We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming property in a great location”
other travellers have booked this property
'Tam O'Shanter' bedroom with magnificent four-poster bed and themed furnishings
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'Tam O'Shanter' bedroom with magnificent four-poster bed and themed furnishings
Live next door to Robbie Burns at this lovely cottage!  Beautiful Designer Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
'Tam O'Shanter' bedroom with magnificent four-poster bed and themed furnishings
Live next door to Robbie Burns at this lovely cottage!
Beautiful Designer Lounge
Spacious kitchen fully equipped with modern appliances
Luxurious bathroom fully tiled
Beautiful Lounge with French Doors to garden
Comfortable leather sofas to relax after hard day's enjoyment !
Beautiful Twin Bedroom with Patio Door to Garden
Tam O ' Shanter Cottage , 10 Alloway
Complimentary Bottle of Wine to encourage immediate 'Vacation Relaxation' on arrival !
A Relaxing Glass of Wine in the small private garden.
Tam O'Shanter races on his horse to escape the Witches and Demons ! !
Virtual Tour Available
The Beautiful 'Super King Size' 4 Poster Bed !
Modern Designer Kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ayr, South Ayrshire, Ayrshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
coalpoint...
newcastlensw
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Charming property in a great location”
Reviewed 11 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My wife and I stayed here for 6 nights as part of a 5 week UK holiday. We found the cottage was pretty much exactly as described, and thoroughly enjoyed it. The location is superb - practically adjacent to Burns' Cottage and with some pleasant walks nearby, and also an excellent looking network of cycle paths (that we didn't try). The shower-over-bath (high sided) took a few moments of acclimatization but was actually a really nice shower. We only used the main bedroom - bed was very comfortable (and king size?). Minor niggle was we couldn't find kitchen scissors or bottle opener and fridge had one door-shelf broken, but these were very minor. Outside patio looked nice but weather was a bit rainy so we didn't use it. Wi fi was great. Although we didn't meet Rhona she was very helpful and easy to deal with by email/phone. Some may find parking a little remote, but we parked each night in the facing or side street - about 100m or less from the front door, and, despite the double yellow lines we stopped at the front door without any issues when loading luggage or shopping.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Kitchen (but we knew in advance it was small)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela F
Bicester, Oxfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Cottage”
Reviewed 12 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful cottage could not fault anything at all, definitely stay there again if we come to Ayr, highly recommend.
The bathroom is not suitable for elderly people as it is high up, my mother coped but it was a struggle. it would be better if it was a walk in shower, instructions on how to operate the washing machine would be a good idea,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: bathroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abracadab...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The cottage has great charm, and the location is fantastic for young families - the beach, Burn's cottage and the museum, Belleisle park, and the Heads of Ayr Farm park are all very close, and the local shops in Alloway are lovely. For us, we were struck by the friendliness we encountered - from the owners, from everyone in Alloway, and from the people of Dunure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeeTeeEm
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great location, comfortable but shower bath awkward.”
Reviewed 27 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This ground floor flat is in a great location, close to Burns's Cottage in Alloway and with good local shops and a cafe virtually across the road. The double bed was most comfortable but we did not use and cannot comment on the twin beds in the second bedroom. The lounge/kitchen/dining-room was comfortable and well furnished and the wi-fi most useful. The only significant negative is the awkward entry/exit to the shower bath. It was a minor nuisance for us but could be a real problem for anyone with restricted mobility. The garden area is very narrow and the patio is in shade until later afternoon.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainDog65
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 4 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We would echo the previous positive reviews about the apartment. We also found the WiFi was fine for our purposes (which included web conferencing).
Located close to a Convenience store (/Post Office), a Chemist and a great little Cafe. Only a 20 minutes walk from the beach with Ayr less than a 10 minute drive.
We found both Ayr and Alloway had a relaxed, friendly vibe.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“spacious accomodation”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

looks exactly like the photo's. needs a few maintenance things done cracked floor tiles in toilet. no wine or tea/coffee sachets unlike other 4 star accommodation, on the plus side they have everthing else in the accommodation.the bath although lovely isn't easy to access so not for the unfit or elderly

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the large bed is fantastic
Liked least: cracked floor tiles in bathroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mazy1962
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant cottage.”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This is an amazing cottage with all you could possible need ,it is so close to any where you would want to go to.
The four poster bed id divine and would recommend this cottage to any one who is looking foe a holiday in AYR.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$129
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing