We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Doonbank Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Doonbank Cottage
Doonbank Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Doonbank Cottage
Doonbank Cottage
Twin room - with TV and DVD. Huge room!
Blue room - queen size bed
Kitchen with luxury double cooker and 6 rings
Living room with real fire
Bathroom - with jacuzzi bath and luxury shower
River Doon
Woodland
River Doon
Woodland
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Ayr, South Ayrshire, Ayrshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mark R
Ruthin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Idyllic cottage”
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This must be one of the most beautiful cottages in an ideal location in the country.

My wife, 3 dogs an myself had a fantastic time. The cottage had everything we could need including an emergency dog box.
The dogs run themselves tired in the woods and river and could not believe their luck.
The town is beautiful with many interesting places and walks.
The people are friendly and even when one dog cut his pad the local vet could not have been more helpful.
Iin all a great holiday and a place we will return too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely thatched cottage in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Really lovely cottage with all you could wish for. The setting is amazing with lovely walks down to the river. This was a family holiday for 5 adults and the cottage was roomy enough for us all including the extended family who dropped in one evening! We were attending family wedding at the Brigadoon Hotel mid-week and the position of the cottage made for easy access to the Hotel. A beautiful setting, secluded and yet within easy access of some lovely beaches etc.

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pretty thatched cottage in ideal location”
Reviewed 29 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We were glad to arrive at this pretty cottage after our long drive, it was lovely to be welcomed by you both, and what clean, dog friendly, comfortable and picturesque place it is. We had some beautiful walks down to the river bank with the dogs. Thank you for making our stay comfortable.

Mr and Mrs Munday

Value Cleanliness
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey S
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous Secluded Cottage”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Myself and my family stayed at Doonbank Cottage in September 2013 and loved every minute of it. There was plenty of room for our party of 4 adults with spacious, comfortable bedrooms and the large living room. We also loved the well stocked library. The best part was the secluded outside space though. We had several walks in the private woodland down to the banks of the River Doon and it's perfectly located for exploring the area even though we could quite happily have spent all our time in the grounds. We had such fabulous time that we didn't want to leave and we're already talking about our next trip back. W e wouldn't hesitate in recommending it anyone.

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew J
Cardiff
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“New year at doonbank cottage”
Reviewed 14 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We have just spent a wonderful week in this beautiful cottage and have already booked to go for Xmas and new year 2013. Everything was perfect from the cottage itself to the amazing grounds its situated in. We went in the winter and it was lovely so I should imagine the summer nights having a BBQ would be amazing. It's a must for dog owners my two boxers have never walked so much and there are loads of beaches close by to go for walks. If your lucky enough to rent the cottage when there's a horse racing meeting in Ayr I'd recommend a trip there it's only 5 mins in the car and of coarse Robbie burns cottage,museum and the famous brigadoon is literally a stones throw away. All in all if u get the chance to rent this cottage grasp it with two hands you won't regret it I promise

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie T
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“2nd visit and already booked the 3rd”
Reviewed 11 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012

Just returned from our second visit to this amazing place, we new what to expect this time and wasnt disappointed, we had to change our booking due to personal issues but Susan and Chris were very understanding and accomodating moving our holiday forward a week which left us less stressed.Visited a few different places this year, Croy beach was deserted (great for the dogs) also visited Stinchar Valley (definately recommend this one for stunning views) .
Roll on next November only 363 days to go.....and counting.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Your age range 35-49
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmofud
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great cottage!”
Reviewed 20 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a week at this cottage, we have had a relaxing break in the spacious yet cosy place.
The open fire in the evenings was lovely, the view in the garden of the river Doon is amazing.
Our three Jack Russell's had a great time in the garden and walking along the river.
I would recommend this cottage to anybody especially if you want to holiday with your dogs.
My only complaint is that we had to come home!!!

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$190
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing