We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (334)
Filter reviews
334 results
Traveller rating
273
44
14
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
273
44
14
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews john helen lovely home wonderful hosts delightful couple beautiful sun room irish home an easy drive breakfast was delicious other guests warm hospitality b and b cork area wonderful stay next morning two nights our honeymoon short drive
Filter
Updating list...
221 - 226 of 334 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Glencairn B&B is a picturesque and unique home with exceptional hosts. John and Helen weren't home when we arrived, but there was a personal note waiting for us on the door. Our room has been upgraded from the one we had booked and was incredibly welcoming, beautifully decorated, and very comfortable. Every bit of space has been utilized in creative ways. John and Helen were very friendly, provided excellent recommendations for places to visit, and made us feel like we were old friends by inviting us to enjoy their beautiful garden while they were out and about. This B&B was by far my favorite B&B in Ireland. I would recommend a stay here to anyone visiting Cork and Cobh. Thanks for a wonderful visit!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We were only able to stay one night due to our schedule, but we really enjoyed staying at this Bed and Breakfast. The host staff was very friendly, offering us wine and cheese that they had set for themselves when we showed up. They listened to our plans, made excellent recommendations based on them as to where and what we should do to make our visit to Cork a fun one.

The B&B is outside of the city which is a slight downside, but at the same time it's in between the city and the ferry over to Cobh, so we were able to do both in a short amount of time. Once again, a short time for both cities is not ideal, but that's what we allotted. We recommend staying here and would again when we hopefully set aside more time for a visit to Ireland.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank judwible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Since John & Helen were on holidays we were welcomed by their daughter Fiona, who gave us a warm welcome and a wonderful time in Cork. Our room was really cosy and the bathroom was very clean and beautiful.
Breakfast was delicious too.
We really had a lovely stay here! Thanks again Fiona!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DebbyfromBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 10, 2011

John and Helen were so kind and it was truly a pleasure to stay with them. They were so kind they made you feel so welcome like you were an old friend coming to stay with them. John and Helen's house was beautiful and the garden was amazing. It was so nice to sit outside on the patio and be surrounded by such beautiful scenery and such wonderful company. John was an excellent cook and was also very helpful with planning our days. He suggested things that we would have never done without his advice and we really appreciated it!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank angeladb27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Glencairn wasn't the most fancy place we stayed in, but the hospitality made up for it. Glencairn is actually the personal home of John and Helen. When we first got there it was a little awkward because you felt like you were imposing on their personal space, but John and Helen quickly make you feel right at home. John is very social and Helen works during the day but keeps a beautiful outdoor space in her free time. She has the most beautiful roses and the grounds are finely manicured. Our room upstairs was an average size, but the bathroom was really small. You can only run one shower at a time in the house. The beds were the most comfortable out of all the places we stayed. John also gives great recommendations for places to go/eat. Cork city center is a bit of a drive, but the B&B is very close to Cobh (a very nice coastal town). John cooks breakfast every morning any way you want it. The only thing I didn't like about this B&B is that it's located on a busy street and you can hear the traffic go by. Other than that, John and Helen were very welcoming and we felt like we were staying with our family.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amandallen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews