We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Cosy Cottage with Amazing Views”
other travellers have booked this property
View of cottage from back garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of cottage from back garden
Beaton Cottage kitchen Beaton Cottage living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
24 reviews
View of cottage from back garden
Beaton Cottage kitchen
Beaton Cottage living area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Linlithgow, West Lothian, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

sunitha s
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful Cosy Cottage with Amazing Views”
Reviewed March 10, 2019 for a stay in April 2018

We are so very excited after staying in Linlithgow Cottage, it’s a homely experience. I would like to thank Francesco specially for his hospitality. Very clean and hygienic house if you’re travelling with small kids. What a beautiful view when you sip your tea at the patio. I must admit it’s a winner for my kids. Proximity to all attractions in Scotland as well is an added advantage. Thank you Francesco will visit again soon.

Date of stay: April 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2019
Thank you for your positive review, it really means a lot to us! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and our beautiful area and we look forward to welcoming your family again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LarryS258...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Little house”
Reviewed October 5, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This was the best place we stayed while in Scotland. It is a close drive to everything. We loved being able to cook and launder. It is very allergy friendly and clean. The only thing that would make it absolutely perfect is using unscented laundry detergent for the linens. We will definitely stay here again!!

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howd2017
Bavarian Forest, Germany
1 review
“Perfect place to explore Scotland”
Reviewed September 27, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Linlithgow Cottages is a great place to explore Scotland. I´ve brought my dog and don´t understand the older review below. There are really nice dog walks just a little bit up the hill (public path at the golf course). No one told us about don´ts and we felt very welcome. After two weeks in Linlithgow we stayed at another cottage in the West and the house rules there also said: no dogs upstairs and must be kept on a lead. Others also want to spend a nice holiday, with or without a dog and some rules and a bit of respect for each other make it a lot easier. It didn´t bother me at all.
The owners were helpful and friendly all the time. Francesco even called me, when he realized I was about to drive to the wrong airport in Glasgow. It was my first stay in Scotland and within the cottage we found lots of helpful information, magazines and book.
The cottage was clean, very comfy, well equipped, hot water always provided. We got a cake when we arrived and it was delicious. In Linlithgow there´s a Tesco, Aldi and anything else you might need. If you´re looking for a dog friendly restaurant, go to the West Port Express, the food´s delicious.
Even if it was my first stay in Scotland, it surely wasn´t my last and I´ll gladly book Linlithgow cottages again. Thank you!

Date of stay: September 2017
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2017
Thank you so much Sabine for your lovely review, it is greatly appreciated!
We are happy also that your dog enjoyed his stay, we really do love dogs here at the cottages and want them to feel welcome too!
We certainly hope to see you again on any future trips to Scotland!

Many thanks,
Francesco
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p1baile
Burntwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Holiday Rental”
Reviewed February 25, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

On approach the 5 cottages are in a neat Terrace arrangement with a small pathway joining them at the front. The cottages have a hallway where there is a visitors book and numerous tourist guides and leaflets on places of interest. The living space space is ample and comfortable. Leather sofas and coffee tables are provided in the lounge area and there are French doors into a private garden space. A selection of books, games and DVDs are available for use and there is a good wifi service in each cottage. The walk in shower, wash hand basin and WC is more than adequate but a little on the cold side even with heat from the towel rail. Upstairs two bedrooms, 1 double and 1twin both rooms spacious with ample storage. The beds were comfortable and warm. I would have appreciated a light in the walk in wardrobe but this is me being picky. Overall very nice cottages, well placed in the heart of Scotland although taxis are hard to find. Drive times Edinburgh 25 mins, Glasgow 40 mins, Stirling 25 mins. Will stay again, hopefully for longer next time.

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2017
Thank you for your review Mr Bailey, your feedback is important to us and we will certainly look into the improvements you have suggested. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you all back in the near future!

Kind regards,
Francesco
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stargolf
Lochgilphead
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not dog friendly...... better descried as dog tolerant”
Reviewed January 4, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed over Christmas and New Year. The entrance to the cottage is a bit off putting as it is through a Landscapers yard. On arrival the cottage was cold and we were given a "Welcome" letter which consisted of do's and don'ts. mainly don'ts. This was backed up by the not very welcoming owners daughter who emphasised what the dog wasn't allowed to do. The dog was not allowed upstairs and was only allowed in the garden on a lead, she also gave us a lecture about picking up any dog mess. I asked where the nearest dog walking area was and she directed us to an area in the town which meant we had to keep going out in the car to walk the dog. At this point I was regretting booking this property. Our stay was OK but as we did not feel particularly welcome this put a damper on the whole thing, The cottage was spotlessly clean but the garden area was badly neglected. The small patio area was covered in dead leaves and the other area of the garden was covered in fallen rotten apples, the local wildlife were eating these which caused us concern. There are lights at the doors of the property but none in the garden and the ones in the driveway were the solar powered ones which did not work, These properties have changed ownership recently and I think the new owners have a bit to learn about the hospitality industry. As far as dogs are concerned they would be better deciding they do not want dogs in their property

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Not suitable for taking dogs to
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lance N
Boekel, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place for a family of 5”
Reviewed March 13, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Couldn't have asked for a better place. Quiet, comfortable and far away from everything but also close enough to where we wanted to go. My family and I stayed in a 2 bedroom cottage during our 4 day holiday in Scotland. We chose Linlithgow because of the central location between Glasgow and Edinburgh. Everything was perfect. David, was very prompt and curteous with all email correspondence. While we was not available during our stay, he gave us contacts in the event that we needed something, which we did(thanks Madalene and Henry!). The cottage itself was big enough for our family (2 adults, 17, 14, and 9 yr old) and had all the amenties that we needed. We would not hesitate to recommend this property to anyone looking for a nice getaway. Just be prepared to go a little off the beaten path to get there.....but well worth it!

Date of stay: March 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & comfort.
Liked least: One bathroom but we could have rented a cottage that had more.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kawasaki1...
kawasaki1992
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage.”
Reviewed October 10, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

My wife and i booked a 2 bed cottage for 4 nights, the cost of which was very reasonable. We were greeted on arrival by David, who made us feel extremely welcome, he had left lemon loaf baked by Helen which we very much enjoyed with a cup of tea, prior to unpacking. The cottage is located in a lovely tranquil picturesque setting only a short drive from Linlithgow. The weather for the time of year was very good so no need for heating but there were plenty of panel heaters throughout and i would imagine you would be very cosy holidaying here during the winter months. The one negative point for us was that the only bathroom/toilet was on the ground floor, whilst both bedrooms were on the upper level. having to negotiate stairs particularly during the night should you need to `go` and we both did was not the best. On our last morning at the cottage my wife took a tumble, she had gone upstairs to fetch down a fresh towel, this was in her right hand, as she realised she was going to fall she sought to save herself but to no avail, there is nothing on the left at the top of the stairs to hold on to and that was her free hand, so down she went. Sadly this was an end to our holiday, we were to move on but it soon became clear her injuries were worse that we at first thought and a week later she is still housebound. I do not mention this to apportion blame on anyone, it was an accident, but it may make others more aware. Up until this happened we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the blissful peace and quiet.
Liked least: The downstairs bathroom.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
US$USD
Canada (English)
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.