We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage in an amazing location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ayr, South Ayrshire, Ayrshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
julialap8...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage in an amazing location”
Reviewed 25 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My friends and I had a wonderful stay here. The cottage is perfectly equipped and the surroundings are beautiful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2017
Thanks for your lovely review. We hope to meet you in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
klambie91
West Lothian, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing break”
Reviewed 22 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

What a wonderful place, and hosts, scenery, hot tub, BBQ, camp fire, relaxing family memories made! Personal touches were wonderful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2017
Thanks o much for your wonderful review, great guests, great holiday look forward to your next one
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGWB11
Angus, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“awwwwww the most beautiful, relaxing and peaceful holiday!! :)))))”
Reviewed 25 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

After a long drive and a bit of 'getting lost' we eventually found ourselves turning off the wee road past the sign for 'Martnaham' down an even wee-er road of magnificent jungle-like greenery and flowers. We craned our necks as we drove slowly passed a large white house, and there, nestled beautifully between trees and loch, was our cottage for the week.

"Is that all for us? The whole thing?" asked my hubby with a very surprised tone. The cottage did not disappoint on any level, and neither did the surroundings. It was even more peaceful and picturesque than the internet had portrayed. Much more.

We had a look round before being greeted by the hosts, Diane and William - who are wonderful - and when I saw the size of the hot tub, my heart leapt a little! It is a very generous 6-seater and we used it almost every evening. The cottage is very spacious, warm and had everything we needed. When we realised there was no internet connection, we were able to breathe a sigh of relief!

There was a welcome basket awaiting us, which included honey from the bees on the estate and eggs from their free-range chickens (both of which you could buy extra of if you wished).

As others have said, a VERY peaceful, tranquil and beautiful setting that seemed to stretch on and on and keep on giving, from the nature-steeped setting to the hot tub; the table tennis and fire pit to Troll Trail! And, of course, the chickens who came to visit throughout the day and every evening, which our toddler absolutely adored! Not forgetting Diane and William's two dogs, Gem and Mirren.

We were blessed with a mini heatwave which was the icing on the cake. A superb break in a beautiful part of the country. We are still thinking about it several days later and hope to return. Would recommend to anyone looking for a relaxing break in stunning surroundings. Thank you Diane and William, you couldn't have been better hosts - you have created a very unique and inspiring holiday home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2017
Thank you so so much for your wonderful review. We hope to see you again soon.
Diane and William
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adrianbon...
Wellington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely the most relaxing stay ever!”
Reviewed 13 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

An absolute hidden gem, this was a truly wonderful holiday! We were welcomed with an anniversary card and chilled bottle of prosecco! William and Diane are so friendly and welcoming with tips and recommendations for places to visit and eat and drink. Everything you could need is here from a hot tub to a fire pit to toast provided marshmallows!
The view of the loch 15 metres in front of the lodge as you open your curtains in the morning just sucks all stresses away, we have spent a week of relaxation combined with exploring the beautiful Ayrshire countryside. If you are reading this then just book! You wont regret it I promise.
(We will be back!!!)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2017
We are absolutely thrilled that you have had such a wonderful break for your wedding anniversary. Thanks for the wonderful review. We hope to see you again soon. Diane and William
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie W
1 review
“what an amazing place every thing you need and more”
Reviewed 30 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

this is the best holiday cottage i have stayed in the scenery is amazing so tranquil you just relax and melt into it as you sit and watch all the different birds on the loch,the hot tub that can take six people is right beside the cottage,the cottage is beautifully furnished with all you need and lovely comfy beds,BEST PLACE EVER.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2017
Connie thanks so much for your wonderful review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday with us. Look forward to seeing you soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena B
Hampshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect, cosy cottage in stunning surroundings.”
Reviewed 20 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed at Swan Bothy over the Easter weekend and we had the most perfect time. The cottage was beautiful and the views were stunning. The hot tub topped it off perfectly. The cottage was spotlessly clean and it was so cosy with the log fire. The bottle of prosecco, fresh free range eggs and honey on arrival were also most welcomed after a long drive and were a lovely added touch. We will most definitely be staying here again when we next visit Ayr later in the year. Thank you again Diane and see you again soon x

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2017
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I am pleased you had a wonderful time and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Thanks Diane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2017 for a stay in October 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Jan 2017
Thanks so much for your wonderful review. We look forward to welcoming you all soon.
Diane & William
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$160
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing