We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Feeling at home at someone else's house”
other travellers have booked this property
view of Dean Terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
view of Dean Terrace
Kitchen Double Bedroom with view over garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
view of Dean Terrace
Kitchen
Double Bedroom with view over garden
Sitting area
Dining area
Toilet
Patio
Dean Terrace
local pub, Stockbridge
Dean Bridge, near Stockbridge
St Giles Cathedral, Royal Mile, Edinburgh
view from Scott Monument, Princes Street, Edinburgh
Edinburgh from Calton Hill
Arthur's Seat, Edinburgh
Scottish Parliament, Edinburgh
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Midlothian, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pedro Hen...
1 review
“Feeling at home at someone else's house”
Reviewed February 27, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

To begin with, me and my girlfriend were really well received by Barbara and Neil. They are a lovely couple, really receptive and friendly, that made us fell instantly at our own home! Just when we arrived we had a nice and interesting chat with them.
They promptly showed us the place we where going to stay, that is some sort of separated loft inside the house, giving us total privacy and freedom. This kind of loft have it's own bathroom, shower living room and kitchen, besides there is an entrance that you can use to not disturb them, it is just perfect!
Their house is really well localised, at just 15 minutes walk from old town. Besides, there is plenty of markets (including a sunday market of local produits / flea market).
Besides that, there was plenty of touristic informations located at the living room, making it much easier to check attractions in town, à really nice touche of them.
Overall, a great experience, that felt like we found our own space in Edinburgh, as well as finding good friends such this marvelous couple.
Thanks a lot for everything, guys, it was a blast to meet you both!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: This fabulous couple!
Liked least: It was perfect.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2016
Lovely to have you both staying with us as non-paying guests, Pedro and Emilie, and hope to see you again. Just to clarify for guests renting the property, the apartment downstairs (not in a loft!) is completely self-contained with its own entrance. The communicating door between our apartment and the one which is rented out is locked during rentals. We're happy to give advice on places to visit/eat/drink and full information is available in the welcome pack.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 1, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The Festival sadly puts the price up, but everywhere is Edinburgh is the same.
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
David J
Paddock
2 reviews
“Very comfortable and conveniently located”
Reviewed June 26, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This accommodation is tastefully furnished and very clean and comfortable, containing everything that one could need - a home away from home, really. The hosts were very welcoming and helpful, providing a basketful of lovely goodies on our arrival and any info that was needed about the flat and surrounds. The flat is well-positioned and a good base for visiting Edinburgh's many and varied attractions and sights, with bus routes easily accessed. For visitors with their own or a hired car, please note that there is no parking-bay allocated for this flat and also no long-term parking available in the flat's street or close vicinity, during the week.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthernR...
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The perfect place to stay in Stockbridge”
Reviewed June 20, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We have stayed in Stockbridge several times as we love the atmosphere and its closeness to the city centre while still retaining a village feel. This is the best place we have stayed, and it's where we hope to return next time. From the very thoughtful welcome basket and flowers to the attractive decor and comfortable bed, the owner has thought of everything to make guests feel at home. The flat is in the basement of a lovely old house on a quiet street very close to shops, pubs and restaurants, and near the Botanic Garden. The Leith walk is nice for a fine day, in either direction, and the New Town just around the corner. Don't hesitate, just book it, but not when we want to go!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara R
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Top-quality flat in lovely Stockbridge"”
Reviewed June 1, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I had a great stay at the flat at 10a, which is ideally situated along the Water of Leith in Stockbridge. Edinburgh is a very walkable city, and this flat was the perfect base to explore the city. I walked everywhere! The center of Edinburgh is a pleasant 15 minute walk from the flat, and entrances to the walkway on the Water of Leith are only a couple of minutes from the flat. I also enjoyed my walk to Easter Road stadium. (There are bus stops located near the flat as well, but I did not use them because I prefer to walk.) In addition, Stockbridge itself is a great neighborhood; it has the feel of a small town within a larger city. There are a number of good restaurants, pubs, and cafes near the flat. In addition, there are grocery stores, fruit and veg stores, pharmacies and other stores with day-to-day necessities conveniently located minutes from the flat.

The flat itself is bright, clean, well-organized, and quiet, and is accurately described on the website. All appliances are in good working order, the bed is comfortable, and there is good water pressure in the shower as well as plenty of hot water. The wi-fi works fine in the front room but did not work for me in the bedroom. This was not a problem for me, but I am noting it in this review in case it would be a cause of concern for someone else.

The owners, who live above the flat, are fantastic. They were responsive in arranging the booking of the flat and entrance to the flat, and incredibly thoughtful in a number of ways. For example, they provided a very helpful packet of information, which included thorough instructions for all of the appliances, as well as descriptions of the local restaurants, pubs, cafes, and stores and walking routes along the Water of Leith and Old Town Edinburgh. Moreover, they provided a welcome basket gift of basic goods on arrival, and offered to pick up additional items upon request. They seemed genuinely interested in making my stay in Edinburgh as enjoyable as possible. And they succeeded! I was happy to call the flat "home" for a few days, and I hope to return "home" soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KznJohn
KZN
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The only place to stay in Edinburgh”
Reviewed January 30, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

The flat is spacious and has all the amenities one would expect or want. It is clean, spacious, airy, and warm (important in winter) and everything works. it is also very private. The flat is ideally located in the new town within walking distance of buses and the old town itself as well as the National Gallery of Modern Art which can be reached via a slow amble along the river with its crisp flowing water. Good eateries are also within spitting distance as is a community centre if you want to get in some yoga, pilates etc during the holiday. The hosts are a fount of knowledge and are incredibly welcoming.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It felt like home away from home
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oopsadais...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed August 29, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Lovely flat, lovely location, lovely owners, a fabulous place to stay while visiting Edinburgh and surrounding areas.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing