We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Sorry to leave, perfect home from home.”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of house - set against woodland overlooking Loch Alsh with views to Skye
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of house - set against woodland overlooking Loch Alsh with views to Skye
Relax in our comfortable seating with our signature Harris Tweed and a real fire. This largest bedroom has a 6ft super king bed and plenty of space for a cot if required.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Front of house - set against woodland overlooking Loch Alsh with views to Skye
Relax in our comfortable seating with our signature Harris Tweed and a real fire.
This largest bedroom has a 6ft super king bed and plenty of space for a cot if required.
Real log fire
The TV room/Snug makes the house popular with families.
This bedroom can be configured as a double (6ft) bed or two single beds, made up with cotton linen.
This twin bedroom is made up with crisp pure cotton linen and with blackout blinds.
Well equipped kitchen to take advantageof super local produce.
There is ample drying space both inside and out
View over Lochlash to Glen Elg penisula and Skye from the house
Well behaved dogs are welcome in public areas at a small extra charge
Eilean Donan Castle is just 5 miles away - get up at dawn for the best photos.
View over Lochalsh towards Skye.
Deer come close to the house. This very wet one hopped over the fence into the garden
There is a network of livestock and traffic free paths direct from the house.
The delightful Glen Elg Ferry in its new 2014 livery.
The Skye Bridge is just 5 miles away.
Otter at Glen Elg.  The area is great for wildlife watching on and off the sea.
The house has plenty of space for families to gather or escape for a while
House in the snow.
Being close the to coast, the house is rarely inaccessible but the area is lovely in the snow.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kyle of Lochalsh, Lochalsh, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
cakeandbu...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Sorry to leave, perfect home from home.”
Reviewed September 16, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We've just spent the week at Varies on our honeymoon and we were very sorry to be leaving. The cottage felt just like home and is in a great location for visiting the Isle of Skye, Lochalsh and Applecross. The cottage was very warm and comfortable and Debra had gone to a lot of effort to make sure that we had everything that we needed for our stay - including lots of things for our baby, and a bottle of champagne so that we could celebrate our honeymoon. The cottage is in good condition, spacious and well turned out with good views of Loch Alsh. We would love to return and hope that next time we can bring our other children. Varies was just perfect for our honeymoon, thank you Debra! x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Liked best: Everything we needed was on hand - books, maps, walk suggestions, baby equipment.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2015
Thanks - so glad to be able to contribute to a bid start to your married life.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 3, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Jul 2015
Thanks so much. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
bristol
Reviewed July 3, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: our bedroom was a bit chilly
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Jul 2015
Thanks for that.
Sorry about the cold bedroom : guests can control the heatng and in addition, just in case of need, there is a very efficient fan heater provided. I must put a note about the fan heater in the House Folder.
Thanks for the prompt.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 28, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Jun 2015
So pleased you enjoyed your stay. There is plenty to do in the area - rain or shine.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Selby, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 29, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Oct 2014
Thank you your review. We are pleased you enjoyed the house and its views and look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pitlochry, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 29, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Sep 2014
Those comments are very much appreciated and we will continue to work to make Varis a great place to stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 29, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Nothing. The property offered everything we needed and more.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Sep 2014
Thank you. We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing