We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fright night at the Duffus Inn 😊”
Review of Duffus Inn

Duffus Inn
Ranked #2 of 89 Restaurants in Elgin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed November 1, 2018 via mobile

Fabulous service from waiting staff very freindly. Starter of Garlic mushrooms very disappointing, mushrooms where sliced and cremated no sign of Garlic to cover the taste of death the highlight of the starter was an excelently toasted slice ofbread it was delish. The other starters served where good. Of the 3 main courses the halloumi stack was the most disappointing in that the main part of the dish was hiding in the kitchen, the meal was served with sweet potatoe fries these were served black and the roasted vegetables was a stack of soggy mess.

Approximately 6 Calor gas bottles where dragged and bounces along the front window and bounced down the steps, only slightly worried for my life I didn't know pressurised gas cylinders should be moved like this
Great night overall nobody died

Date of visit: November 2018
3  Thank Pioneer15312037011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 399 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2018

Recommended by our Cummingstown B&B, the Duffus Inn is kind of a mixed blessing. The location and atmosphere of the place is of a nice out-of-the-way pub. In reality, it's so popular with the locals that it isn't always so great for a tourist. The menu is typical pub with a Tex-Mex emphasis and the food was good, but not special. The fact that there was a huge local's party meant it was so crowded that service was lacking (if the staff knew you, you were well taken care of). The noise level was off the charts; a nice pub meal was impossible. I'd give the place a second chance, it has great potential.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 17, 2018

From arrival to departure the whole experience was brilliant. We were greeted by Nathan who showed us to our table and gave us a lovely welcome. Natalie took our orders and answered any questions we had about the menu, along with special requests, nothing was too much trouble. Nathan also went above and beyond with his level of customer service, extremely likeable. Will definitely be back to sample other delights on the menu and recommending to family and friends.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank amymac457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2018 via mobile

Great menu selection. Difficult to choose which option to go for so definitely must return to sample more from the menu.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank andyonekanobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2018 via mobile

Arrived here after booking in advance from lots of recommendations, and was shown to table. Booked for early dinner as had young children with us, youngest only 1yrs! Nice decor and wasn't busy, only another family in there. Waiter was friendly and seemed very helpful.

Drinks arrived, all fine....decided against a starter and only ordered mains. Thank god or we would've still been there at midnight! Said mains took an hour to appear!!! Not ideal when you have youngsters to occupy. Wouldve understood if it was busy but there was only one other table eating! Food was ok, quite tasty, although portion size not massive. My little one should've had a juice with his meal, but didn't get it. Ended up getting it as we walked out the door! As we'd been in there so long we didn't have time for a dessert. Bill came and without even asking, the waiter said he'd taken off our last round of drinks as we'd had such a long wait. That was appreciated, and a nice gesture. Felt sorry for the waiter as he was rushing about all over the place, and clearly couldn't be in two places at once.

I asked if they were short staffed and was told no, they generally only have one chef working on a week night as they aren't always busy. So my tip...don't go on a week night if you want a quick bite to eat. Such a shame as had heard lots of good things about here but unfortunately, our visit wasn't that good.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Mrswu24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Duffus Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing