We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good price”
Review of The Station Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Station Hotel
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location, good price”
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We had a weekend in Perth and were looking for a cheap(ish) hotel in the city. After reading other reviews we decided to give The Station Hotel a go and were not disappointed. The hotel is in a great location and even though attached to the station, was very quite both nights we were there. The hotel has an older feel to it, which some might not like, but it adds to it's charm. The hotel was clean and despite the creaky floors the rooms were a good size with appropriately high ceilings. Because of the size of the walls, we did feel the room we stayed in could have benefited from some pictures or photographs they felt a little empty. The "quality" chocolates on the bed each night were a nice touch. We did not eat at the hotel (purely as Perth has some good restaurants). If we were back in Perth for a long weekend I'd certainly consider staying again. Overall we liked it, but don't think this is a Travel lodge or Novotel – It's character ensures this.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SOJO_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    210
    153
    94
    82
See reviews for
92
257
63
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warilla, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Stayed for 2 nights and were quite happy with the room, very large and spacious with all the extras and yes there are chocolates on bed. We stayed in a corner room facing the street but there was no disturbing noise.
The bathroom was again a big room ànd all the inclusions worked as expected.
It is an old establishment but does have character and apppeal.
I don,t think I would recommend the restaurant as we asked to see the menu and decided to go into town. This mayhave
Been due to being off season

Overall goog location and value for money

Room Tip: Try for a corner room as they are more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkandGaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night to visit family locally. I booked the hotel as it was the only hotel with a family room available and feared the worst when I read the reviews. They cannot be further from the truth. The hotel was clean and the rooms were spacious with high ceilings. Our room had recently been revamped and the beds were large and comfortable.

The staff were very friendly and we had a few drinks in the bar and played some table football with my son. The breakfast was great and again service was friendly. I will definitely go back and stay here if in the area again.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank stu10100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Very disappointed in this hotel, not worth half the price. The pictures on website were definitely not of our room as it was in desperate need of a revamp. Hotel is very tired and in need of TLC. Gave hotel opportunity to contact re our comments on first morning of 2 night stay and didn't hear a peep. On a + the breakfast was very nice...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trace906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Perth hotels

Scottish Highlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Stayed here on business and wish I hadn't bothered. The room was pokey and although it had some ferrerro rocher on the pillow, a bit of decoration and refurbishment would have been better! Don't even bother to eat here. I had an inlflated priced sandwich at lunchtime £4.95 for two slices of bread, meagre filling and scrap of salad with a few crisps on the side. I reckon it was made by the receptionist,come barman, come porter, as he appeared to be the only person there!

I wish I hadn't bothered with dinner. I was the only person in the dining room, so opted for the bar and was the only person there too! £14.95 for some 'haddock gratin' and that was after the receptionist come waitress come barperson told me everything they did not have available on the menu that was meagre to start with. There may have been a tiny piece of haddock (she said it was the last fish left) at the bottom of the gratin dish with some really stodgy mustard cheese sauce on the top and a warm bread roll (?) no butter on the side. There was also a small dish of veg provided but the £3 plate of fish and chips I had in the railway station buffet the next day was bigger and better! The piece de resistance was the satisfaction survey I was asked to complete and did honestly! I have to say Breakfast was better the next morning.

I had planned to use this hotel for a work conference I am organising, but not now! I asked for a meeting room/catering quote and it is yet to arrive, needless to say another Perth hotel has got the business. It is such a shame I regularly visit Perth and this hotel location would be ideal, but it needs a big shake up. It 'could' be so good.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catlover77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Searched for a smoking hotel and found that the station hotel was on a website that had smoking rooms. Phoned to make a booking and asked for a smoking room.... Informed that this was not a problem and o booked a room. On arrival found hotel to be very shoddy. Carpets worn dull and flacking paint etc. Got key and went to room to find a huge no smoking sign on door. Back to reception to complain to be informed whole hotel no smoking. Asked to see a manager ... Non available till morning. Very disappointed!!! An old outdated hotel, poor decor, worn carpets, plastic cups in room, no managers, no smoking rooms, no porters..... How can this hotel warrent a 4 stars.... Lucky even to have 2 stars in my opinion. Don't be fooled by their website it's not as depicted.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

A bargain picked up on Booking.com! This Victorian Hotel has refurbished many rooms and we took advantage of a great deal of superior room with breakfast. Two couples in excellent accommodation plus breakfast of a good standard, made to order, makes for a great weekend. Staff at the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful, directing us to free overnight parking behind the hotel. The weather was kind to us but even if it had been poor, there's a lot to see around the city of Perth. I would return to this hotel if visiting Perth again.

Room Tip: Superior rooms have loads of space and the turret rooms have a bright position.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen_Glen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.7 km away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#4 of 18 in Perth
1,028 reviews
0.2 km away
Parklands
Parklands
#9 of 18 in Perth
230 reviews
0.4 km away
New County Hotel
New County Hotel
#13 of 18 in Perth
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#17 of 18 in Perth
901 reviews
3.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Perth
0.1 km away
Best Western Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Station Hotel

Property: The Station Hotel
Address: Leonard Street, Perth PH2 8HE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Station Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a grand Victorian mansion, the Station Hotel is situated in Perth centre, next to Perth Railway Station. The impressive hotel offers spacious rooms and Scottish breakfasts. Traditional cooked breakfasts are served daily in the bright and airy dining room. Light continental options are also available, including freshly squeezed juices and gourmet coffees. The elegant rooms are individually decorated, and free Wi-Fi is accessible throughout. Some rooms have scenic views across the landscaped grounds, and all feature a private bathroom. Just a 5-minute walk from Perth centre, the Station Hotel is a 10-minute walk from the Perth Theatre and Concert Hall. There is free on-site parking, and the River Tay is half a mile away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Station Hotel Perth, UK - Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing