We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Treasure of a Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Woodland Cottage

Sunset
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunset
Breathtaking Highland Views View of the garden at dusk
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Sunset
Breathtaking Highland Views
View of the garden at dusk
Outdoor Dining area!
Woodland Cottage entrance
Master Bedroom
Second Double Bedroom
Wood-burning stove
Indoor Dining area
Wooden staircase leading to both Double Bedrooms
Access to the Cottage from the main road
Kitchen/Dining area
Woodland Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Nairn, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Swedish first
Any
English first
HGM8
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Treasure of a Cottage”
Reviewed 19 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We were a party of four and we felt that we had a lot of space there. The directions provided by Caroline will get you to the cottage (just follow EXACTLY what they say!).
The beds were comfortable, the large bathroom was very clean and we always had hot water. The views from the cottage are beautiful, particularly of the sunsets. Caroline is a wonderful host. Anything we needed, directions or recommendations she was very happy to help. If you catch her gardening you will have a chat that feels as if you have known her for years.
There is also a fantastic restaurant called Ozzy Ali's which is a 10 minutes drive away.
I would absolutely recommend staying here if after your day of exploring, you want to come back to a place that feels like home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mairi M
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quiet cottage in secluded area but good base for exploring area”
Reviewed 9 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Host was very friendly and helpful. Directions were accurate and easy to follow. The cottage was clean and neat with all appliances necessary for a self catering holiday. It would be advisable to have a car to stay here but it was still only a short drive to towns such as Inverness, Forres, Fort George and Cawdor. Short drive from Cawdor Tavern which served fabulous meals.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesleyl53...
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous Cottage”
Reviewed 30 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

I would highly recommend staying at Woodland Cottage. I couldn't fault it. It is beautifully decorated, well equipt and very peaceful. I will be back!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael J
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“''Par Excellence''”
Reviewed 8 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is the second visit this year and this 'little gem' in the highlands of Scotland is not to be missed, the owner Caroline Watson lives next door and is the best host anyone could wish for she is very caring, friendly and helpful. The cottage is set in the middle of the woods with wild life all around you and yet you are only 10 minutes from the airport and 20 minutes from the centre of Inverness. the skiing resort of Aviemore is just a short drive away. if like us you enjoy your golf, then this is a must for you as there are several top quality golf course in the area. the accommodation is first class, car is essential.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquility
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noemi R
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful Cottage”
Reviewed 28 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The owner lives next door and she was very helpful all the way through. The cottage is beautiful, stylish and cosy. The location is stunning. We enjoyed very much our time in the cottage. I would only add that a sign post on the road with the name of the cottage would be very helpful, it took some driving for us to find the cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: First night when we could not find the cottage
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2015
I have now got a sign at the end of the road.. Thank you for your comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epkkasu
Karlskrona, Sweden
1 review
“The perfect base for exploring Nairn area”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a great week in Woodland Cottage, during the 2015 WOC event. The perfect, tranquil base in the woods allowed both our kids and ourselves to relax each day, after the orienteering run. We also explored the surrounding area by foot, our son loved the swing hanging in a tree in the middle of the forest. Fun place, and both kitchen and bathroom are really top notch. Beds were really comfy, too, we slept like kings and queens.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquility
Liked least: We did not find extra blankets, but did not ask either
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;