directions / contact with Karl was easy and accurate - directions were so helpful!
Recommend, recommend, recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The scenery changes by the hour
Liked least: The loch road can get a little hairy at times - sheep, cattle, flood and local drivers who clearly know the road
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2016
Thank you for your kind words, so pleased you had a lovely Christmas in Chalet Rus, personally I feel it is the most ideal type of building to be spending a cosy Christmas with family and friends.
Hope you have a fantastic 2016, you are always welcome to return anytime.
Kindest regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey T
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Surrounded in beautiful Countryside, a real treat & escape. Chalet Rus gets 5*”
Reviewed November 18, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We decided to drive the scenic route from Edinburgh through stunning glen coe to Blaich. Only 20 mins from the local town of Corpach where you can pick up plenty of essentials at the Co-op for your stay (Or Fort William where there is a Morrisons). Surrounded by breath taking scenery, sheep &Loch Eil at the bottom of the driveway. The pics on trip advisor don't really do this place justice so I will upload some for you to view.

We were pleasantly greeted by Colin who tends to the chalet who showed us the basics & left us to it. The log burner was on for us arriving :)
Master bedroom (super king) is huge (you could have a party in it with 20+ people) & also has the bunk. Access via the ramsay ladder. Plenty of wardrobe space for storing bags & clothes. The double room is cosy. I would suggest taking a blanket to throw on top of the bed as there are only electric heaters. Purely a personal preference.
Kitchen is fully equipped with induction hob & oven. Kettle, toaster, fridge, microwave & washing machine. There are even champagne flutes!
The living area has a sony ipod dock, TV & dvd player. Oh and Wifi. There is a solid dining table to seat 6. The big bonus for us was the log burner. We definitely want one now!
There is a decking area surrounding the chalet where you could happily sit out on a nice dry day. Unfortunately for us it was wet & windy!
You have free reign to walk around the surrounding fields & hills outside the back of chalet rus, just use common sense & close gates. There are sheep that wander around the land.

There are plenty of places to visit locally, plan ahead to make the most of your visit if you want to go exploring. The famous viaduct that features in Harry Potter (glenfinnan viaduct) is only 7Km away. You could even take a trip up to Skye for the day.

A massive thanks to Karl (the owner) for helping us out with the fire & showing us how to do it properly. You are very kind & it was a pleasure meeting you. We will most certainly be booking up again in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace & quiet. Surroundings are just stunning.
Liked least: Taking forever to work out the induction hob! (only got it working by luck)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2015
Thank you so much for such a lovely and extensive review! We do strive to make our guests feel welcome. You obviously didn't have a good look in the wardrobes we supply top quality Scottish blankets for those who feel a bit of a chill on those extra chilly nights, but that was probably down to me for not mentioning it in the first place.
Again thank you, it was lovely meeting you and you are most certainly welcome back any time. We look forward to seeing you.
Kindest regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainTw...
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed October 13, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We loved our stay here at the chalet in Blaich. Karl and Colin were warm and very accommodating. The chalet itself was beautiful, cozy, spacious, warm, well build and had everything one needed. Bed fantastically comfortable and big. Internet fast and reliable. Will be back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2015
Thank you for your very kind comments, and you are obviously welcome back any time. Looking forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future. Kindest regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wookey57
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“what else do you want?”
Reviewed September 22, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

An excellent chalet, so clean, full equipement! The beds are so good. We slept like baby's. Beautifull view. When you want a quite place this is the place to be!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beds and kitchen
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2015
So pleased you were very happy and comfortable in Chalet Rus. Obviously you are welcome back any time. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackthemu...
England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed September 8, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Chalet Rus is perfect. We hoped for peace and quiet and to completly relax and it was the perfect place to do that. Karl was so welcoming and the log cabin was beautiful home from home with everything we needed and more. The boys walked down to the Loch and watched the Jacobite going from Fort William. Loved every minute of staying here and we will be going back. Would reccommend

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the beautiful cabin
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2015
Thank you so much, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay in Chalet Rus. you are always welcome.
Kindest regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gingertig...
Cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stunning Views - Cosy Home”
Reviewed July 9, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

If you want a property out of the way, with fantastic scenery, cosy log fires - you've come to the right place. We booked this great lodge with the plan to get up Ben Nevis. Karl the owner was very helpful, guided us in by mobile and welcomed us to the property that he'd built with his dad. The property had everything you needed, spacious main bedroom and a cool secret den bed that our 8 year old loved! Fantastic log burner. We saw deer and a hedgehog out back and thoroughly enjoyed the relaxing and quiet location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views / location / fire
Liked least: If I was to be picky - kitchen could have been a little cleaner
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2016
Thank you for your kind words, you have pretty much got it in a nut shell that one can get away from it all and simply embrace the surroundings be at one with nature but at the same time not forgetting that just a few miles away there are all sorts of activities for the family.
Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhiane E
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Simply beautiful”
Reviewed May 8, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

When my partner and I arrived at Chalet Rus Blaich it was even better than we could have imagined, everything in the chalet is finished to a very high standard, we enjoyed a glass of wine infront of the log burner in the evenings, walked up behind the chalet where the view was even better than inside the chalet, we have already recommended to our friends who will be booking, we shall we back again to explore the highlands further but couldn't imagine staying anywhere else!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high standard and log burner
Liked least: Wi-fi!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2015
Thank you so much for your kind words, It was lovely to meet you. You know you are always welcome back at any time.

kind regards
Karl
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing