We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best cottage we have ever stayed in”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Chelona

Chelona
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chelona
Kitchen Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Chelona
Kitchen
Living room
Dining room
Master Bedroom
Twin bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Garden
Rear view of cottage
Dolphin Centre in Spey Bay
Dolphins in Moray Firth
Chelona
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Elgin, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Richard26...
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best cottage we have ever stayed in”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stay in cottages in Scotland three times per year and this is the best cottage we have ever stayed in. Beautifully fitted out, clean, everything that you need for a self catering holiday was supplied. We took two dogs and the large garden was perfect. Directions given by owner to the cottage were spot on and the flowers, milk, tea and coffee were a really nice touch. The owner came to the cottage to advise how the heating etc worked and gave helpful hints to make the stay a good one.

A fantastic cottage, excellent location and we had a great holiday. Would stay here again without a doubt!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of cottage
Liked least: No faults at all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treacleca...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Just the job.”
Reviewed 25 October 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Very comfortable and superbly equipped. Full of character, peaceful and quite. A very pleasant stay, would not hesitate to book again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable and peaceful
Liked least: The shower curtain didn't fit well around the victorian bath
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G S
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 20 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This was a truly lovely place in a gorgeous part of Scotland. I can't say enough nice things about the place. The owner kept in good contact with us from the beginning, the handbook was very helpful when we arrived, and we had an incredibly comfortable stay. There was teabags and milk waiting for us (always a wonderful sight after a long drive) and we were impressed with how deceptively large the cottage is. There was just about everything we needed for a stay, and loads of good information on places and things to see in the area. We live at the other end of the UK, but we would still like to find the time to come back to this gem of a cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, the general coziness of the place.
Liked least: the bed didn't have the most comfortable mattress, but that has more to do with my bad back, than it being a bad mattress.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CassellsC...
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Again a fantastic time”
Reviewed 24 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

This is the second week this year we have stayed here, we first stayed in Feb. Will be back again. Highly recommended.. had a relaxing break. The cottage was as immaculate as before, still the best cottage we have stayed in, will be very hard to beat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfort of cottage
Liked least: nothing at all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lucy B
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay in this lovely cottage”
Reviewed 5 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We had a lovely stay in this cottage. The owner was very helpful. The cottage was very comfortable, the welcome pack was a surprise but much appreciated. A lovely place to relax and recharge batteries. Ideal location for touring this stunning part of Scotland. Lots to do, wildlife in abundance, whisky distilleries, quaint shops and excellent icecream parlour in Fochabers only just up the road.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Its location to Spey Bay
Liked least: The garden looks like work in progress. Caravan needs removing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chakns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location, Fantastic Cottage, Fantastic Holiday”
Reviewed 2 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

I've used the word fantastic three times in the title for good reason. We had a wonderful stay at this cottage. We arrived late on a Friday evening and dumped our things and explored the Cottage, it is a lovely old quaint cottage with brilliant modern facilities inside. It looks like your classic cottage from the outside right down to the gnomes in the garden, inside it is warm, comfortable and stocked with everything you require: flatscreen TV, dishwasher, great kitchen, clean and modern bathroom, two bedrooms with fresh and comfortable linen. The owner, Ian was very kind and left us some food in the freezer along with some milk and a bottle of wine, this is above and beyond what we expected and it really shows just how much effort the owners have put into making their cottage a welcome place to stay. All in all the cottage was great and the location was perfect as a base of operations to explore the area: the dolphine centre at Spey bay is 2 minutes up the road and it is easy to drive to Fochabbers, Buckie and other places for food. We went to a delicious Tandoori place in Buckie on the first evening (Bengal Brasserie) and would recommend this to anyone looking for an affordable place to eat nearby.

If we holiday in the area again we will certainly try to stay at Chelona! Thanks for a great weekend break!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wifi, Television, Location, Welcome items for our arrival
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$91
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing