We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely small hotel with great food and excellent value for money.”
Review of Huntingtower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Huntingtower Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely small hotel with great food and excellent value for money.”
Reviewed 2 February 2012

My wife and I booked this hotel very last minute for a wee getaway before new year.
The room rate was only £50 but we decided to go for breakfast as well so took the cost to £70 for the night.
The hotel is located within nice grounds and if the weather had been a bit drier then we would have gone for a walk around the surrounding country roads.
Upon arrival at reception we were greeted by a very nice female who checked us in and told us we would be staying in the honeymoon suite.....great surprise!!! The hotel seemed pretty quiet so this was a really unexpected bonus.
We also booked our table for dinner upon check in and were delighted we did so. The food in the hotel was outstanding. We sat in the bar before our meal and were given some lovely canapes as we had a glass of wine (another nice touch that made a difference). The menu in the restaurant was brilliant. The menu changes daily depending on what is fresh and in season and was prepared and presented to such a high standard. Pigeon, smoked salmon and venison were on the menu when we ate and all were excellent.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice night away and a great meal.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dougmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    500
    250
    70
    42
    32
See reviews for
183
426
16
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

This is a lovely quiet hotel just outside Perth, we had a very relaxing weekend - good spacious room and excellent food. Candle-lit dinner in the wood-panelled dining room was very romantic! Special mention to the staff who were all courteous, friendly and professional. Booked through easy-breaks.com for a very good deal (I'm a sucker for fluffy bathrobes).

Room Tip: Rooms to the right of reception are the newer bit and more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McTufty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We stayed here mid week for dinner bed and breakfast. Location - depends what you are looking for, the hotel is about 3 miles or so from Perth so not within walking distance if you are wanting to go into Perth in the evening for a drink etc. However, it is a lovely looking hotel in a rural location with nice gardens and friendly helpful staff.
Our room was in the main part of the building on the first floor. It was small (door brushed against the bed when it opened) and had water damage to the ceiling,- this looked recent and may have been a result of the recent storms, but it did look unsightly. In general the room was clean and comfortable but there were a couple of things that could be improved upon. There was no mirror above the dressing table for hair drying / straightening etc. There was a full length mirror at the bathroom door, but the light in this area was poor. The bathroom was large and clean, and had been recently updated but there was no shelf on which to place any of your toiletries, tooth brush etc.
We had a three course dinner which was was very good although choice was limited, with only one vegetarian choice and the dinning room was cold. Breakfast was also very good.
All in all we had a very pleasant night and would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gtdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forfar
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

The staff were very helpful and polite. I have stayed here before, on the other side of the hotel overlooking the fields and the bed in that room was excellent. Cannot say the same for room 205! It was hard and made noises everytime you moved! woke up with sore knees and back.

Food was good and the rest of my stay was good.

M.

Room Tip: Chose the side that overlooks the fields!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Lovely stay at this hotel. Staff very welcoming and friendly, Nothing was a problem for them. We had a lovely room on ground floor, large with sofa and chair, huge double bed. Room extremely clean. Food was 1st class, we had steaks which were the best we have ever had and cooked to absolute perfection. Breakfast the same excellent standard. There are lovely seating areas around reception which were nice to sit and read magazines with a coffee. Found no fault at all with this hotel, Would return for another stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linmurScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

My partner and i have stayed at this hotel twice now on business, and i cannot thank them enough ,the quality of the food, the excellant staff , both friendly and helpfull in all areas. The spotlessly clean rooms and beds with the crisp white linen.
This hotel is a old manor house in a beutifull, peacefull setting.
We WILL be returning

Room Tip: Go for the double room not the standard (more room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isola di Capo Rizzuto, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Stayed at this hotel a few weeks ago and were terribly disappointed. Very old, dingy & really in need of updating. The hotel did not smell very good & the rooms were not clean. Very strong mold smell. Food was totally inedible & very poor alcohol/beer/cocktail/wine selection. Were scheduled to stay 2 nights but checked out after the first night because we were so disappointed. No toilet paper in bathroom, no toiletries like all other hotels, left over food from previous guests in room. They really need to clean & update the rooms/food/bar. At least the service was fine but I cannot recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdcap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
4.8 km away
Premier Inn Perth City Centre Hotel
5.1 km away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#4 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
5.0 km away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#5 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Perth
5.8 km away
Sunbank House Hotel
Sunbank House Hotel
#6 of 18 in Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
4.8 km away
Parklands
Parklands
#11 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntingtower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntingtower Hotel

Property: Huntingtower Hotel
Address: Crieff Road, Perth PH1 3NZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Perth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#2 Family Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Huntingtower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Scottish welcome awaits you at Huntingtower Hotel, nestled in a quiet country neighbourhood setting, yet only minutes away from the city of Perth. Huntingtower Hotel is one of the friendliest country house hotels in Scotland, designed with your comfort in mind. Enjoy understated elegance and charm, individual and tasteful guest rooms, spacious and contrasting lounges and dining areas, award winning food and service, delightful gardens and grounds. A place where you can relax and feel completely at home. Whether your stay is for business or leisure, Huntingtower Hotel is the perfect choice to make your stay in Perth a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Hotel.de, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, HRS, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Huntingtower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Perth
Perth Best Western
Huntingtower Hotel Perth, UK - Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing