We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Sept16 - Beautiful little cottage!”
other travellers have booked this property
Soak up the views from the outdoor seating area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Soak up the views from the outdoor seating area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Soak up the views from the outdoor seating area
Newly refitted kitchen December 2013
Kestrel and Buzzard cottage
From the lounge to the kitchen
Arran Aromatics for all guests
From the dining room to the outdoors
The wood burner - Oh so cosy after a day in the hills!
Fantastic Hikes
Springtime at Kestrel cottage
The Lake of Menteith from the Nether Glenny Estate
Take a hike here from Kestrel's front door
Walk to Loch Venachar from your cottage door.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Charlotte...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sept16 - Beautiful little cottage!”
Reviewed September 22, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Really enjoyed our short stay at Kestrel cottage - just wish we could have stayed longer! The cottage is everything you need for a little getaway in such a peaceful area. The views are amazing, loved being able to see the lake and the mountains. The log burner is a lovely feature, though we only made us of it on one night as the cottage was lovely and cosy without it. We also loved the blankets provided, very thoughtful touch as we love cosying up in the evenings! The bath is a must use after a long day walking!

The owners, Allison & Matthew, were there to great us on arrival and made sure we had everything we needed. The handy guides and recommendations for the area came in useful - we would also recommend the Forth Inn for food! Harris the Cat also paid us a little visit, keep an eye out for this cheeky chappy!

Overall a lovely cottage and will definitely be back again! Thank you Allison and Matthew for a delightful stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Log burner,
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happyramb...
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautifully located cottage in the Trossachs”
Reviewed July 5, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Kestrel Cottage is situated 1km up a quiet lane overlooking the beautiful Lake of Menteith. The cottage was well-equipped, comfortable and very peaceful. The discrete owners live nearby and were helpful and friendly. The location is excellent for exploring the Trossachs and Loch Lomond. Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnandra...
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming cottage with fantastic views.”
Reviewed June 16, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

If you are looking for a quiet, rural and romantic place to stay look no further. Well furnished and comfortable cottage, (although bed a little firm for our liking), and bathrobes added to the relaxing stay. Owners at hand if needed but not intrusive. Lots of local brochure information in the cottage to visit and walk the local area. Well sited for visits to the Trossachs, Falkirk (Wheel and Kelpies), Glasgow and Stirling.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2016
Hello John and Rachel, Thank you for your review and useful recommendations ( Falkirk Wheel and the lovely Kelpies ) I am pleased to hear that you found the welcome book helpful. Sorry to hear that you found the bed a little firm, and as I am sure that you can imagine, it's really tricky to get it right for everyone so we have opted for a medium / firm mattress with a nice topper. Best wishes from both of us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross T
1 review
“Incredible All Round”
Reviewed February 13, 2016 for a stay in October 2015

This was the most beautiful place to stay with such magnificent views for miles and miles.
There is no doubt I'll come and stay again.
We arrived late at night and were greeted by the owners who were extremely friendly and helpful. we got a good nights sleep and when we woke up, we were stunned by the views.
It was amazing seeing across the lake and being surrounded by so much wildlife.
We spent most evenings cooking and making total use of the log burner which was fantastic.

I can't recommend this place enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Log Burner
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2016
Hello Ross, Thank you very much for this fantastic review. I am delighted to hear that you would like to return to Nether Glenny and we will be very happy to welcome you again. I love your comments about the views and wildlife. The wood burner is a great feature of Kestrel and I am glad that you made the most of it in your evenings. We offer short breaks throughout the year out with the high season weeks, so please do visit us again.Best wishes from both Matthew and I.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion M
1 review
“Peaceful”
Reviewed September 11, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Cottage is exactly as advertised. Very welcoming, relaxing and clean accommodation. Central for exploring and visiting the surroubding area. View from cottage is stunning. Weather was fab so took advantage of the patio - not a Peacefulpsound apart from the birds. Bliss!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Electrat
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage with stunning views”
Reviewed April 20, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We have had the most wonderful week in Kestrel cottage having our meals overlooking the Lake of Mentieth. It is an ideal spot for walking in the Trossachs national park and we made the most of the good weather and did lots of exploring. Alison and Matthew were very welcoming and could not do enough for us. The cottage is well equipped and has been recently and stylishly refurbished. Even fluffy bath robes are laid on! We look forward to going back to bag some more Munros very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position, our hosts and the cottage itself
Liked least: A couple of table lamps in the living might be nice but not essential
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2015
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review kestrel cottage. Throughout your week, both Matthew and I enjoyed hearing about your hikes up the Trossach Bens. Very pleased also to read that you enjoyed Kestrel so and appreciated the refurbishments. This makes us very content. We would be absolutely delighted to welcome you both back one day to carry on your Trossachs Adventure! Best wishes for now, Alison and Matthew.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy_l_cun...
1 review
“Wonderful views, perfect location and clean and cosy cottage”
Reviewed November 15, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

My partner and I absolutely loved our stay here. The cottage was in great condition, clean tidy and very charming. The views from the conservatory/dining room and living room were so beautiful and the little extra touches throughout made it welcoming and homely. Alison was very helpful and friendly and we would most definitely come back and recommend it to anyone that will listen. Wonderful.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for your excellent feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed the beautiful views. We hope to welcome you back to Nether Glenny one day. Best wishes, Alison and Matthew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing