We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous Hotel but service doesnt match” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golf View Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Golf View Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Hotel but service doesnt match”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We went to this hotel for our silver wedding anniversary celebrations and the manager couldnt have done more to help up with our stay. We were upgraded to a lovely room however unfortunately the first room had no hot water, but the manager moved us to another lovely room and we were happy.
The first night we noticed a few silly issues with the room so informed reception and the manager, the plug in the bath had no chain so we were unable to take it out, the bedside lamp didnt work and also the bath had pubic hair in and the sides in of the bath still had grime on so I had to clean it before we could use it? We thought these were minor issues and the manager assured us they would be dealt with immediately. However after 3 nights we left and these were still not fixed which we felt was rather a let down on a 4/5 star hotel.
The chef is definatley 5 star and did amazing art with our dessert on the first night and the food was fantastic, personally I think he is wasted in this hotel.
We found the staff customer service erratic, the waitresses had chipped nail polish, and were not all very professional in their behaviour. The receptionist on our last evening was fantastic and passed our comments to the manager.
The spa was a bit of let down as the outdoor hot tub was dirty and the water very cloudy so we werent happy about being in it. We have been in many tubs and the water shouldnt be like this. The pool was full of children which was not very relaxing so we wouldnt recommend this for a relaxing stay.
Overall we did enjoy our stay, lovely surroundings and the hotel was stunning but the staff let the hotel down.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wendyb69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NairnIain, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your stay. I am disappointed that there were shortfalls from the service side which resulted in your dis-satisfaction and for this, I sincerely apologise. I am however surprised at your comments surrounding my waiting team who normally receive nothing but praise for both their excellent service and professionalism. However, I will personally monitor this and ensure standards are consistent for each and every one of our guests. I am delighted however that you found the food to be of a high standard and my kitchen team are grateful for your comments.
With regards to the leisure area, we are a family friendly hotel, and we need to ensure the needs of all of our guests and members are met at all times. We do however have an adults only timeslot available 3 evenings per week. Our leisure team follow rigorous cleaning schedules, and this includes the cleaning of the pool and hot tub and again your comment stating that the hot tub was dirty surprised me. I have passed your comments on to my Leisure Manager and I will monitor this closely to ensure the cleaning schedules are being followed.
I do hope that should you return to the area that you may consider staying with us again.

Kind Regards
Iain Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    529
    353
    130
    74
    35
See reviews for
206
581
15
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

My wife and I went for a short break and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.We enjoyed the 6 course meal (starts with canopies and taster) which ended with coffee in the lounge.

The room was quite large compared to other hotels we have stayed in and their was a bath and shower, bliss!!

Although the hotel was quite full the staff were very pleasant especially the girl at breakfast time where nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Auldbuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

The golf veiw hotel was the venue for my sisters wedding. I stayed there for 3 nights and was the best hotel i have stayed in! A beautiful building leading out onto a sandy beach and a lovely sea veiw, great for a keen photographer. The staff were very friendly and went beyond the basic duties for the wedding with extras taylored to my sisters ideal day. I was very impressed with the manager who over saw the whole day and the days leading up to it.
Food was amazing with a lovely bar atmosphere and lovely spa facilities. My room was excellent too, very clean and beautiful veiws. I would love to go and stay again and would recommend the hotel as a wedding venue or romantic break to any one.

Room Tip: ask for a sea veiw room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kittycat186370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NairnIain, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your stay to celebrate your sister's wedding. I am delighted we appear to have met and indeed exceeded your expectations and that your sister's big day was such a great success. Your family were an absolute pleasure to look after, and my team and I had great fun making sure everything was perfect. The Golf View is an ideal wedding venue, with stunning views, ample grounds, not to mention exceptional service, and we look forward to hosting many more throughout the course of this year and next. We all look forward to welcoming you back, and again thank you for your kind comments.

Kind Regards
Iain Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

recently spent two night spa break at the Golf view hotel & spa had stayed there last year also for a two night break but not a spa one. The hotel staff couldnt have been any more pleasant & helpful nothing was a bother and everyone seemed to have a smile. The food was as usual absolutely wonderful with a great choice we ate in the restaurant on the first night and the conservatory on our second night everything that was recommended by the staff was lovely. Compliments to the chef & his brigade. Thanks to Annie? the therapist for a lovely couple of relaxing hours of treatment she was really lovely & very professional. Thanks to all for a great stay we will definately recommend the hotel to other people.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomo59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

My wife and I are just back from a 3 night luxury pamper break at the Golf View Hotel & Spa for my birthday. Our rate included dinner, bed and breakfast and a selection of treatments in the Sonas Spa.

Our room (48) was clean, spacious and had magnificent views of the beach and over to the black isle. I did request a seaview room at the time of booking so was exceptionally pleased to be given this on arrival. The hotel is situtated in a beautiful location and the walk along the beach to the harbour is a must.

Both my wife and I really enjoyed the treatments in the spa. Over 2 days our treatments consisted of a 1 hour full body massage each, a 1 hour facial each and a half our reflexology for her and a half hour head massage for me. The two spa therapists are really helpful and friendly and make you feel at ease. Both my wife and I think the therapy rooms are probably the nicest we have ever been in, all decorated tastefully and very relaxing. The heated swimming pool, jacuzzi and outdoor hot tub are also a nice way to unwind from hetctic lifestyles.

Over our 3 night break we dinned each night in the Fairways resturant. Our DBB rate was inclusive of the 7 course taster menu. All dishes we had over the 3 nights were all cooked to perfection and tasted amazing. My only criticism is the main courses and exceptionally small so if you are a big eater you might want to consider ordering something from the al a carte menu for a small supplement. Our favoutie dish was the venison - beautiful! Only wished there was more of it!

Breakast each morning was also very good and a great selection to choose from. The eggs benedict and eggs florentine were excellent. All the staff in the resturant are young and very friendly indeed but the service can be very inconsistient. We often found ourselves reminding staff of things we had requested which had been forgotten. We also got the impression that none of the staff had clear defined roles and there was a slight lack of leadership. Service during peak times did appear a bit caotic.

I would however state that it was great to stay somewhere that did represent good value for money. Would I stay at this hotel again? Yes I would and I would also recommend it to others? Yes. I may return sometime soon or even try one of the other Crerar Hotels in Scotland.

Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview on the top floor - you wont be dissapointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fraser_todd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

I booked the Golf View Hotel & Spa as a Mothers Day present. Myself & my mum stayed on the Saturday Night and arrived just before check in time. We spent the whole afternoon in the Pool & Jaccuzzi and didn't want to leave & the outdoor Hot tub looking onto the crashing waves was breathtaking.
We then later took a walk along the beach which is a few steps from the hotel. We dinned in the Concervatory and had a 3 course meal each and shared a bottle of wine which for the quality of service & food we received was well worth the price and of very high standard. The staff were always available and making sure everything was perfect throughout our stay. When we were due to check out the Receptionist very kindly held onto our luggage while we enjoyed another strole along the beach to take in the stunning views for the last time :D

Although since we've arrived home we are now booking up for my Grandparents wedding anniversary and will be taking the whole family so everyone can experience what we did for themselves. I honestly found it hard to explain how amazing it was and when people asked i simply said " you just have to book and see for yourself,words cannot describe the place and the location it's in" the most beautiful part of Scotland i have seen to date!!

Thank you so much for making my mums Mothers Day the most memorable day she has ever had :D xx

See you all soon

Room Tip: We stayed in room 55. from the outside view of the building it's the top left room. AMAZING!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Lovely big room with nice bathroom.
Beautician in the spa (Fran?) was delightful and went out of her way to give us appointments, manicures and massages were great.
Service in the restaurant was a little strange- manageress seemed to do a lot of walking around, but without much effect.
Food was ok- but main course (venison and potato rosti) was so salty that we couldnt eat it.
Overall, I would visit this hotel again though as the deal we got was very good value.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monkeyless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
34.4 km away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
33.6 km away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
38.1 km away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#3 of 7 in Strathpeffer
3.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Newton Hotel
Newton Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
0.8 km away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
22.7 km away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#7 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golf View Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf View Hotel & Spa

Property: Golf View Hotel & Spa
Address: 63 Seabank Road | The Seafront, Nairn IV12 4HD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nairn
#3 Family Hotel in Nairn
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golf View Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning AA 4 star seaside hotel overlooking the Moray Firth and close to Inverness. The Golf View Hotel and Spa enjoys views over the Moray Firth to the Black Isle and has gardens leading down to the seashore which is just a few steps away. Many of the 42 bedrooms are sea-facing with traditional interiors that provide guests with an exceptionally comfortable and relaxing place in which to stay. With a variety of leisure facilities including heated indoor pool, Jacuzzi, tennis courts and a Sonas Spa and beauty salon on-site, there's plenty available to ensure all guests make the most of their visit to the Golf View Hotel and Spa, Nairn. The hotel restaurant serves up fine dining and has just been awarded AA 1 Rosette status, which is presented by passionate chefs in a selection of the finest dishes. Furthermore, the Conservatory Restaurant enjoys beautiful vistas of the golden sands and Moray Firth coastline beyond. Golf View Hotel and Spa is also perfectly located for exploration of Inverness, capital of the Highlands, and the wider Highland region with the world famous Nairn golf courses sitting on the hotel doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Golf View Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golf View Hotel Nairn
Hotel View
Golf View Hotel & Spa Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing