We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveller rating
147
47
13
11
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
147
47
13
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews costley group furnished to a high standard birthday lunch lovely meal two courses cullen skink stayed one night first class well worth a visit attending a wedding town centre suite ayrshire
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 222 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2017 via mobile

Visited last night in party of 9 for family meal, the quality and service of this once great establishment has dropped significantly, have suffered stomach cramps all night after being served under cooked chicken. So the food was not acceptable but the service was equally bad taking three hours to serve two courses including a 45 minute wait after main was finished before server arrived who clearly couldn't be bothered offering the sweet menu - we forced a few coffees out of them. Summary not good enough and when so many better competitors in the area it's obvious why it is so quiet.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank g1988seevices12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2017

Celebrated a 50th birthday at the Ellisland hotel & the manager Andrew & his staff provided a 1st class service & we could fault nothing. We were in the private dining room which was very nice & thus allowed our party of 12 to have privacy & enjoy our evening. Everything was very good & Andrew could not have done any more to make our evening any better. The food & standard of service was excellent & I would definately recommend the Ellisland hotel for celebrating a special occasion. The Costley chain of hotels in South Ayrshire are all excellent & I would recommend them all. if you enjoy good food, excellent wines in premises that are of a very high standard then the Ellisland Hotel in Ayr ticks all the boxes.....

Room tip: Did not stay only had food.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cactos-amigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2017 via mobile

Had a lovely relaxing week end here with family group of adults. Staff were delightful and really helpful. Rooms were comfortable and inviting. The restaurant was outstanding. Have always enjoyed the Costley cuisine and this did not disappoint. Had dinner both evenings and lunch on our final day. Everything was amazing. Breakfast was pretty good too with 'proper' potato scones. Will definitely be back

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank MerleD_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2017 via mobile

Don't know where to start except to say brilliant from start to finish. Called in on off chance to get a table on a saturday night. Front of house couldn't be more helpful to accomodate us. Fabulous food & reasonably priced. 4 of us had 3 course meal + cocktail for me & all for under £100. Will definitely call again for food & want to try out accomodation. Definitely recommend for families or adults only

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank lynnf04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 2, 2017

Spent a lovely weekend catching up with family at this very comfortable hotel, which is within easy walking distance of the sea front and town centre. This is a beautifully renovated old house with large rooms, furnished in keeping with the style of the building. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. We had dinner in the restaurant both nights and Sunday lunch before we left, there is an extensive menu and everyone thoroughly enjoyed every meal, the roast beef and haggis and neeps on Sunday were especially good. Would definitely return next time we visit Ayr.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank zzzzzzzLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews