We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peace and Tranquillity”
Boathouse at lochside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Boathouse at lochside
Bedroom coffee corner Bathroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
113 reviews
Boathouse at lochside
Bedroom coffee corner
Bathroom
Bathtub with sunset view
Open plan staircase
Boathouse from the south
Living room feature wall with stove
Living room HD TV and stove
Bedroom
Open plan living room
Wheel bench
Summer sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 113 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
_Not_S0_B...
Luton
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peace and Tranquillity”
Reviewed July 14, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful, comfortable and spacious holiday home.
Total peace & tranquillity at this waterside location.
Virtually Perfect.
Great communication with owner prior to arrival.
No problems at all during our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace & quiet.
Liked least: Slow internet connection.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerryB52
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A fabulous experience in a magnificent setting”
Reviewed June 1, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We saw the photos online but we couldn't even imagine that the Boathouse would be so unbelievable. It is perfectly situated on the water's edge with heavenly views all around and is located near the centre of Skye allowing easy access all around the island. The house is beautifully appointed with amazing attention to detail. The upper floor is fantastic with a wonderful bedroom and a superb bathroom. The kitchen is equipped with everything essential for cooking. The lounge has outstanding views from every window and the wood-burning stove makes the evenings especially cosy. We enjoyed our stay so much that we immediately book another stay. We highly recommend the Boathouse, It's a remarkable property and a fabulous experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlyingVis...
Coleford, Gloucestershire
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Magical, just magical.”
Reviewed December 20, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Peace, seclusion, views and an opportunity to observe wildlife were the main criteria by which we selected the destination for our 2 week holiday on Skye. We wanted a location where our batteries could be recharged and somewhere we could be comfortable if the weather at the end of November/beginning of December meant that the best option was to curl up with a good book rather than brave the elements. Kingsburgh Boathouse proved to be the perfect choice.
The location could not have been better with beautiful views over Loch Snizort from 3 sides of the house. We had visits (to within 20 feet of the windows) from otters, seals, stoat and a variety of different birds. In addition, all outings were cancelled on the day a pod of more than 100 dolphins arrived in the loch and spent the day entertaining us with their antics.

The house was extremely well equipped with the under-floor heating being so efficient we did not need to light the wood-burning stove to provide additional warmth. Initially, we did find the huge and luxurious bathroom a little chill but on reporting this to Carol (the owner) she arranged for the heating to be checked immediately. We could not have received better attention.

In the bedroom, the super-king sized bed was very comfortable with superior quality bed linen. It was delightful to watch the sun rise over the Cuillins and the heron fishing from his regular rocky perch without even having to get out of bed! Sitting in the comfortable chairs near the bedroom windows allowed us to spot the dolphins as they passed the cottage shortly after sunrise one morning.

The dining room table placed close to the full height windows looking up the loch (towards the Outer Hebrides) was a lovely spot for eating, reading, playing Scrabble and doing jigsaws on the 2 days we opted not to brave the weather.

The owner’s house is fairly close to the Boathouse, but we did not feel at all over-looked due to the location of the cottage at the water’s edge and the angle of the hillside between the two properties. In addition Carol was unobtrusive and, whilst being readily available had we had problems, she did not intrude on our stay at all.

The location of the house (about 20 minutes from Portree) also meant that it was well placed for exploring Skye by car. It was a short drive to Uig where you can catch the vehicle ferry to Tarbert on Harris. The tourist “must view” places such as the Quiraing, Coral Beaches, McCleod’s Tabes, Neist Point, Glen Brittle, Talisker, Kilt Rock, The Old Man of Storr and Waternish were all within easy distance of the Boathouse. We enjoyed some lovely walks of varying degrees of difficulty during our 2 week stay. Slightly further away we found the drive to Elgol worthwhile with its spectacular view of the Cuillins and we enjoyed a very pleasant hour watching a dozen or so seals playing a short distance from the beach at Ord.
We discovered that the Northern Lights were not often seen in full colour from Skye but we did see the white version on a couple of occasions with some column lights being easily spotted. I suggest that you take a look at the Facebook page for Glendale Skye Auroras where Andy Stables provides photographs and notifications as and when an aurora is taking place. By using Facebook messages I found Andy particularly helpful when I was having problems setting up my camera. The website http://www.glendaleskye.com/aurora-faqs.php also gives a great deal of information about how to photograph auroras.

Whilst being slightly disappointed because we couldn’t see coloured Northern Lights, the Boathouse was an excellent location for star-gazing. It took a couple of minutes for the eyes to adjust and then the sky became a source of wonder! The clarity of the Milky Way was such a surprise and the unexpectedly warm evenings allowed us to spend several hours enjoying standing and staring upwards.

How do we sum up our stay at Kingsburgh Boathouse? One word will do – “Magical”.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wildlife on view from the Boathouse
Liked least: Going home.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ducatitou...
North Chailey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Remote and idyllic with style and comfort - the perfect getaway”
Reviewed September 25, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We always look for places where we can enjoy quietness, often these are too remote but the Boathouse is perfect. Only 10 minutes drive from a major town and yet on a loch where the only neighbours are sheep, hare and other wildlife.
It has been beautifully restored, retaining character and also very comfortable. The weather was a but wild and it was enjoyable to watch it through the windows, in absolute comfort. Couldn't fault it.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PamsBedfo...
Bedfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed September 22, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What can I say, where do I start? Absolutely fantastic! The conversion is amazing, in both it's quality and sensitivity, warm, comfortable, the most excellent views, and the wildlife... You actually don't have to go anywhere else, but of course you must as there is so much to see on Skye. At the boathouse, we saw: otters, seals, dolphins, a stoat, sheep, hedgehogs, buzzards, an eagle, jellyfish, more sheep, brilliant. The accommodation is wonderful, so spacious, and THE BATHROOM! Pure luxury with views to die for. Sit outside at night and just listen to....nothing...just peace and quiet! Bliss. It's thanks to Carol for having the insight and inspiration to renovate this beautiful boathouse, to such a high degree for so many people to enjoy, make sure you are one of them! Carols welcome pack was also very well received. Did not want to leave, and will be back. Thank you Carol. (We were there for two wonderful weeks)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, luxury accommodation, and the peace and quiet.
Liked least: Cannot think of a thing, except that we had to leave! :-(
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hextal
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed September 18, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Short of a long list of superlatives i'm at a loss as to how best I should sum up our stay.

In short though, the house is wonderful and the views spectacular.

Will definitely be going back - possibly in winter this time as I suspect it will be even more cosy with the log fire going.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Beautiful location to relax and luxuriate”
Reviewed August 23, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We needed a break from our stressful jobs and stumbled across the Tripadvisor reviews for this little gem of a converted boathouse located just feet away from Loch Snizort.

Our low to the ground convertible sports car had no problem in traversing the track down to the Boathouse and as we made the final approach we knew straight away we had made the right decision - the location was simply breathtaking!

We initially walked round the property just to get a sense of the beauty of the Boathouse and it's unique position on the Loch.

We then entered the property and sensed calm and peace - everything we needed had been thought of, there was also a nice selection of goodies waiting for us, including a nice bottle of wine, butter and lovely marmalade!

The bathroom upstairs is spectacular with a bath big enough for two with views to die for of the Loch. Top Tip - go into Portree (15 mins drive) and there is a lovely shop that sells homemade bath bombs - then relax in the bath and enjoy!

A week was not long enough mind on this beautiful island, staying in this unique dwelling.

We definitely plan to stay again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing