We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Weekend Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chestnuts Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ayr
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Chestnuts Hotel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Falkirk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Weekend Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed Friday and Sataurday night, enjoyed two lovely meals in nice surroundings, rooms were clean and tidy, bathroom was a bit small but the shower was powerfull and in good working order. The hotel was well situated and had easy access into Ayr town centre either by car or local buses. I would definately stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: There were delux rooms rooms available, but we just had a standard double room £80 per night. ** Not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RangerFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    66
    8
    7
    3
See reviews for
101
93
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed for two nights at the Chestnut Hotel as part of a working trip in the area, and will stay there again if ever we return to the region. Our single rooms were small but well-kept and more than adequate, and the hotel itself was very picturesque. What really makes it stand out was the staff who together were bending over backwards to do all that they could for us, while the restaurant and bar were excellent, to the extent that we did not eat elsewhere during our stay as we more than happily worked through the menu!
A real gem!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

The hotel is really easy to find and pulling into the driveway of The Chestnuts we were very impressed with the building and wonderfully maintained garden so it was disappointing to find our bedroom was quite average.

The bathroom was a lovely tiled, modern room but the shower was unusable. There is a sign up saying it will take 5 minutes to heat up but wait as long as you like - it's just a trickle. The bath takes over 20 minutes to fill but luckily we were there on a relaxing break so weren't in a rush. I will say if you are hoping for a lay in you aren't going to get one due to doors slamming all the time but i'm sure that was just unthoughtful guests, not staff.

We were only there for the weekend so just needed a place to stay really and it did the job, we didn't have time to try out the restaurant which was a shame as it looked really popular!

Room service came each day and changed our towels and bedding and hoovered etc, they even topped up our tea/coffee/milk and biscuits although the cobwebs behind the door which were there when we arrived were still there when we left.

The staff who we spoke to were all very nice. There is always someone at reception so if you need to go in or out at any time of the night there is no problem.

The hotel is in a great location, a few minutes drive into town and the beach is walkable although if you jump in the car there is free parking at the seafront, the beach at Ayr is beautiful!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KayGregs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scawby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

We spent four nights at The Chestnuts hotel and would not go back. There seems to an air of arrogance and smugness in that the attitude is one of 'we are doing you a favour letting you stay'. There is a complacency about the accommodation which is below the standard I am happy to pay £80 a night for. The beds were old and uncomfortable, the carpet was stained with spills, the decor was not well maintained, the bathroom smelled damp, the bathroom door was a poorly fitting makeshift affair which you couldn't shut and made noises when opened, the fire instructions for evacuation were unclear and faded. The hotel seems to be stuck in a time warp and are happy to take customers money with no effort made to improve standards. I have stayed in much better bed and breakfast accommodation for less. That said, the staff were pleasant and the breakfast was reasonable. The Chestnuts Hotel needs to do better to attract visitors to Ayr and Scotland in general.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nick m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

I travelled with three friends for a weekend's golf at the beautifully indescribable Turnberry Golf Links. This was our sixth year of making this trip and, as in each previous year, we stayed at Chestnuts, only a short drive from Turnberry.
Chestnuts never fails to impress. The welcoming staff are consistently friendly without being intrusive; they're there when you need them, and not when you don't. The food, whether in the restaurant or in the bar, is excellent; Cullen Skink, haggis,neeps and tatties, exude the quality and heart of Ayrshire, whilst Thai fish cakes, Steak pie or mango chicken typify a versitility and range that does not come at the expense of quality.
The bar is stocked with an amazing array of Scotch Whisky, local ale and an impressive wine list. Chestnuts is only a short walk from the beach and an even shorter taxi ride from the birthplace of the Bard of Ayrshire, Rabbie Burns; there is also a Burns Visitor Centre which is well worth a visit.
All in all a golfing weekend at Turnberry is a very special experience, but tying it with a stay at Chestnuts seems to compliment the whole experience of 'drinking in' this beautiful part of Scotland. For those with an equine flair Ayr Racecourse is only across the road.
We'll look forward to next year, when back in Chestnuts we can discuss the finer points of single malts with Stuart, our night time host, way into the wee small hours. Thanks to all at Chestnuts - well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Talk to Grant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

I eat at Chesnuts often and have never once been disappointed. The food is phenomenal and service is outstanding. I have to recommend the steak pie, it's like no other! If I could afford to eat here every night, I would! Top marks!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank samperz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West Scotland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

My husband took me here for a meal prior to going on holiday, the atmosphere was great and a lovely big fire glowing, the meal was delicious and catered for all tastes. The menu is varied and the food comes piping hot and lots of it.

Its always very busy and that says a lot about a place.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Solusmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayr hotels
0.6 km away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 18 in Ayr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
2.3 km away
Western House Hotel
0.9 km away
Fairfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Carrick Lodge Hotel
1.1 km away
Ayrshire & Galloway Hotel
1.0 km away
Hotel Kylestrome Bar & Grill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chestnuts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chestnuts Hotel

Property: The Chestnuts Hotel
Address: 52 Racecourse Road, Ayr KA7 2UZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ayr
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
#6 Business Hotel in Ayr
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely family run hotel with 14 en-suite rooms. Freeview / tea & coffee making facilities. Open from 10am serving coffees and Home Baking till 11.30Am...Lunches from 12-4.30Pm, Suppers from 5-9pm. Superb home-cooked food served in the Bar, Restaurant and Beer Garden. BT Sports in the Bar. Selection of Real Ales and Malt Whiskies. Walking distance from Beach, Town Centre, Parks and Golf courses. In the Heart of Burns' Country. Special Rates for Golf Parties. Selection of Supper dishes at a Special rate of £7.95 Between 5pm and 6.30Pm. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chestnuts Hotel Ayr
The Chestnuts Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing