We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfy apartment in right location”
other travellers have booked this property
The French doors lead out to a secret garden full of geranium pots, herbs and flowers.(summertime!!)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The French doors lead out to a secret garden full of geranium pots, herbs and flowers.(summertime!!)
View in April 2016 showing new outside seating area. Look out into the front courtyard while you brew yourself a coffee.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
The French doors lead out to a secret garden full of geranium pots, herbs and flowers.(summertime!!)
View in April 2016 showing new outside seating area.
Look out into the front courtyard while you brew yourself a coffee.
The lounge is separated from the kitchen by a beautiful 'L' shaped oak worktop.
Welcome breakfast-including porridge!
Charming open plan lounge in French 'shabby chic' style.
The bathroom features French artefacts ...
... and a blue glass sink.
St Stephen Street is in the heart of Stockbridge.
The famous artisan cheesemonger who supplies the best restaurants in Scotland.
Welcome to Stockbridge!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Midlothian, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ellennn20...
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
“Comfy apartment in right location”
Reviewed February 10, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Had a nice and comfortable stay in this cosy apartment. There is everything you need for a short or longer stay in Edinburgh: a comfy bed, couch, well-equiped kitchen, even videos to watch. And the extra things I needed were directly delivered upon request (UK to EU plug adapter, baby chair). He also took his time to show me the ins & outs of the apartment. So I found the owner very helpful. Of course the biggest highlight of the apartment is its outstanding location, as you get to stay in one of the liveliest and fun parts of the city. It is close to some nice pubs, even in the same street, yet you don't have any disturbance or noise coming from it, as the apartment is in the silent part of the street. I would definitely book this apartment again for a future stay in Edinburgh, as I prefer the homey atmosphere of this apartment above an anonymous hotel room.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda P
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice area, but would not stay in this apartment again.”
Reviewed September 16, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Good points: The apartment is in a great and vibrant location, well served by speciality shops.
But it should be noted that this apartment is semi-basement and suffers from a serious lack of light. Lights are needed on most of the time.
I would say that whilst the standard of furnishing is generally good, there are a few essentials that are missing that would help self-catering visitors. There was no oven glove, so I had to use a bathroom towel to take hot trays from the oven. There was no tea towel to dry up with (I've always found these provided at previous self-catering apartments, not something that you would think to pack!) The oven was also greasy and smoked when I put it on, so I had to clean it first . The pillows did not have an inner protection cover, so were stained (not a nice thought to sleep on!) There was a lingering smell of drains or damp or perhaps a combination of both pervading the apartment. Whenever we were in, I opened all the windows fully to let it have a good airing which I think it needs. I also was not very happy that there was no way to get any ventilation in the bedroom at night. The room did not have a window but a patio door. Naturally, if this was left open to let in air, then there would have been a serious security issue, as anyone could have walked in whilst we were sleeping. This made for sleeping in stuffy and damp smelling conditions. Goodness knows what it must be like when the weather is hot and the need for fresh cool air is even more important. Also as other guests have noted the plumbing in the bathroom is extremely noisy and disturbs one sleep. On the information provided the owner mentioned that bin bags were supplied in the drawers for putting out rubbish, but none could be found. There is also a wine bar just a couple of doors down from the apartment which is extremely noisy in the early hours with patrons singing and jeering in the street as they make their way home.
The owner was generally responsive to my initial emails when booking, but downplayed my concerns raised on my return. Not helpful!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2015
All I can say to those reading this review is please read what other guests say about this flat and great area!The flat is lower ground but has patio doors to a (very secure!) lovely garden area surrounded by high walls. In our opinion, and those of all but this guest, it is light and airy.
No concerns were raised until after the rental-had they been we would have addressed them immediately!!
So in summary,please read the other reviews on this flat and give us a try!!!
David

We do provide tea towels...oven gloves...coffee,,,tea...hot choc...milk...cereal...and lots of useful cooking stuff...!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca10...
Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location, comfortable apartment.”
Reviewed October 30, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for 3 nights during October and had a brilliant time, The apartment was perfect for walking into Edinburgh City and for the Botanical gardens. The kitchen was well equipped, good Wifi and it was very clean, and warm.
The only negative comment, was that the plumbing was a little noisy, but when we come to Edinburgh again, we would probably stay here.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluebell0...
British Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“perfect location; lovely flat”
Reviewed August 30, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This ground-level flat was just perfect for two of us. The location could not be better; there are two excellent pubs just down the street (the Antiquary and the Bailie); the cheese shop is right round the corner; and there are plenty of excellent places to eat nearby. You can walk up the hill to Princes Street, or take a bus. Stockbridge is one of the nicest neighbourhoods in Edinburgh.
The flat itself was great for us and had everything we needed. David was really nice and helpful. I hope we'll have a chance to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: location!
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhyllisNM
Rockford, Michigan, USA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“charming flat in Stockbridge neighborhood”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This flat had everything you need for a vacation get away. Came with first mornings breakfast. The kitchen had lots of spices as well as coffee etc so you don't have to buy these items.
The bus stop is half a block away. The neighborhood is safe to walk through at night.
Be sure to check out Peter's Yard, coffee and bakery.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, near bus lines, great pubs and coffee houses nearby
Liked least: outside areas could use some attention.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire490
Henlow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely homely appartment”
Reviewed June 26, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Me and my husband stayed at the apartment for a long weekend. We received a warm greeting from David the property owner, and we were very grateful for the welcome pack, especially the bread that David so kindly got for us!
The property itself is located in a lovely area where there is an abundance of bars, restaurants and coffee shops.
The apartment has a lovely feel to it with excellent facilities (lovely fluffy towels, a comfortable bed, long mirror, coffee machine which my husband especially liked, and wifi were just some), and a large bedroom with french doors/shutters, so plenty of space for you to get ready in!
We walked from Waverley train station to the apartment which took us about 20 minutes.
Overall an excellent apartment and property owner, and would definitely recommend this.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bedroom, it felt homely and cosy
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elaine s
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely flat in a great location”
Reviewed May 6, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Perfect location away from the hustle and bustle of the tourist spots of Edinburgh. Stockbridge is a great location, with lots of interesting shops and places to eat and drink. David the host was very helpful and friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing