We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Summary:
Pros- Excellent room, Food in resturant very good, staff generally very nice, well equipped gym.
Cons- Bad service in the bar, Quite far from Ennis town, Old fashioned.

My boyfriend and I stayed in this hotel for a weekend in Feb 2011. The hotel was quiet old fashioned but nice. The room was perfect- clean, modern, spacious and tastefully decorated. It was a long walk from the lobby though. Staff at reception were friendly. Service in the bar was the worst ever. We went in on the day of our arrival after a long car journey and sat down and looked at the menu. The woman who was working there came out from the kitchen area about ten minutes later, walked right past and ignored us. We waited a while for her to come back but she kept her head down ignoring all the customers, not just us. We ended up going into Ennis town then. We returned to the bar the next day hoping to have a drink and the same woman was working. She stayed in the carvery section around the corner (which was closed) and my boyfriend had to go around and ask her to serve us. She then proceeded to spill our drinks all over the floor, and had to top them up. After that we left. We had the dinner which was included in the price of our stay in the restaurant and it was very nice, one of the best steaks i've had, cooked to perfection. Our server was friendly and helpful.The gym and leisure center were nice. My boyfriend used the gym and he found it to be small but had everything he needed for a good workout. The biggest downside to this hotel for us was that it wasnt within walking distance of Ennis town center. We went out in town both nights of our stay which meant two round trips in taxi (as we were drinking) costing about €35 in total. Not a huge amount but an added expense. The receptionist ordered our taxi both times and it was there in no time. We had the breakfast one of the mornings. I found it to be a bit lacking. I was expecting a bit more from the hot breakfast side of it. Overall a nice stay.

Room Tip: Request a renovated room. A friend of mine stayed in this hotel before me and gave me this tip. She...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShoosieSha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrelandICH, Manager at Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Thanks for the review. It is great to hear the positive feedback from clients. The Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre is an ideal base for visitng Ennis Town and touring the many wonders of County Clare & the West of Ireland. All are Welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    304
    160
    120
    86
See reviews for
226
363
42
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Auburn Lodge two weeks ago. At the time the hotel was very busy due to a bridge tournament that was being held there. The room itself was satisfactory, clean and spacious, a tad old fashioned but overall not bad.

We were advised by reception to come for dinner a little later as they expected the restaurant to be very busy with the tournament, we arrived at 8.30. The table was 'prepared' within a few minutes. I say 'prepared' as it looked as if the cutlery had been thrown at the table-from a distance. The table was also dirty.

We ordered food, laughing off the disorganisation. Big mistake. I had to order three times as the waitress forgot every time and had to keep coming back. We were not offered any drinks to go with our meal.

The meal was quite possibly the most disappointing food I have ever eaten. Over peppered soup, fillet steak so tough I could barely chew more than two bits and a 'steak' burger that was nothing more than poor quality compressed meat. What annoyed me most though, was that I requested potatoes with no butter (as butter makes me extremely sick), another request that was forgotten.

We stopped eating our meal after only a few minutes. 25 minutes later we were still sitting there, no member of staff ask asked if we were ok or even questioned why we hadn’t eaten our meals. Obviously dying of thirst from still having no drinks offered to us, we got up and left, the waitress still oblivious.

The quality of both the food and the service of this restaurant was appalling, to the extent that we skipped the breakfast the next day and opted to pay to have it in Ennis Town.

I wouldn’t recommend this hotel in the future. An enjoyable meal is a vital part of a success weekend away. The food and service in resturant needs a full overhaul.

Room Tip: All room face a lovely car park, no nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dempsec4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrelandICH, Manager at Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Thanks for the review. It is very disappointing to hear your comments. We always welcome both positive and negative feedback from clients. The Auburn Lodge Hotel will continue to upgrade and improve service and standard in the bedrooms and all other areas within the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ennis hotels

Waterford, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Stayed in this hotel for two nights recently after getting an amazing deal for a midweek break for 2. My partner and i couldn't believe how friendly and efficent the staff and managment were. The food was absolutely fantastic and i would recommend anyone looking for a relaxing few days away to visit this hotel. We had full use of pool, gym, jacuzzi etc. Thanks a mill to all in The Auburn Lodge. Lydia & Shane

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lydia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrelandICH, Manager at Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Thanks for the review. It is great to hear the positive feedback from clients. Any request is never too big to deal with at the Auburn Lodge Hotel - just ask! We are hear to help and make your stay more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Good value break , excellent leisure centre, comfortable large clean warm room , pleasant staff, good bar food

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrelandICH, Manager at Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Thanks for the review. It is great to hear the positive feedback from clients. The Auburn Lodge Hotel has full Leisure facilities, Car Parking on site, WIFI throughout the entire hotel, Conference and Wedding Suites along with other Meeting Rooms. All clients and specific requirements are catered for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

I read a number of the reviews for this hotel before travelling and some had some valid points and most were quite accurate, I hope to give my take as accurately, We stayed here with some extended family at the end of December and I have to say I have never had a more relaxing stay in a hotel, Ok some of the rooms need a bit of redecoration but all were clean and warm, and were cleaned daily, Where this hotel wins hands down is the quality of the service provided by all staff, Alot has been written lately in Ireland about how we have lost the "Cead Mile Failte" well a short stay in this hotel will put a smile back on your face and renew your faith in the irish welcome, No request was too much here and from the reception to the restaurant to the manager the standard of service never dropped, We had a few young children with us and they were never too much trouble even when they decieded to talk to the staff they also recieved the same standard of warmth. Really a short stay here is enough to renew your faith in the famed Irish welcome, Well done everyone at the Auburn Lodge, I and my family will definitely be back

Room Tip: Rooms nearer to the leisure centre were more modern and slightly bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irishflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrelandICH, Manager at Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Thanks for the review. It is great to hear the positive feedback from clients. Come and enjoy your own experience. The Auburn Lodge Hotel has full Leisure facilities, Car Parking on site, WIFI throughout the entire hotel, Conference and Wedding Suites along with other Meeting Rooms. All clients and specific requirements are catered for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
121 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

booked two twin rooms here for dinner bed & breakfaste- very spacious and clean rooms - no complaints. the recepionist on arrival was very nice and rang ahead to check if we could get tickets on the door for a concert in a nearby hotel, she went out of her way and that was very nice. Location of this hotel very central, a short drive from the town.
The dinner was good, nothing outstanding but again very good value for money. Breakfast was self service, which is expected with a 3star property, again no complaints. Would recommend this hotel for visitors either from ireland or overseas.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holly74limerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrelandICH, Manager at Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Thanks for the review. It is great to hear the positive feedback from our return clients. The Auburn Lodge Hotel endeavours to make all customers to have an enjoyable stay. The Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre is located just outside of Ennis Town in a quiet and peaceful area. Short walks nearby along with all local amenities, attractions and Golf Courses. Shannon International Airport 15km.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

We booked this hotel, having read the reviews, however the hotel we stayed in didn't match any of the reviews. We arrived on a very wet cold night, got to our room it was freezing, on enquiring with reception, we were told it was timed to go on and off, but she would ask the Manager to turn it on, which in fairness they did, but surely it should have been on. The room was awful, it was so dated with an old tv and shoddy furniture, and the bathroom was like something out of the 70's, the food in the bar was ok but the breakfast was terrible, no selection and everything cold, couldn't eat it. I had a few queries but got absolutely no feed back and nobody got back to me on anything. having checked the pictures of this hotel on line since our stay, the bedroom we stayed in was nothing like the ones pictured. The corridor to our room had no heat on, was very cold and smelled of cigarette smoke.. I appreciate this is a quiet time of the year but this hotel really is more of a motel and certainly
not even a 3 star. we had planned to stay 3 nights but checked out after 2 and will definately not visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrelandICH, Manager at Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Thanks for the review. It is very disappointing to hear your comments. We always welcome both positive and negative feedback from clients. The Auburn Lodge Hotel will continue to upgrade and improve service and standard in the bedrooms and all other areas within the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
4.1 km away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
2.5 km away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
3.8 km away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
2.4 km away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
9.6 km away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre

Property: Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
Address: Galway Road, Ennis, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 Star Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre is one of the leading Ennis Hotels which is famed for its traditional music and warm hospitality. The rooms at the Auburn Lodge Hotel Ennis are furnished with your comfort in mind and offer some of the best hotel accommodation Clare has to offer. The River Lodge Health & Fitness Club includes a Swimming pool, Gymnasium, Jacuzzi, Steam Room, Sauna along with four Beauty Treatment rooms, and is one of the most modern leisure facilities in the West of Ireland. Diners can enjoy traditional or continental cuisine at the Oyster restaurant. Tailor Quigleys Bar serves food all day and at night you can often enjoy a music session with many of County Clare's well known musicians. The Auburn Lodge Hotel in Clare is an ideal base for touring Bunratty, th Burren, Aillwee Caves and the Cliffs of Moher (20 minutes). Convenient to all local golf courses including Lahinch Golf Links Course. Shannon International Airport is just 15km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auburn Lodge Hotel And Leisure Centre
Auburn Hotel Ennis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing