We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a wonderful time!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cork
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glencairn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 60 Cork B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2014

My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our hosts John and Helen are absolutely lovely and made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. The house is very nice, clean and comfortable and the gardens are just beautiful. The sunroom where breakfast is served is bright and cheery and filled with flowers. John and Helen were full of information and gave us some great ideas, not only for our stay in Cork but for other areas of Ireland as well. We could not have asked for a nicer stay in Cork!

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JenniferTruesdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
There are newer reviews for Glencairn Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2014

My husband and and I stayed at the Glencairn for two nights. The room was such a nice size, as was the bathroom (huge compared to other places we stayed during our trip), which was across the hall but that was of no issue whatsoever. John was incredibly helpful in recommendations of what to do, and where to go for later in our travels. Also made a delicious breakfast. What a treat! Lovely B&B that is close to town, beautiful gardens. Would love to stay here again if and when we make it back to Ireland. Their pricing was incredibly reasonable as well. Excellent stay!

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrssmith5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2014

From the moment Helen opened the front door, she and John made us feel so welcome. Our room was lovely, and so comfortable we didn't leave it at all on our one night in Glencairn, although our hosts had lots of good ideas for places to eat or visit. We could have lingered much longer in the beautiful conservatory where an excellent breakfast was served next morning but unfortunately had to get on the road to catch our ferry. John and Helen kindly allowed us to store some refrigerated items in their own kitchen and replenish our freezer packs overnight, which we thought was really going the extra mile! If we stay in Cork again in future, we will look no further than Glencairn.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Trish D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2014

I had only one night stay in Glencairn, but it was such a nice place. Quiet, relaxing, especially the gardens. I just could not believe, how gorgious the conservatory is where the breakfast was served - plenty of flowers and lovely sunlight. It was the most atmospheric breakfast on my 2-week Ireland trip. I stayed in the little en-suite room upstairs, it is OK for a solo traveller.

Stayed: September 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank KisgyorgyEva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2014

John & Helen were two amazing hosts. They made our family feel welcomed into their home. John was very helpful with directions to places we wanted to see and also helped us make dinner reservations. We loved eating breakfast on the sun porch. Helen made special pancakes for our children. The beds were very comfortable and clean and rooms very quiet. Would highly recommend and will stay here again the next time we travel to Ireland.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mljoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The best thing here are the hosts, John and Helen, they are very friendly and willing to help with anything. The room we had was very clean and comfortable but the bathroom is tiny, so tiny I'd recommend it only to people shorter than 160 cm as otherwise you constantly hit your head into something. Breakfast was ok but probably the most basic during our 9 nights in Ireland. The property is also quite a distance from Cork which can be problem if it is Cork you want to see.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HMK2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Helen and John are the most welcoming people! My wife and I stayed for three nights. Their house is very relaxing with a beautiful garden. The recommended places for us to visit and overall a great experience! If you are in town and need a place to rest your head, do it here!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank imova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,562 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Douglas
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mardyke
Garnish House
Garnish House
#3 of 60 in Cork
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glencairn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glencairn Bed and Breakfast

Address: Underwood | Rochestown, Cork Ireland, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range: $37 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ours is an intimate family home. We pride ourselves on making our guests feel relaxed and strive to cater for every need and taste. There are beautiful gardens in a wooded setting overlooking Cork Harbor, activities such as; golfing, sailing, horse-riding within 5 miles, a bus into city, parking, a full Irish breakfast. We are ten minutes from City/Airport. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glencairn b&b
Glencairn Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing