We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Beautiful

Calgary Bay is beautiful even on a wet damp day, a must visit if on the Isle of Mull. White sands a... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
veggielassie
,
West Central Scotland
via mobile
Amazing Place

Have been here a few times now on a day visit but managed to camp over for one night, its busy in... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
CliveW1
,
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Read all 585 reviews
  
Reviews (585)
Filter reviews
542 results
Traveller rating
395
126
14
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
395
126
14
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful beach white sand car park wild camping camping area public toilets rock pools crystal clear water toilet block single track sunny day art gallery north side well worth the effort sculpture trail low tide tea room
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 542 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Calgary Bay is beautiful even on a wet damp day, a must visit if on the Isle of Mull. White sands a beautiful cabin and clear sea, gorgeous!

Thank veggielassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Have been here a few times now on a day visit but managed to camp over for one night, its busy in summer but it beautiful so it draws the day visitors and the campers too

Thank CliveW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Really enjoyed the walk along the bay, beautiful views..... don't forget to take your binoculars for the wildlife. Park at the facilities or up at the Gallery a short walk away.We combined the two enjoying the creative sculptures on the walk. We missed the cafe due to being end of season but they supply self-service hot drinks and snacks with a honesty box. The hot chocolate and cake was just right after a breezy walk down the bay.

Thank Sightsee61535071710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a truly beautiful beach made all the more pleasant that it was a lovely sunny day we were there. Spotted a mountain goat chilling out on a rock so even the locals pop down for some chillaxing R&R.

Our only dissapointment was that we didn't have more time to spend there.

Thank Holi-Ray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visiting the namesake of my hometown for the third time...it is a beautiful location that is worthy of a visit just because of its beauty. This time I visited two times - first time I walked around the north side of the bay, and the second on the south. Both times I got the public bus early in the morning and returned on the 4 pm (can't remember exact time) one.

There are public washrooms (thank you to the community), and lots of space to walk. One can walk more along the water or head up to the ridge, or I suppose every higher to the top of the hill. The views are beautfiul wherever you look, and the people disappear into the landscape, leaving you feeling like you are the luckiest person to have all this space to yourself! When you walk up higher, be aware that there are many many sheep that you are sharing the hills with - and if you have concerns around that, it probably isn't for you. Most of the trail seems to be come a sheep trail at one point.

The beach itself is very beautiful with gorgeous white sand. If you visit this in the fall, it is a bit on the cold side, and not likely to be one for swimming or dipping of any kind. Both times I was there this year, it was also windy - one time quite biting. There is an ice cream truck, and the gallery and cafe up the hill.

Thank buddhastummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Loved this place on my first visit and was so happy to return. Beautiful, bright Sunday morning walk. Large bay, with white sand, blue water, rocks and walks along the headland. Would have this a must see for any Mull visit.

Thank RhiGri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My friend and I booked the west loft for four nights- what a lovely place to stay- everything was perfectly formed even Bowen to the wee wooden fittings all hand carved!!
You can’t stay in Scotland and expect fine weather and we are the kids of death to that- however one day we just pootled about Calgary- the cafe, the room, the woodland walk in between showers and the art gallery too!!
Would highly recommend!!

Thank emmaball2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Calgary Bay was a real surprise. The beach is quiet and large. To the right are huge rocks which are fun to climb and along the bay is a jetty within walking distance from the car park.
The beach has really interesting sediment deposits which make for lovely black and white photos.

Thank Fishnstitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited this beautiful beach while on a break to the Isle of Mull last week. It was a nice day so looked lovely however might not be so nice in bad weather. Definitely worth a visit.

Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2018 via mobile

Had a great stop at the beach in Calgary on the Isle of mull. There was some rain showers which doesn't help on any beach but if the weather is good this would be a lovely place to spend an afternoon.

Thank Alastair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews