We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A top-notch B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St. Andrews Guest House
Ranked #30 of 120 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A top-notch B&B”
Reviewed 13 December 2011

It was getting late and we hadn't booked, so I prepared for rejection as I negotiated the steep driveway of St Andrew's Guest House; happily, our hosts had rooms available for the four of us (two adults and two kids) and we made the most of them, as well as the en-suite and the shared bathroom. The house itself is magnificent, and being set quite high on a hill behind the town (a very short walk from the Centre) has superb views across the loch. Our rooms were spacious, quiet, well-heated and very clean, with very comfortable beds; breakfast (haggis, black pudding, eggs, mushrooms, tomatoes, beans, cereals, fruit juices, coffee, tea ...) was voluminous and extremely delicious. Our hosts were as friendly and helpful as you could wish for. At 100 pounds for two rooms and breakfast, this B&B was great value for money.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Campbell A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    40
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
21
65
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Don't get me wrong, you can see that the owners do their best for upkeep and maintenance of St. Andrews. However, it's just too massive a place for two people alone. That said, it was still a nice enough stay.

The interior is a bit on the tired, awkward and mismatched side, but clean, comfortable, quiet and not lacking in any of the basic amenities.

It's located up on the hill, away from the hustle and bustle of the high street, but still close enough that you can walk to everything. Also nice is how close it is to the Fort William bus/train station.

Breakfast was nothing to write home about, but nor was it a bad experience. The owners are quiet and on the more reserved side, but by all means most helpful and engaging in their subtle manner. And again, all of our needs were met.

If you don't expect some grand stay in Fort William, you cannot go wrong with St. Andrews Guest House.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heyburdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pistoia, Italy
Level Contributor
61 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

St. Andrews guest house is located in the heart of Fort William.
Spacious, clean ensuite double rooms and very good breakfast. Free wifi in the lobby for guests use.
Nice view to the loch. Owners are very helpful in suggesting Ben Nevis or Glen Nevis trekking.
Do not miss Glen Nevis waterfall and suspended bridge.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vialactea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at St Andrews for two nights at the end of August 2011 and found it to be a lovely and extremely well-run B&B. The rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable and the breakfasts delicious and plentiful. The couple who run the accomodation are very friendly and obliging. I would return here without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We stayed here for two nights. Our room was small, but very clean. The only problem we had was checking in. We showed up during check in time, rang the front doorbell, but no one answered. After stopping back three times, other guests finally told us we needed to use the side door to check in (we wish there had been a sign!). Otherwise, this B & B met our expectations and was in a good location to the town and to Ben Nevis.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Z G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

St. Andrews is a lovely B&B - it is in a character-filled building that used to be a church school. Our ensuite room was very spacious and clean - with a TV and tea & coffee making facilities. Breakfasts were excellent - they offered a generous cooked breakfast in addition to a good range of cereals, toast, juice, tea/coffee. It was good value as we paid 60 pounds for 2 ppl for a double ensuite room. The manager was friendly and helpful.

We found it to be a central and convenient location in Fort William and a good base for exploring the surrounding area. The B&B had private parking which was also a plus. So overall this was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katyandmark_1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

This is a historic place with a good location. The food was good but not exceptional. We had a large room with en suite bath. The bathroom had a strong smell of mold and did not seem quite as clean as the other five places we had stayed.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank scothiking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.1 km away
Bank Street Lodge
Bank Street Lodge
#16 of 21 in Fort William
218 reviews
0.5 km away
The Lime Tree
The Lime Tree
#9 of 21 in Fort William
468 reviews
0.7 km away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
6 Caberfeidh
6 Caberfeidh
#50 of 120 in Fort William
99 reviews
2.3 km away
Torlinnhe Guest House
Torlinnhe Guest House
#4 of 120 in Fort William
499 reviews
1.4 km away
The Brevins Guest House
The Brevins Guest House
#19 of 120 in Fort William
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Andrews Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Andrews Guest House

Property: St. Andrews Guest House
Address: Fassifern Road, Fort William PH33 6BD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
St. Andrews Guest House Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing