We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (800)
Filter reviews
800 results
Traveller rating
165
249
217
106
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
165
249
217
106
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa facilities sea view coffee machine central location buffet style good size bit dated town centre great weekend sea front night break my mum a lovely stay cooked breakfast jacuzzi receptionist seafront
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 800 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2018

ROOM: Single open wardrobe for 2 people
No draw space
5 open shelves four of which were only about 18" wide
ALARM SWITCH ADJACENT to LIGHT SWITCH (side of the bed ) impossible
to decide which was which in the dark
We had to request the daily room service 66% of our stay
SERVICE AND STAFF . Polite and helpful
FOOD:; Average no problems with breakfast. except for a pile of burnt toast and instructions not to adjust toaster
On the whole we had a pleasant stay and with a few improvements on management
it could have been value for money

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lillijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2018 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel while my partner was on a business trip. Great location - only a 5 minute walk into town and directly opposite the excellent Saffy’s cafe and bar. Hotel lobby wasn’t too bad, but the room was dismal. Tired and old, it has certainly seen better days. Part of the bed head was hanging off and an attempt had been made to reattach it with blue tac. The bathroom was disgusting - mould on the walls and ceiling, the skirting under the sink was lifting, and bizarrely, there was a bottle opener on the wall in the bathroom. The place was certainly not up to our standards of cleanliness. The corridor also stank of cigarette smoke. Breakfast was poor. Food was not replenished and it had been sitting there for some time. No bread, no eggs on the second day we were there.

Never again.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank donnarN782VW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2018 via mobile

We stayed for two nights on an itison deal. First impressions were not bad, large hotel with a fairly small car park. Got checked in and went to the room. Nice aired room with two twin beds put together so one big bed. Tea and coffee facilities provided too. Receptionist was friendly and very informative. We then wanted a drink in the bar and to play pool. There was no one working the bar when we arrived and took them 20 minutes to see to us. That was even with asking reception. Eventually got our drinks and the person on the bar seemed rushed off his feet. Only one pool cue that worked and no chalk provided. There was no hairdryer in the room so phoned reception to ask for one. To be told they’d ask for me. 15 minutes later went down to reception to ask for a hairdryer, several phone calls to other staff later no hairdryer provided as there was no “night meet” on. Eventually got a hairdryer after 25 minutes of waiting. Shower in the room took a bit of time to regulate the temperature. Had dinner provided on the first night with £22 allowance. Both of us had a starter and main which was good. They substituted our bottle of wine for two other drinks which was good. Quick service. Walls are quite thin so both nights we struggled to sleep due to noisy neighbours. Well decorated hotel with good advertising for Steven brown art. Had breakfast both mornings which was a hot buffet and continental - very tasty. Checking out wasn’t an issue although the receptionist on Sunday didn’t really seeem interested. Overall we had a nice stay in the hotel but the lack of staff and speediness of staff definitely was an issue and also the noisy neighbours didn’t help.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nikki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2018

Stayed in hotel over Saturday/Sunday. We accidentally left 2 iPhones chargers in room. My wife callled and the receptionist would not take her phone number to call her back.she was told to call back tomorrow. The second day different receptionist took our number - still waiting for a phone call.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
3  Thank Explorer214218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2018 via mobile

Travelling on business, the hotel is ideally sited in the centre of Ayr only a short distance from the sea. The top floors can benefit from either sea or car park views.
Staff were professional and attentive at all times.
The hotel is well maintained but suffers from tired utilities and desperately needs an uplift.
I paid over £100 for the night and wouldn’t say it was value for money.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
4  Thank WorcesterRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews