We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful old home.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maranatha Country House
Ranked #2 of 25 Blarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
173 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Beautiful old home.”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

This B&B is exactly as previous reviewers have described. It is a beautiful old home situated on a well kept estate. The owner is very gracious and she serves a very complete breakfast. The rooms were not as "fancy" as some of the photos, and may have been "toned down" somewhat. Finding the B&B was challenging. The GPS coordinates were several miles off but once on the main road into the town of Tower we saw the sign.
I selected this location since it is close to Blarney Castle. Although if you are planning to go into Cork after visiting the Castle, you may want to stay further South and avoid the backtracking.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank porterjames2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    23
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
59
120
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

As a world traveler and veteran of both Band Bs' and 5 star hotels, Maranatha rates a 10! First stays were business but Olwen and Doug's beautiful home, grounds and hospitality draw me back again and again. Enjoyed tea in the real Irish drawing room and stepped up the elegant red and white staircase to my choice of the en suite grand bedrooms. (Gold ,Doris Day. Lilac, Rose or Honeymoon.). Relaxed with the tea and coffee in each. A delicious, abundant breakfast in a "Downten Abbey" breakfast room awaited right on time. Not even kissing the Blarney stone closeby, could have topped this experience.

Room Tip: Actually, a real treat is the Regal Room with a large jacuzzi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank priscilla f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldosa, Pyrenees
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Over the years, I have stayed at Maranatha Country House many times. I love it and feel a visit to Ireland is not complete with staying there. The house is splendid as are the grounds.
The owners are very friendly, intellegent and interisting, having travelled a lot and obviously led very fulfilling lives.
They have always been very attentive to my needs and nothing was too much trouble.
I look forward to many more visits in the future. For me it is a 10/10
D. Slade, Aldosa, Pyrenees.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

This was one of the best places we stayed at on our journey in 2011. The hosts are warm and friendly and cannot do enough - true to the name of their establishment. The guest house is set on beautiful grounds far away from other housing and is an expansive property. The property offers guests the opportunity of enjoyable countryside and great walks. It is also close to the famous Blarney Castle and Woollen Mills (2 miles).

The rooms are typical of the older style manor homes - well appointed and spacious - giving off that old world feel. Each room has its own tea/coffee facilities, spacious bathroom, plenty of hot water etc. Everything was comfortable, clean and quiet.

Marantha Country House is a great place to base yourself to visit famous places. The house is away from busy motorways and yet close enough to Cork city and all amenities. Ireland is the land of saints and scholars and so we took the opportunity to visit the Rock of Cashel - with a well known connection to St Patrick, patron saint of Ireland - as well as other famous monastic locations and castles. The B&B is conveniently located close to the better tourist destinations and some great pubs which were recommended by the hosts.

Breakfast was a delight with generous portions including a full Irish and continental breakfast in the conservatory overlooking beautiful grounds. We soaked in the atmostphere of a bygone era whlst we enjoyed delicious pastries and preserves as well as a great Irish cup of tea.

One of the most enjoyable aspects of our stay was being able to hear stories of family history about the house. We welcomed this as we were able to experience the richness of Ireland's wonderful cultural and religious heritage. A big thank you to both Doug and Olwen for making our stay so special.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centerville,Ma.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

This is not your average B&B. Spectacular old Victorian home and Irish hospitality at it's best. Olwen is a dear and will do anything to make your stay comfortable. The breakfast room speaks for itself in pictures and the food is wonderful.

Room Tip: every room is fantastic. we peaked in all but one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JakeCenterville_Ma_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We were really looking forward to staying in a manor house during our week long visit in Ireland, but unfortunately, we ended up being very disappointed by almost all aspects of our night at the Maranatha House. The hosts were very nice, but seemed preoccupied and did not offer much help as far as local restaurants and things to do. Had they been more interested in their guests, they may have noticed that their dog had left several "surprises" at the foot of the stairs near the entryway. We almost stepped in them as we left the house for dinner that night.

Despite being the only guests that night, the hosts decided to put us in a room with a very active bird nest just outside the window. As you can imagine, we were not thrilled to be awakened at dawn to the sound of chirping birds.

The house and grounds are quite impressive, but the interior is a bit gaudy. The number of fake flower arrangements was overwhelming. It seemed like the decor was meant to be luxurious, but it actually had the opposite effect. The breakfast area felt like we were eating at a cheap 80s high school prom. The hot food was waiting for us in a chafing dish when we came down for breakfast and it was dry and lukewarm despite being asked what time we would prefer breakfast. This was quite a different experience than other Irish B&B's we stayed at, where the proprietors made breakfast to order for each guest.

We got the sense that the proprietors did not take a great deal of pride in their work. Finally, a word of warning- after breakfast Olwen solicited us with religious pamphlets, which we found in poor taste.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jess C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rising Star, Texas USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I spent two weeks in Ireland in late summer of 2011 and stayed in a different B&B each night. I cannot tell you how very much I enjoyed and loved Maranatha Country House. Douglas and Olwen were absolutely wonderful and I so enjoyed visiting with them and their daughter, son-in-law and grandchildren from Perth, Australia. Their home is incredibly beautiful, as well as the grounds surrounding. And, by the way, that Corvette was to die for! *big smile* I'll return to Ireland, and when I do, I can hardly wait to visit Maranatha Country House again! I loved the fact that these are precious people of God and was so abundantly blessed by getting to know them. Hopefully, I'll see them again this year. I can hardly wait! If you go to Ireland, this is a MUST in your search for a B&B that is so very much more than just a B&B. Blessings.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PoppieMac55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blarney
Blarney Castle Hotel
#1 of 7 in Blarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maranatha Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maranatha Country House

Property: Maranatha Country House
Address: Marantha Country House Saint Ann's Hill | Tower, Blarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Blarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Blarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stroll through the beautiful private gardens and woodlands surrounding this lovely Victorian mansion. Spacious romantic bedrooms. Beautiful historic antiques throughout. Ideally located for day trips to both east and west Cork and Kerry. Rates for bed and breakfast from €35 to €60 per person sharing per night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Maranatha Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maranatha Country Hotel
Hotel Maranatha Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing