We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maranatha Country House
Nearby Hotels
US$184
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blarney Hotel & Golf Resort(Blarney)(Great Value!)
US$166
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Commons Inn(Cork)(Great Value!)
US$146
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$173
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$226
US$197
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (280)
Filter reviews
280 results
Traveller rating
248
25
4
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
248
25
4
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschampagne roomsconesfour poster bedone nightround bedsun roomfairy talelush groundschildhood homecountry housebeautiful sunroomour favorite placeyogurtrooms are greatbed and breakfastrelaxing staystayed longer
Filter
Updating list...
196 - 201 of 280 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2012

As a world traveler and veteran of both Band Bs' and 5 star hotels, Maranatha rates a 10! First stays were business but Olwen and Doug's beautiful home, grounds and hospitality draw me back again and again. Enjoyed tea in the real Irish drawing room and stepped up the elegant red and white staircase to my choice of the en suite grand bedrooms. (Gold ,Doris Day. Lilac, Rose or Honeymoon.). Relaxed with the tea and coffee in each. A delicious, abundant breakfast in a "Downten Abbey" breakfast room awaited right on time. Not even kissing the Blarney stone closeby, could have topped this experience.

Room Tip: Actually, a real treat is the Regal Room with a large jacuzzi!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank priscilla f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Over the years, I have stayed at Maranatha Country House many times. I love it and feel a visit to Ireland is not complete with staying there. The house is splendid as are the grounds.
The owners are very friendly, intellegent and interisting, having travelled a lot and obviously led very fulfilling lives.
They have always been very attentive to my needs and nothing was too much trouble.
I look forward to many more visits in the future. For me it is a 10/10
D. Slade, Aldosa, Pyrenees.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

This was one of the best places we stayed at on our journey in 2011. The hosts are warm and friendly and cannot do enough - true to the name of their establishment. The guest house is set on beautiful grounds far away from other housing and is an expansive property. The property offers guests the opportunity of enjoyable countryside and great walks. It is also close to the famous Blarney Castle and Woollen Mills (2 miles).

The rooms are typical of the older style manor homes - well appointed and spacious - giving off that old world feel. Each room has its own tea/coffee facilities, spacious bathroom, plenty of hot water etc. Everything was comfortable, clean and quiet.

Marantha Country House is a great place to base yourself to visit famous places. The house is away from busy motorways and yet close enough to Cork city and all amenities. Ireland is the land of saints and scholars and so we took the opportunity to visit the Rock of Cashel - with a well known connection to St Patrick, patron saint of Ireland - as well as other famous monastic locations and castles. The B&B is conveniently located close to the better tourist destinations and some great pubs which were recommended by the hosts.

Breakfast was a delight with generous portions including a full Irish and continental breakfast in the conservatory overlooking beautiful grounds. We soaked in the atmostphere of a bygone era whlst we enjoyed delicious pastries and preserves as well as a great Irish cup of tea.

One of the most enjoyable aspects of our stay was being able to hear stories of family history about the house. We welcomed this as we were able to experience the richness of Ireland's wonderful cultural and religious heritage. A big thank you to both Doug and Olwen for making our stay so special.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

This is not your average B&B. Spectacular old Victorian home and Irish hospitality at it's best. Olwen is a dear and will do anything to make your stay comfortable. The breakfast room speaks for itself in pictures and the food is wonderful.

Room Tip: every room is fantastic. we peaked in all but one.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JakeCenterville_Ma_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We were really looking forward to staying in a manor house during our week long visit in Ireland, but unfortunately, we ended up being very disappointed by almost all aspects of our night at the Maranatha House. The hosts were very nice, but seemed preoccupied and did not offer much help as far as local restaurants and things to do. Had they been more interested in their guests, they may have noticed that their dog had left several "surprises" at the foot of the stairs near the entryway. We almost stepped in them as we left the house for dinner that night.

Despite being the only guests that night, the hosts decided to put us in a room with a very active bird nest just outside the window. As you can imagine, we were not thrilled to be awakened at dawn to the sound of chirping birds.

The house and grounds are quite impressive, but the interior is a bit gaudy. The number of fake flower arrangements was overwhelming. It seemed like the decor was meant to be luxurious, but it actually had the opposite effect. The breakfast area felt like we were eating at a cheap 80s high school prom. The hot food was waiting for us in a chafing dish when we came down for breakfast and it was dry and lukewarm despite being asked what time we would prefer breakfast. This was quite a different experience than other Irish B&B's we stayed at, where the proprietors made breakfast to order for each guest.

We got the sense that the proprietors did not take a great deal of pride in their work. Finally, a word of warning- after breakfast Olwen solicited us with religious pamphlets, which we found in poor taste.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jess C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews