We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Compact modern lodge with all mod cons”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Angely

Open plan lounge with doors to decking.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Open plan lounge with doors to decking.
Kitchen looking on to dining area. Dining area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
75 reviews
Open plan lounge with doors to decking.
Kitchen looking on to dining area.
Dining area.
Kitchen through to utility room
Plasma and surround sound
Bedroom 1 with en suite and patio doors to decking.
Dining area looking out to outdoor eating area.
3rd Bedroom with double and single bunk.
Lounge and decking from communal grassy area.
Lounge through to dining.
Bedroom 2
View down valley from front decking
Blackwaterfoot beach 10 min walk.
Beach at sunset.
Beach and golf course
View of valley from rear decking
Top of 'The Saddle' looking back to 'Goatfell'
White Xmas valley from decking.
White Xmas 2005
View from 4th hole on golf course to Kintyre
View of beach from golf clubhouse
Drumadoon from golf course
White Xmas 2005
Glorious night sky!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Isle of Arran, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 75 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
CarolynTM...
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Compact modern lodge with all mod cons”
Reviewed May 11, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The lodge has everything you need and more, really well equipped. It is clean, nicely decorated and has just enough bits and pieces to make it feel cosy & homely. The bedrooms are small but for a week away it's no bother. The communication from owners was great & they even checked all was ok on arrival etc.
Blackwaterfoot is a quiet little village, the local tiny shop has a brilliant range of products and the hotel does lovely food. You are only 20mins from the busier Brodick, Lamlash & Whiting Bay as well.
We were there with our dogs so mostly focused on walking; and there is no lack of that, some amazing walk with views to die for! Kings Cave is dog heaven as is round the Cock of Arran, the Glenashdale Falls is a fabulous walk too. Only tiny down side for us was there is no enclosed garden (I knew that though when I booked) and nowhere right on your doorstep for early morning/last thing walks. Dog owners, don't forget this is tick country big time, so FrontLine your dogs before you come & check every night.
Great cottage/lodge with all that's needed for a lovely week away.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise R
Beith, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic lodge in beautiful peacefull location”
Reviewed March 13, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

A very well equipped and spotlessly clean lodge. Had a fantastic but relaxed weekend staying here can't wait to get back. Communication with owner (Alan) was great. We could not fault this short break from the minute we booked until we reluctantly handed the keys back xx wish we stayed longer xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crisp R
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good, modern and comfy base for Arran trip.”
Reviewed November 26, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Alllan accommodated us at short notice, in winter. The space was very good for our family of 4 & open plan living area and all on one level was ideal for our 2 little ones. Great stay on Arran helped by al mod cons and a lovely home like feel.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidPRo
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location with great views over shiskine valley”
Reviewed July 30, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Very well equipped and comfortable 3 bedroom chalet near blackwaterfoot. Nice easy walk down to the village which we love to bits with beach, hotel, 12 hole golf course, horse riding and excellent butcher. Very nice verandah for sitting out on and chilling out on. Good bike rides into village and machrie and beyond. Will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location
Liked least: Midges
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ddunlop64
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic house and location which is well worth staying in.”
Reviewed May 16, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Had a great 3 nights at Angely, and it was perfect. House is perfectly equipped, spacious and has stunning views. We shall definitely return here without a doubt. Owners, Allan and Jacqui were great, and provided us with loads of information which helped us make the most of our stay. Great place and would highly recommend a stay here. Fab.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 21, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SHallgart...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“A great property in a great location”
Reviewed April 11, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We were a little intrepid heading to Arran as the power had been down all over the island for the previous week due to adverse weather conditions. However Allan (the owner) was great at keeping us informed of the local conditions and we ended up having a great time.
The property was very well maintained and clean with great views out of the french windows (including grouse, wild rabbits playing and other wildlife right outside). The heating worked wonderfully, which was definitely required with all the snow outside!
Location is good for the Island being easy to find from local landmarks and close to the String road - however if you plan to arrive in the dark be warned there are several other identical lodges without easily seen signs to distinguish them. A small map of the immediate surrounding buildings may have been a help for us.
We had a really good weekend with only a few small criticisms - the duvet in our room was rather thin; we ended up using a second from a spare bedroom, the shower was a little hard to get at the right temperature, there was a bit of a lack of sharp knives and bowls in the kitchen and in the en-suite the cistern kept flowing which meant we had to turn off the water to it each night to stop it making a noise. Please understand these points are only in the purpose of full disclosure and in no way lessened our enjoyment of the property.
All around a fantastic price with a helpful and easily contactable owner.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wild rabbits playing each evening on the doorstep
Liked least: The very sensitive control for the shower - but it was no real hassle
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2013
Thanks for pointing out these issues. Cistern has been fixed and as we have not had the warmest of springs we have put on winter duvets. New knifes and cereal bowls provided too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing