We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“lovely”
other travellers have booked this property
The house has a huge private garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house has a huge private garden
The beautiful sea view from the garden Kitchen with all mod cons.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
The house has a huge private garden
The beautiful sea view from the garden
Kitchen with all mod cons.
Dining table is extendable.
Modern, stylish lounge.
Master bedroom has an en suite.
Twin bedroom 1.
Twin bedroom 2.
Garden furniture on the decking.
View from the lounge patio doors.
Spacious barbecue area.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Ayr, South Ayrshire, Ayrshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lorna s
Leyburn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“lovely”
Reviewed November 9, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Just spent a lovely night here with a group of friends, lovely house so big! Super garden with river at the bottom. Only problem was we couldn't find remote control for DVD player.
Hope to come back again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
its_hils
1 review
“Great Stay!”
Reviewed September 16, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

What an amazing place!! The photographs do not give this accommodation justice. It is HUGE and in such beautiful surroundings. The space was plentiful, decore was beautiful and I was so blown over by the location.
Claire is so accommodating and helpful and had everything we could need.
I would recommend staying here especially as a large group or family. It blew us all away.
Thank you Claire!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M
1 review
“Doonside,a great place to stay.”
Reviewed September 12, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The property is furnished to a very high standard with lots of room and space.Facilities within the property from the cooker to the music system are all excellent.Massive garden...would be great for kids or in our case big adult kids....River runs by the property at the side of the garden.A short walk to the beach or into town.Shop only steps away that is open from dawn to dusk.A few resturaunts close by (only a short walk) where you can have breakfast,lunch or dinner.All in all I would recommend this property to anyone whether it is a family stay or a group of adults.So confident that we are already thinking about going back and we have only been home 5 minutes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property was even better than we expected.
Liked least: Cant fault anything.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arthurman...
1 review
“Ideal Golfing base for party of seven golfers”
Reviewed September 11, 2014 for a stay in July 2013

Excellent house within easy distance of numerous Ayr and Troon golf courses. The house was immaculately presented and was clean and tidy on arrival and a basket of goodies was much appreciated. We have a number of preferred locations for our golf weeks and Doonside is definitely now on our list. Finally great location for a number of pubs and restaurants within walking distance and on a bus route into central Ayr. Hoping to visit again in 2015.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunvalley...
Armadale, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Words cannot describe this wonderful house.”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here during the National Bowls Championship. The house was well equipped and very clean. Lovely garden with the river a running to the side off the house.
I am about to book for next year. Only negative is a couple of doors could do with repair to the handles, however with people staying all the time it is sometimes difficult to keep on top off small details

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely house but dirty”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We staied for one week at doonside. The house is really nice but we were very disappointed to find it dirty. The cleaning has not been done before we came! Dust everywhere, little beast on the carpets of all the bedrooms upstairs, mouldy meat in the oven, Dishes, plates ... Completely dirty.... For this price, the house should be in perfect condition.
The garden is beautiful but not closed along the river. So this is quite dangerous with young children...

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2014
We were very disappointed to receive this review. The house had been cleaned to its usual high standard before the guest arrived. We are unable to respond to specific issues as the guest did not take photographs to show us. As soon as we learned of her concerns, we attended the house, apologised profusely and offered a £50 gift card for a local restaurant as an apology. She refused this and asked for more money. We offered her £100 cash compensation, which she accepted. Before she vacated the house, she left a soiled nappy in every room. We would like to assure all future guests that the house is cleaned thoroughly before each new group arrives.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane46201...
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Brilliant for large groups”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We were in Ayr at family wedding and this place was brilliant. 5 bathroom just what you need with 16 people. Garden is amazing !
- my 82 year old father didn't want to come home. Everything you need and just in case you have forgotton something Spar shop practically next door. Don't be put off by frontage the majic is inside and out back.
Easy flat walk onto prom and into Ayr. Would love to come back :)

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing