We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Sundown Cottage is the perfect 10; the only...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sundown Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sundown Cottage, Achmore, Isle of Lewis View from the Sundown Cottage .. 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Sundown Cottage, Achmore, Isle of Lewis
View from the Sundown Cottage .. 1
Dining/living area....
Kitchen View 1
Kitchen View 2
Callanish 2:  10 minutes drive from the Cottage
Callanish 1: 10 minutes drive from the cottage
Local Kayaking ... from one of the many beaches on the Island.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
properwor...
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
“Sundown Cottage is the perfect 10; the only negative is that we had to leave!”
Reviewed 5 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Without question, our time at Sundown Cottage was the highlight of our Scottish vacation...and that is saying a lot! The venue was breath taking; the accommodation was magnificent -- perfectly located, modern, extraordinarily equipped, cozy and yet spacious, felt like home. Space for each of us when we needed privacy, and comfortable "family" space as well. Christine, who met us on arrival, exuded Hebridean hospitality and warmth and made us feel welcome from the moment we walked in the door. And she was generous and thoughtful with provision, If Sundown and Achmore weren't so far from home (Virginia in the the US), we would book the cottage for a month every year. What a jewel!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, quality of accommodation(the cottage was a showplace) and ...well, everything, frankly!
Liked least: There was no
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Revs21
United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage, fantastic views, brilliant hosts, seriously impressed.”
Reviewed 12 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This place is fantastic, great location for exploring Harris and Lewis. A lovely wooden cottage, full of home comforts. The view is amazing, layer after layer of hills abound, all of which can be viewed from inside the cottage, or from the picnic table outside.

To top it off the hosts have thought of everything you may need for your stay here, plus extra homely touches such as fresh flowers, plenty of wood to enjoy the stove on an evening, candles and an array of welcome goodies for you to enjoy. We were very impressed by such hospitality. Christine was also flexible (Sept= shoulder season) to kindly meet our request for only 5 nights stay as we spent 2 nights on Uist cycling Barra+Vatersay.

We stayed in the 3 bedroomed cottage, clean, comfortable, relaxing. You are provided with a range of kitchen equipment, for those who like to cook, which I did every evening. The bathrooms have great showers and the bath was a welcome feature after a day walking/biking. There are plenty of towels, bedding and beds very comfortable. There are also washing/drying facilities, and a dishwasher which we did use. The WiFi proved very useful for planning our activities and general leisure time. We rediscovered radio programs (BBC Scotlands Get it On - 6-8pm) and didn't use the TV, although there was one. Just listened to music enjoying a drink every eve enjoying looking at the Mountains.

Any negatives? Not really, but if forced, some may find the location is a little north for day trips to the Harris Mountains (40 mins but it didn't stop us we went 3 out of 4 days), but it's great for the west beaches, stone circles and North Lewis, however since there's no traffic anywhere & the roads are very good so the driving was relaxed and easy, esp. when enjoying the views of the Harris Mountains.

We wish we could just stay here another week, so sorry our holiday is over and we have to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The host, facilities and views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamanthaE...
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Awesome Hebridean Hospitality”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We were lucky enough to stay at Sundown Cottage for our summer holiday last week and were wowed by the Hebridean hospality shown to us by Christine and Calum, the owners of the cottage, who left us with everything we would need to start us off. This was especially important as we didnt realise that most shops are closed here on a Sunday. although we did find that local petrol stations were a Godsend - they sell anything from homemade steak pies to fishing boats!
The cottage itself was lovely, furnished to a high quality and the views are stunning. The photographs dont really do it justice which is a good thing and was a pleasant surprise to find the place even better than the pictures! It has such a nice feel about the place and is obviously well loved.
Lewis and Harris has so much to offer anybody who likes to explore in the car, on foot or on bikes like us. We had a great time, Sundown was a great base to explore and we would wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2014
Many thanks for your kind review. Christine & CA
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine...
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“amazing place to stay if visiting the Hebrides”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Sundown cottage has to be one of the nicest self catering cottages to stay in, Christine has thought of everything to make make your stay one of the best. The views are breath taking, the cottage is ideally located to get out and about, and its so nice to come home to after a day out to a warm log fire.
The cottage is well stocked, the kitchen has all good quality appliances and Christine evens leaves you a welcome gift which was so nice.
If you are looking for a cottage that has it all then Sundown is the one!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: leaving it
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2014
Thank you very much Lorraine for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you again should you wish to return in the future and happy to help with anything you might need to make your stay even more comfortable. Christine & CA
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countrypu...
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage in stunning location, friendly and welcoming owners”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Stayed here for a few days with my partner, gorgeous location with spectacular views. Christine and Callum have us a lovely welcome with some Easter goodies and wood burning stove was lovely after a day travelling around.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you again should you wish to return in the future and happy to help with anything you might need to make your stay even more comfortable. Christine & CA
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gbhic
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay! Lovely house!”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Visited the Isle of Lewis in March 2014. Callum and Christine were very accommodating and helpful hosts. House is perfectly located for visiting the Island and has everything you need. Not too far from Stornoway but far enough to feel like you are 'getting away from it all'. Couldn't fault a thing, extremely comfortable accommodation. The weather was great but the nights were cold so the new fireplace made the house cosy. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again or to recommend Sundown Cottage to anyone. Thanks Christine and Callum!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you again should you wish to return in the future and happy to help with anything you might need to make your stay even more comfortable. Christine & CA
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulSaund...
Newburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location and wonderfully equipped”
Reviewed 9 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Calum and Christine were very friendly and helpful. The cottage did not lack for anything. Weather wasn't on our side but it didn't matter one bit. Central location was great for exploring Lewis and Harris. Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you again should you wish to return in the future and happy to help with anything you might need to make your stay even more comfortable. Christine & CA
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$126
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing