We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful. It's worth it for the sunroom experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cork
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glencairn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 60 Cork B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Lovely home, lovely gardens, lovely hosts. & thank goodness because getting there by public transport after a12hr trip was an adventure. Somehow the bus driver "forgot" that I'd asked to be dropped at a certain spot. & if you think that might have been a one off.... Guess what? It happened again the next day, so... Beware the Cork bus service!
How relieved was I when John offered to drop me at the airport (on his way to a meeting).
Strongly recommend a stay.

Room Tip: You can hear floor movement in the room above, but only for a few minutes in the morning
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
There are newer reviews for Glencairn Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2011

The first thing you see when arriving at this house is the magnificent garden that surrounds you and welcomes you. A house full of music (in every possible aspect) and with very nice owners, Helen & John, who made us feel like we were in our own house. The room was perfect even in the smallest detail. The fact that the house was on the outskirts of Cork wasn't a problem, actually it proved helpful: less noise and closer to some interesting spots in the Cork sorroundings. We enjoyed a lot the stay and we'll sure be back as soon as we can. Thanks a lot!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJorda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Glencairn B&B is a picturesque and unique home with exceptional hosts. John and Helen weren't home when we arrived, but there was a personal note waiting for us on the door. Our room has been upgraded from the one we had booked and was incredibly welcoming, beautifully decorated, and very comfortable. Every bit of space has been utilized in creative ways. John and Helen were very friendly, provided excellent recommendations for places to visit, and made us feel like we were old friends by inviting us to enjoy their beautiful garden while they were out and about. This B&B was by far my favorite B&B in Ireland. I would recommend a stay here to anyone visiting Cork and Cobh. Thanks for a wonderful visit!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We were only able to stay one night due to our schedule, but we really enjoyed staying at this Bed and Breakfast. The host staff was very friendly, offering us wine and cheese that they had set for themselves when we showed up. They listened to our plans, made excellent recommendations based on them as to where and what we should do to make our visit to Cork a fun one.

The B&B is outside of the city which is a slight downside, but at the same time it's in between the city and the ferry over to Cobh, so we were able to do both in a short amount of time. Once again, a short time for both cities is not ideal, but that's what we allotted. We recommend staying here and would again when we hopefully set aside more time for a visit to Ireland.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank judwible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Since John & Helen were on holidays we were welcomed by their daughter Fiona, who gave us a warm welcome and a wonderful time in Cork. Our room was really cosy and the bathroom was very clean and beautiful.
Breakfast was delicious too.
We really had a lovely stay here! Thanks again Fiona!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DebbyfromBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

John and Helen were so kind and it was truly a pleasure to stay with them. They were so kind they made you feel so welcome like you were an old friend coming to stay with them. John and Helen's house was beautiful and the garden was amazing. It was so nice to sit outside on the patio and be surrounded by such beautiful scenery and such wonderful company. John was an excellent cook and was also very helpful with planning our days. He suggested things that we would have never done without his advice and we really appreciated it!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank angeladb27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Glencairn wasn't the most fancy place we stayed in, but the hospitality made up for it. Glencairn is actually the personal home of John and Helen. When we first got there it was a little awkward because you felt like you were imposing on their personal space, but John and Helen quickly make you feel right at home. John is very social and Helen works during the day but keeps a beautiful outdoor space in her free time. She has the most beautiful roses and the grounds are finely manicured. Our room upstairs was an average size, but the bathroom was really small. You can only run one shower at a time in the house. The beds were the most comfortable out of all the places we stayed. John also gives great recommendations for places to go/eat. Cork city center is a bit of a drive, but the B&B is very close to Cobh (a very nice coastal town). John cooks breakfast every morning any way you want it. The only thing I didn't like about this B&B is that it's located on a busy street and you can hear the traffic go by. Other than that, John and Helen were very welcoming and we felt like we were staying with our family.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amandallen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,559 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Douglas
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,199 reviews
Mardyke
Garnish House
Garnish House
#3 of 60 in Cork
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glencairn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glencairn Bed and Breakfast

Address: Underwood | Rochestown, Cork Ireland, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range: $37 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ours is an intimate family home. We pride ourselves on making our guests feel relaxed and strive to cater for every need and taste. There are beautiful gardens in a wooded setting overlooking Cork Harbor, activities such as; golfing, sailing, horse-riding within 5 miles, a bus into city, parking, a full Irish breakfast. We are ten minutes from City/Airport. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glencairn b&b
Glencairn Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing