We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for Cork and day trips in the county”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cork
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glencairn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 60 Cork B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this B&B very much. The garden was beautifully cared for. The hosts were friendly, very down to earth and easy to talk to. They have many books to guide and inspire you for visits around the area. We had a great view of the water from our room. The location is great for Cobh, Cork city centre/ English Market, and less than an hour's drive from Kinsale. A day trip to Killarney is doable.
Unfortunately, my hay fever kicked up and we're not sure if I was allergic to something in the garden, but I regretted not coming prepared with allergy tablets.
The breakfast was basic and similar to what you get in the UK. My Irish partner was disappointed that they did not have traditional Irish soda bread. As a vegetarian, I am always hoping B&Bs will offer something a bit more creative - it doesn't have to be fancy, just a bit more variety.
Overall, the hosts were the lovely and welcoming, the location was excellent, and we would recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
1  Thank Emappeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
There are newer reviews for Glencairn Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2012

I thought that the Glencairn B&B looked great online, but it is so much more beautiful in person! My boyfriend and I stayed two nights at the B&B and wish we could've stayed longer. It's a great area and not very far from town (15/20 minutes by bus), and the bus drives right by the B&B. John and Helen were very helpful when it came to figuring out the bus system and also gave us great travel advice for things to do nearby in Cork, such as the Heritage Center and Barryscourt Castle. They even let us borrow their bikes for an entire day to go sightseeing!

This B&B is a dream come true for people who like to relax by a garden with the view of the sea and a cup of tea/coffee in hand. This place is so quaint and cozy, and we were sad to leave. When we did leave, Helen even gave us a ride to the train station so that we didn't have to drag our luggage around by bus. This couple is so sweet and very accommodating! We have nothing but great things to say! We highly recommend it! Oh...and the breakfast was delicious! :)

Room Tip: My boyfriend and I stayed in room 4. It was spacious and had a good view of the garden and sea. It w...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

John & Helen were just fab! The accomidations were great a true Irish B&B family-friendly atmosphere. They were so great with our 9 month old son and our traveling friends as well as all the other guests for the two days we stayed. If we ever go back to the Cork area we'll be staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Rochestown is a small place a short drive from Cork. The Glencairn B&B has a sea view, very nice glass houses, a wonderful garden and very friendly hosts, John and Helen. They make you feel at home as soon as you arrive, serving you with tea and biscuits.
Breakfast is well cooked by John and takes place in a glass room, which makes it very bright and lovely, being surrounded by self-grown geraniums. Helen even gave me some cuttings to grow at home. She does amazing job on the plants.
John knows a lot about the history of the surroundings, will listen to you and give you tips on where to go taking your interests into account.

Our room was spacious, clean and complete, with tv, wifi and facilities to make coffee and/or tea. The only things I could say something less euphoric about, if I had to, was the traffic noise. The bathroom is very tiny, but it makes you admire the way they managed to get it in there anyway. It has a very special tiny door with coloured glass and the way it's done decorationwise is very nice.

Go see for yourself, it's lovely!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ineke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

The friendly owners make you feel very welcome in their home. Every morning John cooked us a delicious breakfast. Apart from that we got many tips on where to go and they were a great help. The house is lovely, surrounded by a magnificent garden. You can see that the house and garden is much loved and taken care of by Helen and John. Glencairn is just outside Cork, by car you'll be back in Cork in no time and also lots of other places like Cobh, Kinsale and Barrycourt Castle are in easy reach. The two of us had the bedroom for 3 people. The room was quite large. The bathroom was cosy and maybe not suited if you are a tall person.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YvjeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

For a taste of real Cork hospitality, look no further than Glencairn, John & Helen's charming Bed & Breakfast retreat. Close enough to Cork to be convenient, yet far enough away to get a taste of green and seaside, this was a wonderful spot from which to explore the area. Always helpful and friendly, John and Helen obliged with tips on local points of interest, and places to eat. When we needed time to recharge, their beautiful garden provided a home away from home. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We chose the downstairs room, which meant for easy access to dining area and front entrance (useful...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

A very cozy B & B and pleasant hosts. Although the bathroom in our room was very tiny (and not made for tall people!), the fantastic bed more than made up for it. An incredibly comfortable mattress!! Very good breakfast, too. We would return.

Room Tip: From room 4 one can overlook the harbor.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrownBread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,556 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Douglas
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,198 reviews
Mardyke
Garnish House
Garnish House
#3 of 60 in Cork
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glencairn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glencairn Bed and Breakfast

Address: Underwood | Rochestown, Cork Ireland, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range: $36 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ours is an intimate family home. We pride ourselves on making our guests feel relaxed and strive to cater for every need and taste. There are beautiful gardens in a wooded setting overlooking Cork Harbor, activities such as; golfing, sailing, horse-riding within 5 miles, a bus into city, parking, a full Irish breakfast. We are ten minutes from City/Airport. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glencairn b&b
Glencairn Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing