We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (344)
Filter reviews
344 results
Traveller rating
232
75
26
9
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
232
75
26
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small hotel road noise run hotel across the river kippers spotlessly clean room residents lounge stayed for two nights min walk breakfast and dinner walk in shower close to town a wonderful stay trip to scotland superb breakfast lovely hotel visiting perth
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 344 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2018

My husband and I visited the Sunbank House Hotel at the end of January for the weekend. On arrival (early) we were shown to our beautiful, traditionally-decorated room to the front of the building and like the rest of the hotel it was absolutely immaculate.
The owner had just replaced the pillows and duvets in all the bedrooms, the linen/bedding was to the highest quality and the bed was very comfortable. It was an absolutely bitter-cold weekend but our room was lovely and cosy, although it did really cool down overnight. In the morning, we were asked if we were warm enough as they were in the process of putting in secondary glazing and our room was one which hadn’t yet been done, although the remainder of the rooms were being done the following week. This would have been my only negative comment but they’ve already sorted it.
Our room's en-suite facilities had a good-sized walk in shower with a fabulous shower (anyone who knows me, knows that my pet-peeve is trying to shower in a trickle of lukewarm water). Certainly not the case here! Toiletries and an abundance of clean, fresh, air-dried towels were provided (I noticed from other reviews that people were actually complaining about this…really!?!)
For breakfast a good selection of cereals, fruit juice, fruit, yoghurt and pastries are available from the small buffet area. Tea/coffee, toast and delicious cooked-to-order breakfasts are brought to your table including salmon and poached eggs, full breakfast made with ingredients from local farms and suppliers.
The hotel is located a short walk over the bridge to the city centre and although it overlooks the busy A85 Dundee Road, we heard no road noise from inside the hotel at all (some previous reviews mention road noise but we heard nothing).
This is a really lovely, family run hotel just over the river in Perth. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClanRobertson2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunbankHosue, Owner at Sunbank House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2018

Thank you for your very kind review. It is very positive. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope your husband is feeling much better now and may be we will see you again in the near future? The team work extremely hard at making a guest stay as comfortable as possible and really appreciate when you take the time to share your experience.

Kind regards
Finlay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 14, 2018

Beautiful building, food absolutely delicious. We had our dogs and they were given a wee treat in the morning. So friendly and would go back without hesitation. Best place we have stayed in with our dogs. It was immaculately clean, beds were lovely and comfortable and rooms were perfect temperature. Our breakfast was cooked perfectly and so was evening meal. Easy walk into Perth as well. Great to have car parking as well.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Fluffet74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunbankHosue, Manager at Sunbank House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your kind review, I am pleased that all 5 of you enjoyed your short stay with us!!
It makes every thing worthwhile when we can pass on your comments to the Staff, and Owners (Finlay and Agnes), will be delighted.

Kind regards

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 12, 2018

Great place. Finlay and Agnes go the extra mile - wonderful food and hospitality. Won't stay anywhere else in Perth now. Ideal accommodation for a female traveller and very relaxing for a short city break. Care and kindness abound.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ceitidh0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunbankHosue, Manager at Sunbank House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this lovely review, Finlay and Agnes will be delighted to read your comments.

Kind regards

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 5, 2018 via mobile

The small house hotel is situated on a very busy road next to houses and a bus stop. A lot of road noise in the room disturbed our sleep. A lot of doors banging in the night.
The bedroom was freezing and there seems to be an issue with heating.
Damp smelling cheap linen. The room was also smelling of damp.
The decor is very old and dated and in need of serious upgrading.
Very poor experience and we felt very uncomfortable in the place.
We would not recommend.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank X13g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunbankHosue, Manager at Sunbank House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review Sunbank House Hotel.

In response to your points :-

Regarding road noise - During January all of our bedrooms were fitted with secondary glazing units. As a result there has been a substantial reduction on external noise factors.

Banging doors in the night - All doors have soft close mechanisms fitted to prevent excessive noise internally.

Bedroom freezing - The heating was fully serviced in December with a clean bill of health and at no stage through January was it not operational.

Cheap linen - All linen used for the comfort of our guests is a minimum 200 thread count Egyptian cotton purchased from reputable hotel suppliers. Indeed, new linen has been added to the stock through January.

Room smelling of damp - refer to the point "Bedroom freezing". Also, the installation of the glazing has greatly enhanced the warmth within the rooms.

Decor - is in keeping with a victorian house and fits the character of the building.

Had you advised us during your stay of your discomfort or indeed on check-out it would have afforded the team the opportunity to address your concerns.

Regards
John


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 28, 2018 via mobile

Stayed at Sunbank House for a family Xmas break from 24th till 27th December We were welcomed by Finlay and Agnes, the owners on arrival and shown to our rooms which were very spacious and spotlessly clean. Breakfasts were cooked to order and delicious. We ate there three nights and meals were lovely and also cooked to order. If in Perth give this excellent hotel a visit as it’s only a ten minute walk into town. Owners are so welcoming and courteous and couldn’t do enough for us. We will certainly be back in the near future

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank joanmilne248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunbankHosue, Owner at Sunbank House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2018

Hi Joan

Thank you for your kind review its very much appreciated. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future. It was a pleasure having you all to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews