We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveller rating
149
47
14
12
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
149
47
14
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews costley group furnished to a high standard birthday lunch lovely meal two courses cullen skink stayed one night first class well worth a visit attending a wedding town centre suite ayrshire
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 226 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2017

Stopped for lunch on a very wet day. The garden still looked beautiful.Clean, attractive, traditional country house decor, excellent food and service. Very varied menu with good choices. One small mistake turned into a very graceful apology and even better service!! Hope to go there again on a sunny day

Date of stay: April 2017
Thank lakethistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 24, 2017 via mobile

Booked lunch for 6 people (adults).

Quality of food was 1st class, surroundings were beautiful, decor very elegant.
The 2 issues we had were that when we took our seats we noticed that the glasses on the table were dirty with fingerprints and residue, So the tableserver replaced them with clean glasses (not a great start), the 2nd issue was that the table service was very slow, seemed to take an eternity from ordering and actually being served food. There appeared to be a number of staff on duty but for some reason it was very slow service.
On the whole, we enjoyed the Ellisland Hotel experience and would more than likely return in the future, but I would hope that the table service would be a wee bit quicker by that time.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Poodle38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 17, 2017

A lovely comfortabel hotel - and we got wall to wall sunshine for the 2 days we stayed !
A beautiful flower bedded outside terrace area for drinks and lunch - excellent. Our room was at the rear of the property but quiet and comfortable. Large room and en-suite bathroom and very comfortable. Can not fault the staff and breakfast was immense, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs were terrific.

Room tip: maybe ask for room to front of property
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ptonner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2017 via mobile

Visited last night in party of 9 for family meal, the quality and service of this once great establishment has dropped significantly, have suffered stomach cramps all night after being served under cooked chicken. So the food was not acceptable but the service was equally bad taking three hours to serve two courses including a 45 minute wait after main was finished before server arrived who clearly couldn't be bothered offering the sweet menu - we forced a few coffees out of them. Summary not good enough and when so many better competitors in the area it's obvious why it is so quiet.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank g1988seevices12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2017

Celebrated a 50th birthday at the Ellisland hotel & the manager Andrew & his staff provided a 1st class service & we could fault nothing. We were in the private dining room which was very nice & thus allowed our party of 12 to have privacy & enjoy our evening. Everything was very good & Andrew could not have done any more to make our evening any better. The food & standard of service was excellent & I would definately recommend the Ellisland hotel for celebrating a special occasion. The Costley chain of hotels in South Ayrshire are all excellent & I would recommend them all. if you enjoy good food, excellent wines in premises that are of a very high standard then the Ellisland Hotel in Ayr ticks all the boxes.....

Room tip: Did not stay only had food.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cactos-amigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews